We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IT IS A SHAME AND A DISGRACE”
Review of Westwood Winery

Westwood Winery
Ranked #55 of 106 things to do in Sonoma
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Westwood Estate is singularly focused on making world-class Burgundian & Rhone varietals from our Annadel Gap Vineyard. We incorporate precision winegrowing and biodynamic vineyard practices to craft the highest quality and authenticity of our estate grown wines. Our small production wines are truly handcrafted, with less than 3,500 cases produced. Many of our lots consist of only 3-4 barrels of a select clone or blend. The Westwood Estate Tasting Experience is an in-depth wine conversation encompassing who we are, a story of our past, and our vision for the future. During your visit, our dfocus on wine-growing, the nuances of terroir and a strong sense of place will shine through in the glass. A personal host will lead visitors through a diverse selection of our limited production Pinot Noir & Rhone wines. As space and wines are limited, reservations are encouraged.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Reviewed 11 July 2013

IT IS A SHAME AND A DISGRACE TO ALL THE WINERIES THAT HAVE EVER EXISTED !!

We were there on July 2013,and let me tell you this, we have been wine tasting in various areas around the world ..we went to this place in Sonoma after reading good reviews on it ..I will not go into further details but the Pinot Noir 2010 was half wine,half Vinegar!! the rest of the bottles were table wine that I would give 3 out of 10 tops

It is surprising they charge 50-60$ for this so called wine

I would never recommend this place to anyone

1  Thank Londoner E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Westwood Winery
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2012

It was well worth our time to find this winery tasting room based on the recommendation from Eddie Townsend at HDV wines in Napa (another worthwhile visit by appt only). John (owner and vintner) and Justen spent quality time with us and since we were visiting in November there was no need to for an appointment. As I told John.....there wasn't a bad wine in the batch and we had a hard time deciding which ones to take with us. Yes....you should stop here!!!

Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This is a very small tasting room so it's best to make a reservation if you can. We were visiting on Labor Day weekend and Justin had told us it was filling up fast when I called a couple of weeks ahead of time. There were maybe three small tables in a tiny outdoor courtyard, and perhaps four tables and/or seating areas inside.

Justin, who others have written so positively about, was off the day we visited. Founder John Kelly was there, however, and was happy to answer any questions that Jenny could not. He was a joy to speak with--about his wines, others' wines, the best places for cheese and chocolate tasting, how he came to start making Nocino, an Italian liquor made from walnuts in his vineyard, what a typical harvest season day is like for him, and more. John takes great pride in his wines and rightfully so. There was no rush to taste quickly and make room for others, making it all the more enjoyable--I suspect that is the advantage of the reservations system.

Though we didn't taste the Nocino (his wine license doesn't cover tasting liquor), my daughter and I each bought a bottle to try because it sounded so interesting (he adds around 30 different spices that he likes), and she also bought one of his Pinots after we tasted their very generous pours. John was happy to autograph all three bottles for us.

Thank castriker888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westwoodwine, Owner at Westwood Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you for the very kind words! Please come visit again soon - we have new releases in the works. Regards - John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

...otherwise the rest will just be a disappointment. This small winery is the kind of place that makes going wine tasting great. Small, intimate venue. Friendly, knowledgeable people. When we arrived one owner was sweeping out the front hall, while the other greeted us and started pouring the best wines we tasted all day. In fact, their wines are some of the best I've ever tasted at a winery, ever. (And the tasting pours were quite generous!) It doesn't get any better than this - can't wait to go back.

Thank Amadeus-SFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westwoodwine, Owner at Westwood Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Hey, thanks! I'm glad our wines hit your sweet spot. Swing by next time you are up this way. Cheers! - John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This small tasting room isn't into "belly up to the bar" routines. Owner John is friendly and approachable. Company spokesman Justin Moulton is laid back and very thorough, answering all of our questions. Money well spent! Looking forward to our next visit here. The wines (Oh the Pinot!) were fantastic!

Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Westwood Winery also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 
Sonoma, Sonoma County
Sonoma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Westwood Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing