We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy but nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The Hotel itself is lovely. Room was very nice. Front Desk staff was wonderful. However, our room was over the terrace cafe and we had to call 3 times during the night (til past midnight) to ask to please keep the noise down. Staff was most understanding. Would stay here again, but not in the same room!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cari0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 192 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2011

Perfect location and great value. The staff gave us great "wine country" tips. Enjoyable stay all around.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

This is a great hotel with a fab location right in the heart of Sonoma. We booked a room overlooking the square and were not disappointed. Unlike other reviewers we did not have a problem with noise (we stayed just one night, Thursday). Standard of cleanliness is high and although basic the room was very attractive and comfortable - excellent shower.

We eat in El Dorado Kitchen and the food was lovely but not exceptional. There is a very comprehensive wine list and our only mistake was not choosing the wine ourselves - worst bottle of wine on our trip chosen by the Sommelier.

All the staff were very friendly and professional. We would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Sonoma.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view of the square and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avatarsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The El Dorado is a great find. In the heart of Sonoma, close to everything. The restaurant is fabulous, rooms are charming and very clean. And the young man at the front desk for the hotel, Kenny, is all the advertisement this place needs. So helpful, so knowledgeable, and so willing to go above and beyond. We had an excellent stay!

Room Tip: Rooms with terrace facing inward to courtyard are a little noisy until around 10:00, then things cal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llanza33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The ED Kitchen is fabulous (great food, wonderful service) and it was such a pleasure to walk upstairs to our room afterward and not have to deal with driving, parking, etc. Our room was spacious but the bath was tiny (two people could not be in it at the same time). Worse, it was on the street side and the traffic noise was brutal starting about 5:00 a.m. Worse yet there was a street lamp directly in front of the window and the light came through the shutters all night long. Between the light and the noise, we had a terrible night's sleep. We would consider staying here again, because of the restaurant and location on the square, but certainly not on the street side.

Room Tip: Rooms off the street side are an absolute must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
0.3 km away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
1.1 km away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
1.4 km away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
0.3 km away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#5 of 11 in Sonoma
207 reviews
0.0 km away
Sonoma Hotel
Sonoma Hotel
#10 of 11 in Sonoma
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Sonoma

Been to El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen

Address: 405 1st St W, Sonoma, CA 95476
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range: $279 - $579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the historic downtown Sonoma Plaza, 45 minutes north of San Francisco, our boutique hotel reflects the simple charm of the wine country as well as the urban sophistication of our guests.From world class dining at our El Dorado Kitchen, to relaxing poolside, to enjoying the area’s many local activities the El Dorado Hotel is a one of a kind destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Hotel And Kitchen
El Dorado Hotel Kitchen
El Dorado Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing