We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Chalet View Lodge(Graeagle)(Great Value!)
USD 193
USD 158
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donner Lake Village(Truckee)(Great Value!)
USD 220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Truckee Donner Lodge(Truckee)(Great Value!)
USD 188
USD 178
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel(Truckee)(Great Value!)
USD 212
USD 200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 229
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 146
USD 112
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
8
4
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
4
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We stayed in a very basic log cabin. It is quaint and old-timey. It is not particularly charming but the property is lovely. Think of a cabin you would stay in at a campsite except that the cabin has a nice front and back deck. The mattresses are decent, the wood floors are nice, but it is fairly basic without a lot of cute touches. There is a very nice creek outside and many birds come around.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015

My partner and I stayed in a cabin for two night during the winter time. The price was very affordable and we had everything we needed. This awesome rustic get away was perfect for the two of us and we were a perfect drive away from Sierraville Hot Springs Resort. I love the woodsy feel of this location, that it is away from the city and large amount of tourists, and that we had a truly peaceful time.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Nakisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2015

If you like rustic log cabins in a beautiful setting, then this is the place. There are cabins to fit most families.

Even though "Resort" appears in their name, don't expect a lot of luxury and definitely no golf course or swimming pool or room service . We have stayed here twice in the Fall and the weather was chilly at night, but the gas heater and optional wood stove kept the cabin nice and warm. A great place set up home base while exploring the area.


I agree with others regarding not trusting their GPS to find this place. It will prompt you to take an old logging road...or similar. Just stay on the main road...Hwy 89 or S Lincoln....and turn left on Old Truckee Road if heading north. Keep on that road until you see the Canyon Ranch Resort sign.

Room Tip: The cabins are not spacious and generally one room with a kitchen and bathroom. If booking with a group and you want more privacy, then better to book a separate cabin.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is a rustic inn with several small cabins. We stayed in what appeared to be one of the older cabins with vertical logs and a creek side deck. The cabin was comfortable and clean. The manager was very nice and accommodating. The atmosphere is "laid back" with NO cell service (AT&T), no TV, no WIFI... Lots of great books to read and borrow along with a cold running stream outside your back door.

Warm during the day, 85 degrees and down into the mid to upper 40s at night. A fan is provided as well as a heater. We used both! We had two beds and both were comfortable. I am a big guy, 6'5" 310lbs and the accommodations were comfortable for me. It's quiet, off the highway and there is only one overhead light for the entire complex. Cabins are spread out so not too close to one another. Cookware is provided, silverware, a refrigerator in our room. Micro wave, toaster and drip coffee maker. A perfect fisherman's cabin with a kitchen.

There is a bed under the single bed so I guess there are actually 3 beds in Cold Stream Perch Cabin. I would be comfortable staying a week there and exploring the area. Kids would have fun too. The town of Sierraville is only 3 miles down the road (still no cell service), Truckee is 25 minutes to the south west on Highway 89. "The Kitchen" restaurant has good food for a reasonable price in Sierraville. Nothing fancy just down home people and hot cooked meals! (If you don't feel like BBQing at the the cabin or your tired of eating trout!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Canyon Ranch is an intrigue to me! The location and setting is quiet, peaceful, and nearly everything one would envision in a rustic mountain cabin experience. And I put an emphasis on the word "nearly".
Having owned a rustic mountain vacation property in Colorado, I have a bit of experience in hosting vacationers looking for that woodsy, natural, earthy experience. If I could help run Canyon Ranch for one season (which I would love to do), I would make some significant fix-it and spiff-it changes, that would cost very little money, and yet would make a lot of difference in how Canyon Ranch is perceived and experienced. First impressions are really important in the hosting business. And unfortunately the owners of Canyon Ranch have not placed much priority on this. The "warm welcoming" factor is comprised by all the messy clutter on the front porch entrance to the office. There is quite an array of miscellaneous stuff piled on two tables and stashed around. That large porch has such great possibilities for guests...... if only it was cleared and cleaned. Then there is the small office. YIKES. Currently quite cluttered with quite an array off stuff. It appears that most of this clutter has a level of organization, and most of it is part of a variety of items available to the guests-------everything from shampoo and hot chocolate to matches and maps. Very nice that these items are available to the guests. But all this stuff could be arranged differently and not presented in such an almost overwhelming sense of clutter. With just a little time and effort, that office could be such a pleasant and cozy space.
Okay, moving on to the cabins. The cabins are very old and authentic log buildings-. The current owner has put a lot of time, effort, and money into their restoration and improvement during the past 15 years. And has done a great job! However, the keeping up with small maintenance issues seems to be a bit of an challenge. The gas fireplaces seem to be non-functional at this time, and apparently have been for quite awhile. They have been replaced with electric heaters which seem to be fairly effective in keeping the cabins warm. However, leaving the gas fireplaces sitting in the cabins without any purpose gives an impression of uncaring maintenance. That combined with many other un-fixed and un-replaced worn out situations gives a general impression of a generally run down place. If something is broken-----such as a paper towel holder, a curtain rod bracket, or a lamp shade (or lack there of) then fix it, replace it, or totally get rid of it. And let's be frank......the cabins are decently clean but could use a good scrub down from top to bottom. It makes a huge difference in the quality of a guest's impression of their accommodations.

I could continue to go on at length about what I would do if I had an opportunity to run (or even help out) Canyon Ranch just for one season. I have a long list of suggestions, recommendations, and ideas for improvements. The place is near and dear to me because of its location in the Sierras and its potential for awesome greatness.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lifedancer1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews