We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We recommend- will be staying here again!”
Review of Hadsten House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hadsten House
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We visited in April 2011 for the Vitner's Festival and the Hadsten House did not disappoint. We thought we got a great value in terms of the tripadvisor deal for the weekday nights. We also did the wine tour combo, which was great. This is certainly not cheap, but you get a lot for your money- the rooms are nice, the service was friendly, there was a wine happy hour each day, the free breakfast was pretty decent (my husband still raves about the bacon), and the restaurant is good. Within walking distance of everything in town. We will be visiting again in 2012 and no need to look anywhere else- we don't think anything in Solvang can beat this place!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank socaldreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 469 of 921 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

Stayed here between Xmas and New Years for rate of $109/night. Very nice place for that rate.
Rooms were nicely decorated and bed was big and comfortable. WiFi in room worked well. There was a small refrigerator although I hadn't seen it listed as an amenity. My only slight problem was that the lampshades were black, and the dim light made reading difficult. The indoor pool was well heated and a nice large jacuzzi was outside just a few steps away. There was never towels supplied at the pool for some reason.
The breakfast was routine but the oatmeal with a little brown sugar and pecans sprinkled on it tasted pretty good. The staff was always very nice but a little overburdened during the breakfast rush around 9:30.
The local winery coupon sheet came in handy. You get free tastings at a number of places mainly in Los Olivos and Lompoc. They are mainly at tasting rooms and not at the wineries themselves, but it saves you $10 or so at each place.
We were about 1/2 back from the road, and didn't notice road noise particularly. The only noise problem was when others were rolling their luggage past your door especially on the upstairs walkway.
Overall we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purduedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This hotel was within walking distance to quite a few wine tasting rooms as well as a variety of restaurants. The room was cute and nicely decorated. We had an in room jacuzzi which was very romantic and large enough to fit us both. It was our honeymoon, so they gave us champagne which was lovely. However, we had an ant problem. We woke up the next morning with ants covering the table and the champagne flutes that we drank out of. We told the front desk and someone appeared to have sprayed or wiped down while we were gone but the ants still showed up. Of course it was our honeymoon and we weren't going to let some ants bother us.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank islandawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Room was really clean. Very accommodating staff. Ended up eating at the restaurant and it was one of the best meals both me and my fiancé have ever eaten. I would recommend to anyone. Only complaint would be all the kids in the pool and jacuzzi.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuckdjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Really, a little better than a 3-star, but not a 4-star. We have stayed at the Hadsten House three times now. The rooms are very nice, large and comfortable, with one exception - the horrible pillows! The beds are a 3 star (should be a higher quality pillowtop), but the pillows are horrendous - not even a 1-star. They are very heavy and hard as a rock - so hard they almost hurt to sleep with. They made for a bad sleeping experience. I generally bring my own, but assumed the pillows would be better at a hotel of this price. The pillows should be softer and better quality. Bring your own if you want to sleep.
The restaurant is dark, dismall and a rather depressing room. And at this time of year, the way the tables are set up, the room gets very cold with the doors being open and shut. We went in for breakfast and walked out because it was cold, dark, and filled with children not behaving and parents not parenting.
The front desk young lady, Carly, was kind, helpful and accomodating.
We love the area, but will bypass Solvang in the future due to the masses of people. We enjoy the Los Olivos, Santa Inez, Ballard and Los Alamos areas for shopping and sightseeing, and will in the future stay at either the Ballard Inn or the Fess Parker Inn in Los Olivos.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Love-Wyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.7 km away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
818 reviews
0.3 km away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.3 km away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#3 of 11 in Solvang
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
266 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
6.4 km away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadsten House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadsten House

Address: 1450 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2916 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Solvang)
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#3 Business Hotel in Solvang
#4 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range: $151 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hadsten House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pool and Spa closed 3/13/17 to 3/27/13 for resurfacing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hadsten House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadsten House Hotel Solvang
Hadsten Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing