We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beaitiful place to spend family time.”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful year round, in the high Sierras
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful year round, in the high Sierras
Beautiful in winter Nestled in the woods on 3/4 acre, the deck overlooks the forest for BBQs, relaxing, winter sledding
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Beautiful year round, in the high Sierras
Beautiful in winter
Nestled in the woods on 3/4 acre, the deck overlooks the forest for BBQs, relaxing, winter sledding
Huge fully equiped kitchen and a dining room seating 15.
Master bedroom 1: California King bed
Master bath 1
Another view of master bath 1
Jacuzzi tub
Handicap wheel chair accessible shower
Man cave: pool table, surround sound and large screen TV--the party room, you can't be heard
Master bedroom 1 (another view)
Master bedroom 2--handicap accessible lower bed, hardwood floors.
Master bedroom 2--another view. California King bed.
Master bedroom 2--another angle. Baby strollers, high chairs, stair gates, pack-n-plays in closet.
Master bath 2--notice the handicap accessible shower and the Jacuzzi bath.
Another view of master bath 2.
Granny quarters--a queen bed and full futon.
Another view of the granny quarters. Notice the kitchenette and door to the back deck.
Granny bathroom.
Bunk room. Four full beds on the bottom bunks. Top bunks are twin, for children under 150 pounds.
Queen's bedroom has two queen beds and two queen futons. Lots of room!
Another view of the Queen's room.
Queen's reconfigured for workshops, the room has ample lighting, a sink, tables and chairs for 20+
Den with TV and seating for 7.
Living room, den, looking in from front door.
Kitchen and Dining room. Table seats 12 and there is room for a folding table for larger groups.
Man Cave with pool table, large screen TV.
Man cave.
Laundry room. Half bath attached.
Back deck, view from bedroom 1.
Dine or relax on the huge back deck (added in 2013)
Back yard views.
Dinkey Creek pools, a short hike away
Dinkey Creek--local hiking and fishing spot
Beautiful Shaver Lake, enjoyable year round
Huntington Lake, a short drive, offers the China Peak Ski Resort for winter fun, summer boating
Easy access to the Pacific Crest Trail in the high Sierras
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Shaver Lake, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BigTimeHu...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beaitiful place to spend family time.”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A fantastic place to stay. Plenty of room at a beautiful location. Close to town in case of any needs. Very comfortable.

My only complaints: check out time should be later to give more clean up time yet enjoy your last day there. The remotes need to all have working batteries; we had to keep switching batteries from remote to remote. Several large spiders which wasn't fun with our little kids. My 2 year old was bitten by something on her face while sleeping in one of the downstairs beds. Her cheek was sore and swollen for two days.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2015
Thank you for your stay! I'm so very sorry about the spiders--we know there are spiders here in Shaver Lake and do everything we can to reduce the number that get into the house. We keep the house very clean so there is nothing inside for spiders to feed on, and we keep the exterior sealed and free of debris. We don't use poisons around the house as too many people are sensitive to chemicals, and we try to keep to organic/natural remedies. We have used diatomaceous earth around the house, but spiders are everywhere in the mountains, and guests leave windows and doors open, so they do get inside. I'm afraid spiders are part of the mountain experience. On a positive note, though, spider bites are actually extremely rare. According to researchers, less then 4% of what people think are spider bites are in fact spider bites.

Regarding check out time--as long as no one is checking in the same day a guest leaves, and as long as a cleaning crew can be scheduled before the next guests arrive, we are very lenient about check out times. This particular website doesn't allow us to put a lot of details, but we do have post information in the cabin about who to call if you have any questions, issues or problems. It takes a crew about 5 hours to clean and if you had called management, they could have let you stay as long as it didn't interfere with cleaning.

Same with remote batteries--we keep a supply in a drawer in the kitchen and a large box of batteries in the storeroom, and management would have come and put batteries in, if you had called. Believe me, we've tried everything to keep guests from "borrowing" batteries from remotes, including duct taping all remote backs, attaching remotes to boards to make it difficult or inconvenient to get to the back of them, putting notices on remotes asking guests to not take out batteries, but I suppose that either adult guests find it easier to take than go to the store, or kids just take them? In any case, a call to management would have solved the problem, and the cleaning crew can't check all the remotes after every guest stay.

I'm glad your stay was mostly good, and really sorry about your issues with your stay and encourage you to come back again some time, understanding that you can just call if you run into any problem at all, as we make every attempt to do whatever it takes please our guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen fully equipped
Liked least: outdoor space
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
calgalfox
Vandenberg
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“SO GREAT!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this cabin with a group of friends and it was AWESOME! The house is beautiful and spacious with original, hand made tiling - wow! The upstairs is handicap accessible which it is difficult to find places where my friend in a wheel chair can go.

There are three master style bedrooms with their own bathrooms. One upstairs has a giant Jacuzzi tub. There's a dorm room that would be perfect if you had a bunch of kids and there's a room with a pool table and giant TV.

There's also a room that has two queen beds that can be taken out so that you could hold a workshop in that room. The owners are clearly computer nerds because the whole house is intelligently wired for computer/Internet. I want to come back and do a workshop with a group up there.

The kitchen is everything you'd expect and the kitchen table holds the whole group. Everything is kept up and clean.

I like that it's up in the pines and so quiet. There are hiking trails all over and of course the lake and town nearby. The granite rocks around the house are amazing!

I think you could easily bring 4 whole families with all the kids and be perfectly comfortable. If you have a big group, this is such a good deal! We had 8 people and it was great!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and layout of the house
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Reviewed 8 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing