We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great 3 days”
Review of Shell Beach Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shell Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shell Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shell Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
visalia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“great 3 days”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

this was a wonderful experience staying here . i took my elderly parents and i was on a business trip . so the owners placed us in a room next to the office . he even helped my mother get into the car . they told us about great places to eat that were close by . . they went above and beyond any other hotel i have ever stayed at there . its a cottage feeling , charming and relaxing . a BIG THANK YOU

for a great place to stay and at a wonderful price . you have to try this place .its walking distance to the beach and ed will tell you all the great places to go and see.ITS A MUST TRY!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbarafayterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    19
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
47
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dorset
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Stumbled across shell beach inn what a great little motel
Ed & Jannie are so helpful read all good reports whilst in room yes it's that good
Thank you very much

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetBeefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2011

There is a lot of accomodation in the Pismo Beach area, but it is hard to find one with such a personal touch as the Shell Beach Inn. Ed & Janine, the owners, are very welcoming and gave us usefull information about activities and sights. We really loved our room (room number 9!), nicely decorated, the kingsize bed was very comfortable, there was a fridge, television, microwave. We stayed in many hotels these last months on our world trip, but this place really felt like home. After our little stay at the Shell Beach Inn, we continued our planned journey, but after visiting San Fransisco, we decided to go back to the Shell Beach Inn for a few more days of real relaxation. This is a hidden gem and if you are tired of staying in the hotel chains, we definitely recommend the Shell Beach Inn with its beautiful neon sign.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank An_Gert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beltsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This is an old motel with humble furnishings. However, it is comfortable, clean, recently painted and included everything we needed. The owner was extremely nice and very helpful in informing us about what to do in the surrounding area. If we're ever in the area again, we'd stay there again.

Be sure to walk down the street to the bluff overlooking the ocean. It's breathtakingly beautiful, especially at sunset!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

My husband, daughter and I stayed 3 nights at the Shell Beach Inn in September. The exterior of the motel is very cute and seems to have been updated recently. The rooms were a little bit dated, with the brown shag carpeting... which seemed to be clean, but probably should be replaced soon. The bathrooms seemed to have been updated in the past 5 - 8 years or so and were clean. The owner (I think his name was Ed?) was so nice and very helpful! We were delayed in LA and arrived at about 10:00pm. He waited up for us and gave us a list of several things to do and places to eat... all of which were great recommendations! The rooms have a little fridge and a microwave. I personally would have not had the microwave, whereas we didn't use it and it got in the way of using the vanity.

Shell Beach Inn is located about 2 blocks from the cliffs of Shell Beach. We walked down there several times - there are stairs to the little beach, which at low tide included tide pools. My daughter and I love to beach comb and found tons of tiny bits of sea glass, shells and pretty rocks. The little neighborhood that you walk through is very safe feeling and clean.

Over all it is a great motel at a great price!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shell Beach
0.8 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,353 reviews
2.0 km away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
807 reviews
1.9 km away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,184 reviews
1.6 km away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,894 reviews
1.7 km away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Beach Inn

Property: Shell Beach Inn
Address: 653 Shell Beach Rd, Shell Beach, CA 93449-2050
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Shell Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shell Beach
Hotel Class:2 star — Shell Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All ten guest rooms at the Shell Beach Inn are individually decorated with touches from the California coast and make this quaint little getaway a cozy stopover for the weary traveler or a comfortable home base for sightseeing vacationers. The Shell Beach Inn features an outdoor seasonally heated swimming pool and free parking. And...yes we are pet friendly! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shell Beach Hotel Shell Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing