We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
41
54
22
21
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
54
22
21
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgirl and the figthird floorno elevatorpastriesclaw foot tubfree street parkingdouble panedred and white winemodern amenitiesyour luggagestreet noisequaint hotelwonderful bedcan't beat the locationwalls are thinwithin walking distancemorning coffee
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Perfect location in the very center of Sonoma. Built in 1880 and there is still a lot of the old style left in the building and the rooms although they are comfortable and have modern bathrooms. The "breakfast" served 8-9:30 AM is more like morning coffee with pastry. In the afternoon between 5 and 6 PM complimentary good quality red and white wine is served in the lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stellan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

The Sonoma Hotel is on the corner of the historic plaza. The hotel has a great bar downstairs and is across from the best restaurants in Sonoma. I recommend for a couple or a single person looking for a vibrant hot spot in town.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Sonoma Hotel served as our home base when we had to work for a few days in the area. While we didn't spend a whole lot of time in our rooms, we certain appreciated and loved the experience there and we can't wait til we go back.

Some folks here complained about the age of the rooms. It was my first time in Sonoma and found that the rooms brought me back to the days when I would stay at those old bed and breakfast inns peppered around the big ski resorts in the Northeast. The floors creak, the walls are thin, old mirrors in the hallways where you'd half expect your reflection to talk back to you, and old hardware on doors that you have to close shut yourself and needs finessing with keys that for some reason require big brass keychains. I love it all. You'd be hard pressed to find another hotel in the area with such historic character and charm. It's an experience. If you are looking for an upscale hotel with spa services and purple mood lighting in the lobby with dozens of attendants yearning to make a buck opening doors and ferrying your luggage... look elsewhere.

That's not to say there aren't modern amenities. There are flat screen cable tvs in each room. Windows have been updated with additional glass for insulation during cold nights.

The folks who work at the hotel are Sonoma locals some of whom have been Sonoma for life. They were incredible, hospitable, and a real resource for what's good in town.

While the two establishments are not related, the amazing Girl and the Fig restaurant shares a space with the hotel in the first floor. Be sure to stop in when you first check into the hotel to make a reservation as it can get busy during peak hours. The hotel is also right around the corner from some other amazing restaurants and tasting rooms so you'll never want for more. In the morning you'll often find pastries and coffee downstairs... in the afternoon, perhaps a little wine.

Free street parking is plentiful around the neighborhood although be sure to read the signs before you leave your car overnight. Some spaces only permit you to park there for two-three hours at most during business hours.

Room Tip: As far as I know, all rooms require you to walk up stairs to access.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Went in may.Great location right on squarezSuper cute inside. Has a family feel not a huge chain restaurant. Noise never a problem. Right next to girl and the fig. Check that out for dinner or lunch!!!

Stayed: May 2017
Thank TayArnold479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Hotel offers a wonderful bed and pastries from breakfast. The soaps and towels were fresh and bathroom clean everyday. Please note that there is no elevator in this hotel. Our room was at the top of the stairs all 35 of them which made walking up and down quite interesting daily with a bad knee. Very quiet, very nice with things from the past.

Room Tip: there is only one room on the bottom floor call early for this room.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Memrnc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonomaHotel, Owner at Sonoma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, minus the stairs. We are a historic building without an elevator. We try to accommodate guests on a lower floor upon arrival if a room is available ans they have issues walking stairs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews