We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay at MacArthur Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay at MacArthur Place”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

From check in to check out we had a wonderful experience! We arrived several hours ahead of check in and were needing to change clothes and freshen up to get to a rescheduled wine/meal dinner. Fortunately our room was ready and we checked in early. Our check in person was able to help with directions to the winery we were visiting and offered to print the directions for us.

We had Room 23 and it was a lovely room, spacious and equipped with all the things we needed.

We dashed off to our reservation and were back to the Inn in time for the wine and cheese hour held in the Library. The wine and cheese reception was fine, nothing special but a nice a gesture nonetheless.

In the late afternoon we walked around the grounds to check everything out. There were nice trails and the landscaping was nicely done. There were sweet little sitting areas, a large chess garden and a swing for two. Upon returning to our room the turndown service had been done. Waiting for us were chocolates and samples from the Spa. Both were nice touches. Our room was on the ground floor so that evening we did hear footsteps from the guests occupying the room above us. But really this was no big deal.

The next morning we went to the Fitness Room before breakfast. Wow, it was really nice! The Precor equipment was seemingly brand new and in great condition. There was a treadmill, a bike and an elliptical machine. There were also free weights and another set of weight machines. There was a cold water tank and chilled towels that were mint or eucalyptus scented, these felt fabulous after the workout!

The included continental breakfast was very good. It consisted of juice, coffee, plenty of fresh fruit, muffins, croissants, yogurt, cereal, bagels. The service each morning during breakfast was very good.

We had rain on the last day of our stay so it was very nice to have an umbrella in our closet as well as additional umbrellas offered in the reception room. That afternoon we had an early dinner so we decided to check out a DVD from the Library and just relax in our suite. It was nice to have that option on a rainy night.

The staff was extremely helpful with all of our needs and inquiries. They were also friendly and welcoming. I would definitely stay there again and recommend this for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariettaAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    160
    47
    17
    2
See reviews for
96
549
16
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in March and were so pleasantly surprised with the accommodations that we're considering a return trip in the next 6 months.

Location: Perfect for exploring wineries in both Sonoma & Napa, as well as within walking distance to Sonoma Plaza which has some great restaurants & shops.

Room: Large & bright (3 windows) with king sized bed, seating area with 2 chairs, mini-fridge & bar area. Bathroom is also large (1 window). Room had bathrobe, safe, hair-dryer, mini-fridge, flat screen TV, excellent water pressure in shower, & shampoo/conditioner/bath gel/body lotion provided.

Grounds: The grounds at Macarthur are beautiful, a garden filled with many plants including lots of rosemary & lavender bushes providing a wonderful scent as you walk to/from your room. The gardens make the property quiet & serene. There's a nice heated pool, small hot-tub, and spa on site.

Staff: Our experience from booking the reservation to check-out was pleasant and easy. Bunky & Kevin at reception were very welcoming & helpful in providing information on where to go in Napa & Sonoma.

Special touches: Free continental breakfast, wi-fi in room, parking, DVD movies that can be checked-out from library to watch in your room on the flat screen TV, CDs, turn-down service with chocolates & their spa body lotions. They also have a nightly complimentary wine/cheese hour.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Each room has different character and design. Big beds, fireplace and very clean. Close to town square. Staff very friendly

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellasacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We had a great time at MacArthur Place this past weekend. The staff was amazing, our room was great and we enjoyed all the extra special touches (i.e, Duraflame already in the fireplace, CD's provided for our enjoyment and, there weren't just mints on the pillow but, also some yummy-smelling body balms from the on-site spa.) The only issue we had was that our trip wasn't longer! :o)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACLSf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed there on a work outing and it was so amazing. Perfect place to go on a romantic getaway. Very small and personalized service. I would recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
0.6 km away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
1.9 km away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.9 km away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
11.1 km away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
15.1 km away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa

Property: MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
Address: 29 E. MacArthur St., Sonoma, CA 95476-7615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Family Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Spa Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Green Hotel in Sonoma
#1 Business Hotel in Sonoma
Price range (per night): $582 - $906
Hotel Class:4 star — MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 64 room Sonoma inn and spa set on a historic 7-acre garden estate walking distance to Sonoma Plaza. Heated pool and whirlpool. Full service Spa. Saddles Steakhouse and Martini Bar. Continental breakfast buffet, evening wine and cheese reception, DVD movies, parking, and wireless internet. Bicycle Rentals. Close to more than 30 wineries. 15 Minutes to Napa. AAA 4-Diamond Award. Top 10 San Francisco and Northern CA Hotels - Conde Nast Annual "World's Best" Readers Poll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Hotel Sonoma
Macarthur Place - Sonoma`s Historic Inn And Spa
Macarthur Place Sonomas Historic Hotel
Macarthur Place Inn & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing