We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,384)
Filter reviews
1,384 results
Traveller rating
637
460
176
68
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
637
460
176
68
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cottage room the cottages carneros bistro free shuttle the bean marriott points wine tasting wine country shuttle service pool area main building soaking tub separate shower on site restaurant gas fireplace nice property concierge desk
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 1,384 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

The Lodge at Sonoma was not your typical Marriott property. Much more of a quant atmosphere almost bed and breakfast feel to it. The location was fabulous less then 30 minutes away from most wineries in Napa and Sonoma. It's proximity to downtown Sonoma is a must stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1375CMondragon, Guest Service Specialist at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear back from you, we really appreciate your great comments regarding our resort. I hope you get the time to come back again and stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Sonoma!

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here 5 nights. We used points and were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a cottage. The cottage was spacious with a fireplace, sitting area, large bathroom with a huge shower stall. There was also a patio with a table/chairs that we used several times to enjoy a glass of wine and snacks. We like to exercise while on vacation and were disappointed in the fitness center-it was extremely small with limited equipment: a few bikes,treadmills and only 1 elliptical. On the plus side, there are several good local running paths. The front desk gave us a small laminated card showing various routes. We exercised outside instead of using the exercise room and thoroughly enjoyed the scenery. We used the pool several afternoons and it was always easy to find a chair and there were plenty of towels. The 2 bars are nice. Courtney, the bartender, was extremely friendly. The location is ideal. It's walking distance to Sonoma Plaza (a little over a mile). If you prefer not to walk, the hotel offers a shuttle. We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this property and will do so again when we return to the area.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1375CMondragon, Guest Service Specialist at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

The Lodge is perfectly located within minutes drive or a short walk to all the wine shops & restaurants in Sonoma. We were able to enjoy the complimentary wine tasting which was generously poured. Staff were friendly upon entry. Driver who took us to Sonoma Plaza gave us great advice. Definitely recommend using their free shuttle service if planning on drinking or even a leisurely walk is nice in this beautiful community. The grounds were beautifully manicured.

The room was beautifully appointed. I personally like the newly renovated rooms design. Especially the barnyard door to bathroom and fireplace area. Our room had a workspace desk, large lounger chair, fireplace and flat screen tv. Bed was very comfortable. The bathtub was large. The shower was a bit smaller than I like but the bathtub more than made up for it. Provided high quality bath products.

My only complaint was we were provided a room which had an adjoining door to the next room. This allowed sound from the next room to travel under the door and feel like the nice lady next door was having a conversation with me. Otherwise I would have given 5 stars to this resort.

I will definitely stay again and just request a room without adjoining door.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank SouthBaySurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1375CMondragon, Guest Service Specialist at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, we really appreciate your comments regarding our resort. Staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously every day, to provide that quality our guests expect.
Our commitment to investing in our property will continue, therefore we can provide with a better stay.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Sonoma!

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We stayed for 3 nights in August at the Lodge at Sonoma and quite enjoyed our stay. The property is a low-rise complex with a main hotel building in the front, and a set of cottages set behind it. When you drive by on the road, it's quite easy to miss. The lobby is gorgeous and just off the lobby is a wine-tasting room, as well as their bar/coffee shop. During check-in, in our conversation, it came out that I was just travelling with my wife and that we were cerebrating our anniversary. While I had booked a room, I was presented options to upgrade for a small fee to a cottage which we did. The Hotel does have a resort fee (NOT a fan) but the resort fee includes 2 Sangrias per day from their bar, as well as nightly wine-tasting in their tasting room from 5PM-630PM. So we made sure we took advantage of these every day. The Sangrias were OK but we did get tired of them on the 3rd day. Parking is easy and plentiful and from there it's a short walk to the cottage. Most of the cottages have 4 units - 2 are ground-level, The other 2 are upstairs. There are no elevators so you need to be able to manage the stairs yourself. Our cottage was beautiful with a king sized bed, a desk, a chair, a love-seat and a fireplace. The bathroom was big and modern with a walk-in, glass shower. Note, no tub. It was a short walk to the main lodge and the pool, as well as the gym which we both used. The bed was super comfortable and the seating area was nice to spread out. Each unit also has their own patio with patio furniture (table and chairs) so we had our breakfast outside in the morning, and our wine and cheese at night. After check-in, we enjoyed the wine-tasting and then headed into town (via their courtesy shuttle service) for dinner. Upon return, we found a bottle of champagne and a lovely note from the hotel in our room. That was wonderful. The pool area is lovely - the pool is not huge but it's perfect for lounging around and provides relief when you want to cool off. There's also a hot-tub to relax any aching feet from hiking/biking/winery tours as well. In fact there's an on-site bicycle rental place that is managed through the Front Desk and Concierge. My wife and I did rent 2 bikes and explored Sonoma on them, making our way over the Fairmont, downtown Sonoma as well as Ravenswood winery. Would highly recommend it as it's all very bike friendly. Overall - a great stay with friendly staff. Not a fan of the resort fee, hence the 4 and not the 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria_BCTall_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1375CMondragon, Guest Service Specialist at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. I hope you get the time to come back again and stay with us to enjoy more of our resort.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Sonoma!

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Lovely spot. Really liked the area around the pool. Nice chairs and sofas to lounge on and not just loungers and nice towels. Room was large as was the bathroom and had separate shower. Staff were lovely. Enjoyed chatting to the young lady behind the bar. The plate of $1 chips was amazing and almost unbelievable. Appreciated the free ride to and from town as well. Would have appreciated a kettle as don't like coffee and the water was tainted from the coffee machine.

Room Tip: Had a front room overlooking the entrance which I wouldn't recommend as was noisy when sitting out on the balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TaupoSheryll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1375CMondragon, Guest Service Specialist at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear back from you, we really appreciate your great comments regarding our resort. I hope you get the time to come back again and stay with us to enjoy more of our resort.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Sonoma!

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews