We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandman
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Sandman August 4 and 5th. We took a shot in the dark and made reservations on-line - site unseen. We stayed in San Francisco, also on a blind shot and got burnt, so we were apprehensive about our fate in Santa Rosa. We were more than pleasantly surprised when we drove up to a well manicured entry way and over-all landscape was well done. The buildings were maintained well, kind of homey. The Front Desk person was very friendly and check-in was a breeze. I was pleased to see a restaurant for breakfast was located right in front of the hotel. But more surprised that a free continental breakfast was available each morning. The location is in a strip mall area, but only three minutes from a major mall complex. More importantly the hotel is located at and intersection that leads directly to Northbound or Southbound CA Highway 101. Our stay was quiet, the rooms were larger than average and well maintained. It was a joy to stay there and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hiken62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    192
    58
    23
    12
See reviews for
108
133
39
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

The motel was just what I expected. It's large with lots of units off a busy highway. I thought for the price it was just fine. It was clean and quiet at night and I used the workout room in the morning and had a continental breakfast alongside the pool. Not bad for under $100 a night on a weekend in this area. We stayed for 2 nights and found nice places to eat in Santa Rosa and used it as our base for a Napa trip. Can't beat it for the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James32903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

The Sandman is wonderful! My husband had to be in Santa Rosa for work. Due to the timing, a lot of the hotels were over $200 a night! We didn't want to pay that much and ended up finding the Sandman. By the time we booked, all they had left were two queen beds. It worked great. I am always a little nervous when it comes to motels (had a really bad experience once...), but the first night at the Sandman put all those nerves to rest! The room was very cute and clean. We had friends in other rooms at the Sandman and theirs were just like ours. Very cute and clean! We hardly heard any traffic noise at the motel and didn't hear any from our room. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was a typical continental breakfast...perfect for my husband and I who don't eat much. The pool was the biggest surprise...literally! It was huge for a motel! It was also very well maintained. When we have business again in Santa Rosa, I won't think twice about staying at the Sandman again! Wonderful experience!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollymhoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. arge room, very clean and comfortable. TV even has HBO. Great location for traveling around the wine country. You can't beat the price and breakfast is included.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beautiful Northern California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Room looked great- smelled clean, looked clean, BUT there were bugs! Spied 2 and thought it was maybe a random bug and his/her buddy nevertheless I was up all night freaked about the possibility of more so I kept checking, in the morning saw a few more crawling up the wall and also on the bedskirt. I told the front desk and she just said "sorry". Other than the bugs the motel is great, but I had to give just the 1 star cuz bugs are sooooooo gross!!! Won't ever go back.

Room Tip: don't go unless you have bugspray...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaliforniaBeachhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.4 km away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
6.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
#8 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
4.6 km away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.5 km away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman

Property: Sandman
Address: 3421 Cleveland Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-2146
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Rosa
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price range (per night): $133 - $380
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman is a mythical creature who brings good dreams by sprinkling magical sand on the weary eyes of those sleeping. In the city of Santa Rosa, the Sandman is a new incarnation of a roadside inn that brings a warm and offbeat experience to weary travelers. Situated at the northernmost edge (nearly within shouting distance of Sonoma's wineries) the Sandman's muted colors, warm woods, and relaxed design will welcome you in. Sink into the casual comfort of the lobby, lounge by the pool, or enjoy a local brew at Sandman's new poolside bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Sandman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Santa Rosa
Sandman Motel Santa Rosa
Sandman Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing