We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still offers very good value and good food”

Mei-Don Chinese Cuisine
Ranked #112 of 599 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 January 2017

have been here many times before. the owner is a VERY nice woman and gives excellent service. the menu is very american-favorites Chinese, not what you get in china. they have all the american favorites such as kung pao chicken, beef with broccoli, sweet & sour pork, stir-fried shrimp etc. portions are large, prices are low, value is sky-high. it is always perfectly clean, quiet, well-lit, safe, comfortable.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank The_Hobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Twelve of us went to dinner here last night. We called in a reservation and they put us in their separate party room. Perfect! We had a great space and did not have to worry about the children being too loud. The decor is very pleasing and the fabric drapes on the ceiling add a nice touch to the lighting, I also think it helps with noise absorption. The food was fresh and tasted great. We ate everything. The kids were as happy as the adults with the selections. The wine and beer selection is large and offers an excellent variety to choose from. The desserts were a nice surprise. We don't often order dessert at a Chinese restaurant because of the fortune cookies, but the kids were excited to have ice cream. The waitress returned with Sundae style cups filled with ice cream and a bottle of chocolate sauce that the children could squirt on themselves. They were stoked! The adults had a coconut custard that was delicious, light, and refreshing. The staff was friendly and attentive and the prices reasonable. Overall a fun and enjoyable night out.

Date of visit: October 2016
1  Thank Jhex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

This quiet oasis away from the city and in the winery area is just off Highway 12 near the St Francis Winery. Two very bold calligraphic scrolls greeted us at the door, when we visited on Oct 6 for dinner, and we were seated immediately. A large metal teapot with fresh Grand Tea accompanied our crunchy Spring Rolls w/Peanut Sauce, well-cooked (not over done) Eggplant w/Beef in Spicy House Garlic Sauce (a thick flavorful gravy, but not too spicy hot,) Stir-fried Chicken w/Vegetables, a small Wor Wonton Soup with plenty of meats in a light broth and a bowl of rice. Perhaps it's my preference for lighter Cantonese style cooking, but I felt healthier after finishing my chicken w/fresh bright-green vegetables to see very little oil left on the plate. The classical music in the background of such a large space with few customers was conducive to intimate conversation. Price was mid-thirties--reasonable. They'll see me again!

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Friendly, courteous staff serve excellent Chinese food in a lovely setting. Large portions, reasonable prices. Always a pleasure to go there and be greeted warmly.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoAnn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Good Food and reasonably priced. Food is prepared by chefs who are from China. They will make it as hot as you like it. Beer on tap and local wines

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Claudine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mei-Don Chinese Cuisine also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Mei-Don Chinese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing