We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious and charming country sanctuary.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Sebastopol, Sonoma County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kepc
Santa Rosa CA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spacious and charming country sanctuary.”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I spent a week in Sebastopol mid September. My daughter lives a scant quarter mile from this Cumbria Guest House. I had noticed the sign for the guest house during a previous Sebastopol visit and thought a stay there would be very nice--and it was. The hosts, who live nearby on the farm property, were very welcoming, and helpful yet not intrusive, which I appreciated. The guest house is quite spacious, with three bedrooms, a comfortably furnished living room, large kitchen and dining area, two bathrooms, wrap around deck and a hot tub. Everything I could want for fix-it-myself breakfasts was provided. The house is very quiet. I did not hear any local creatures at the door in the AM, as reported by another guest in a previous review. I did hear, in the daytime, distant, pleasant country sounds like roosters crowing and horses neighing. The appliances are top notch, including the laundry equipment. The guest house has a small front yard surrounded by butterfly-friendly flowers. From the guest house, I could drive to downtown Sebastopol in less than ten minutes, where grocery stores, restaurants, and coffee shops are available. Things to note: a few items, like TP, bar soap, and paper towels are supplied only in small starter amounts, so expect to visit a grocery store early during your stay. The owners request that guests provide their own laundry detergent. There are jars of various spices in the cabinet, and condiments in the fridge to use in meal preparation. Overall, the Cumbria Guest House is a wonderful temporary home during a stay in Sebastopol, and I look forward to returning for another stay in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, peace, quiet and privacy.
Liked least: Needing to shop for TP shortly after arrival.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethsadve...
Santa Clara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay in this guest house. John and Norma were very friendly and welcoming. Their farm is fantastic and it was so wonderful to sample some of the fruits and vegetables. The area around the home is beautiful and quiet. The home had everything we could need and more. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything - I can't decide
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swalcrown
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't pass this one by!”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

There are not enough words to express how impressed I was with the Cumbria Guest House. My family and I arrived later than anticipated but were still graciously greeted by the owners. We even got fresh zucchini bread and strawberries from the local garden! The house is spacious, clean, and well-appointed with almost everything guests could need. All else can be obtained with a short 10-15 minute drive into town. The wrap-around porch is the perfect place to enjoy breakfast while taking in the fantastic views or a BBQ while spending time with family/friends. The beds were comfortable. The showers/bathtubs were wonderful. Even though secure wi-fi is available, the semi-seclusion of the property invites one to slow down, enjoy the quiet, the fresh air, and starry skies at night. If you like to sleep in, though, take some earplugs. There's a feathered friend that will come knocking if she sees that the dining room curtains aren't open by 8 a.m.! Just open the curtains, and she'll go away.
The Cumbria Guest House is at the top of my list of recommended places to stay in the U.S. -- especially if you need time away from "it" all.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An exceptional California countryside home away from home.”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The house is bright, spacious and accommodating. The views are breathtaking. you are surrounded by natural beauty, the horse farm next door, the deer and turkey in the creek below, the multiple bird houses on the property all bring relaxation that brought you to this area in the first place. Our hosts provided us with fresh bread and vegetables from the garden as well as great conversation on the area and gardening.The house is close to all area attractions yet far enough away that you felt like a local and not stuck in some tourist trap.We will return to see what we haven't and I already know where we are staying when we do,The Cumbria guest house.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and the views
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing