We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room is nice but....we definitely will not recommend this hotel to our friends.”
Review of Kronborg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kronborg Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
California, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The room is nice but....we definitely will not recommend this hotel to our friends.”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We booked into this hotel because number 1 to 3 are all full. The room is nice but we are not so sure about housekeeping. After checked in and unpacked we discovered the bathroom sink was not drained properly. The front desk told us someone would be up to check on the problem. After an hour we called back to the front desk and was told the maintenance person has gone for today. The clerk offered to move us but we had already unpacked and sanitized the room, this is our normal practices. The clark told us he would reduce our rate. When we checked out the morning clerk claimed she has never been told of the
promise. She would talk to the manager when he came to work at 3 PM. I gave her my home and cell phone number. It now has been 2 days no one has called. In addition we wonder how come the cleaning person did not know of the problem if she has used normal cleaning method. The continental breakfast is terrible. The grease aroma from the waffle makers was awful and the taste.. yuk.. We took one bite and had enough. I definitely will not recommend this hotel to my friends. It does not deserve to be listed as number 4 on the best hotel listing.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank d2s1c2j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    180
    84
    27
    23
See reviews for
103
214
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NATALBRAZIL
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed there just one night, while we were goning down to Los Angeles, this hotel has a confortable and well sized room with a king size bed, there are a little terrace facing to the heated pool and whirlpool, the bathroom is also well sized and everything is new.The breakfast is continental and simple with bread, juice, coffee and milk, yogurt, butter, jelly, and you can do yourself waffle. I do recomend this hotel if you're in Solvang, a charming little city.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WORLDSCITIZEN68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The Hotel was newly remodeled. Rooms were spacious, new and clean. Coffee maker, refirg and large flat screen TV made the room extra comfortable. Jaccuzi tab was small but very nice. Breakfast was OK but the room was a bit too small.

Room Tip: Rooms NOT facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toolmanchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The hotel staff was absolutely NO SMILES upon our arrival..As a matter of fact, I just got asked"name?" upon entering..wow. The room itself was pretty nice.We had a cart full of dirty laundry sitting in our room ..weird, but they moved it out.The bed had yellow stain on comforter,as did the hand towel which was a litte yucky, but not that huge of deal.The bed was super comfy.The hot tub was great.Big ol jacuzzi tub/shower combo.HAs refrigorater, microwave, and dvd player.Breakfast was decent..waffles,hard boiled eggs, scones, toast, cereal, etc.Overall pretty good..it is the farthest hotel from downtown..not super far, but man was it cold this weekend and I felt every inch of the walk!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chacy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Stayed here on a weekend trip to the wine county. Hotel is located one block from the center of Solvang, you can easily walk anywhere. Rooms were lovely, very clean with stylish furniture. Very dark though, you had to turn on the lights during the day. Slightly noisy too, you can hear people next door. Room has a fridge and microwave, great if you are traveling with kids. Rate includes continental breakfast, you can make your own waffles. We paid $140 per night, not sure it's worth it but seems like that's the prevailing rates in the area on the weekend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank canyonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.1 km away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
906 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
795 reviews
0.4 km away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
256 reviews
0.5 km away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#7 of 11 in Solvang
253 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kronborg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronborg Inn

Property: Kronborg Inn
Address: 1440 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2916
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Price range (per night): $179 - $353
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kronborg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is situated in Santa Ynez Valley in Solvang and is a 10-minute walk to Old Mission Santa Ines. This European-style hotel offers an outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. A microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker are standard in each stylishly decorated room at Kronborg Inn. A 42-inch flat-screen cable TV, DVD player, Ipod Alarm Clock/Radio and work desk are all included. All bathrooms have a jetted bathtub. Kronborg features Danish architecture and a working windmill. Guests are served a continental breakfast every morning. Business services and laundry facilities are available on site. The Danish town of Solvang is only a short walk away and features traditional bakeries, European-style shops and restaurants. The PCPA open air amphitheater is also a short walk away and numerous wineries are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kronborg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronborg Hotel Solvang
Kronborg Motel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing