We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired facility, apathetic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Don't stay here. Other than the concierge (Lily), there isn't a positive to write about. They're all nice enough - just don't actually need anything from anyone and you'll be fine.

Awkward walkways to rooms (you either drag your bags through the pool or you have to skirt the edges of the tables they have for corporate events and duck under the lime trees). Odd parking setup.

Asked for bell service for out 7 bags/wine boxes - didn't bother to send someone. Wife went up to the front to ask again, in person, and still never sent someone. Waited total of 40 minutes, mostly outside in the sun with my new wine purchases baking. I have a bad back, but ended up dragging them down the 20-step flight of stairs myself and through the hotel, one by one. Perfect ending to an adequate stay. The only reason for one star is that it's required and Lily gave us such great ideas and experiences outside the hotel that she gets her own star in the rating - hotel is zero stars. Tried to contact the manager and director of room operations and get some feedback or an explanation before writing this review - waited a full week, but both women ignored me.

Expensive rooms for what you get. Air vents right onto bed, so you freeze when the A/C kicks on. Also, there is zero storage in room. Literally one drawer for all of your stuff. Maybe drawers are a thing or no one folds their clothes anymore? There are no hooks, either, which is weird - none in the bathroom, closet, or hallway. Maybe their average stay is only a night or two and people don't usually bring anything with them or dry their towels? Who knows. Just strange design.

Lots of great places in and around Sonoma to spend your money. Don't do it here.

Room Tip: Stay at a boutique property closer to the town square - this is not near anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1375CMondragon, Guest Service Specialist at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review in regards to your recent stay at the Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa.

As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for all the inconveniences. I have shared your feedback with the hotel team to ensure that this was an isolated issue that is corrected moving forward.

Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Sonoma.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

The Lodge at Sonoma was not your typical Marriott property. Much more of a quant atmosphere almost bed and breakfast feel to it. The location was fabulous less then 30 minutes away from most wineries in Napa and Sonoma. It's proximity to downtown Sonoma is a must stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1375CMondragon, Guest Service Specialist at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear back from you, we really appreciate your great comments regarding our resort. I hope you get the time to come back again and stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Sonoma!

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here 5 nights. We used points and were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a cottage. The cottage was spacious with a fireplace, sitting area, large bathroom with a huge shower stall. There was also a patio with a table/chairs that we used several times to enjoy a glass of wine and snacks. We like to exercise while on vacation and were disappointed in the fitness center-it was extremely small with limited equipment: a few bikes,treadmills and only 1 elliptical. On the plus side, there are several good local running paths. The front desk gave us a small laminated card showing various routes. We exercised outside instead of using the exercise room and thoroughly enjoyed the scenery. We used the pool several afternoons and it was always easy to find a chair and there were plenty of towels. The 2 bars are nice. Courtney, the bartender, was extremely friendly. The location is ideal. It's walking distance to Sonoma Plaza (a little over a mile). If you prefer not to walk, the hotel offers a shuttle. We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this property and will do so again when we return to the area.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1375CMondragon, Guest Service Specialist at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

The Lodge is perfectly located within minutes drive or a short walk to all the wine shops & restaurants in Sonoma. We were able to enjoy the complimentary wine tasting which was generously poured. Staff were friendly upon entry. Driver who took us to Sonoma Plaza gave us great advice. Definitely recommend using their free shuttle service if planning on drinking or even a leisurely walk is nice in this beautiful community. The grounds were beautifully manicured.

The room was beautifully appointed. I personally like the newly renovated rooms design. Especially the barnyard door to bathroom and fireplace area. Our room had a workspace desk, large lounger chair, fireplace and flat screen tv. Bed was very comfortable. The bathtub was large. The shower was a bit smaller than I like but the bathtub more than made up for it. Provided high quality bath products.

My only complaint was we were provided a room which had an adjoining door to the next room. This allowed sound from the next room to travel under the door and feel like the nice lady next door was having a conversation with me. Otherwise I would have given 5 stars to this resort.

I will definitely stay again and just request a room without adjoining door.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank SouthBaySurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1375CMondragon, Guest Service Specialist at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, we really appreciate your comments regarding our resort. Staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously every day, to provide that quality our guests expect.
Our commitment to investing in our property will continue, therefore we can provide with a better stay.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Sonoma!

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We stayed for 3 nights in August at the Lodge at Sonoma and quite enjoyed our stay. The property is a low-rise complex with a main hotel building in the front, and a set of cottages set behind it. When you drive by on the road, it's quite easy to miss. The lobby is gorgeous and just off the lobby is a wine-tasting room, as well as their bar/coffee shop. During check-in, in our conversation, it came out that I was just travelling with my wife and that we were cerebrating our anniversary. While I had booked a room, I was presented options to upgrade for a small fee to a cottage which we did. The Hotel does have a resort fee (NOT a fan) but the resort fee includes 2 Sangrias per day from their bar, as well as nightly wine-tasting in their tasting room from 5PM-630PM. So we made sure we took advantage of these every day. The Sangrias were OK but we did get tired of them on the 3rd day. Parking is easy and plentiful and from there it's a short walk to the cottage. Most of the cottages have 4 units - 2 are ground-level, The other 2 are upstairs. There are no elevators so you need to be able to manage the stairs yourself. Our cottage was beautiful with a king sized bed, a desk, a chair, a love-seat and a fireplace. The bathroom was big and modern with a walk-in, glass shower. Note, no tub. It was a short walk to the main lodge and the pool, as well as the gym which we both used. The bed was super comfortable and the seating area was nice to spread out. Each unit also has their own patio with patio furniture (table and chairs) so we had our breakfast outside in the morning, and our wine and cheese at night. After check-in, we enjoyed the wine-tasting and then headed into town (via their courtesy shuttle service) for dinner. Upon return, we found a bottle of champagne and a lovely note from the hotel in our room. That was wonderful. The pool area is lovely - the pool is not huge but it's perfect for lounging around and provides relief when you want to cool off. There's also a hot-tub to relax any aching feet from hiking/biking/winery tours as well. In fact there's an on-site bicycle rental place that is managed through the Front Desk and Concierge. My wife and I did rent 2 bikes and explored Sonoma on them, making our way over the Fairmont, downtown Sonoma as well as Ravenswood winery. Would highly recommend it as it's all very bike friendly. Overall - a great stay with friendly staff. Not a fan of the resort fee, hence the 4 and not the 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria_BCTall_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1375CMondragon, Guest Service Specialist at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. I hope you get the time to come back again and stay with us to enjoy more of our resort.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Sonoma!

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.8 km away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
2.2 km away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
668 reviews
1.4 km away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
1.7 km away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#6 of 11 in Sonoma
211 reviews
14 km away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa

Address: 1325 Broadway at Leveroni & Napa Roads, Sonoma, CA 95476-7505
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#3 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range: $307 - $717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy vibrant charm in a tranquil setting at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa. Nestled in gorgeous Sonoma Valley, our impeccable Wine Country resort in Sonoma, California sits less than an hour north of San Francisco and is centrally located among the country's finest wineries in Sonoma and Napa. Showcasing the incredible beauty of the valley, our accommodations combine authentically artisan surroundings with contemporary facilities to create a haven of casual sophistication. The award-winning Raindance Spa in our Sonoma Valley resort offers the ultimate in reflection, revitalization and romance. Carneros Bistro at our resort features local wines and innovative cuisine with Mediterranean influences. In a hurry? Try Bean & Bottle, our wine & coffee bar with locally inspired items to-go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Resort And Spa
The Lodge At Sonoma Renaissance Hotel Sonoma
Hotel Sonoma Renaissance
Lodge Sonoma
Renaissance Sonoma
Sonoma Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing