We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than I was expecting for a motel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandman
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“More than I was expecting for a motel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

The Sandman is wonderful! My husband had to be in Santa Rosa for work. Due to the timing, a lot of the hotels were over $200 a night! We didn't want to pay that much and ended up finding the Sandman. By the time we booked, all they had left were two queen beds. It worked great. I am always a little nervous when it comes to motels (had a really bad experience once...), but the first night at the Sandman put all those nerves to rest! The room was very cute and clean. We had friends in other rooms at the Sandman and theirs were just like ours. Very cute and clean! We hardly heard any traffic noise at the motel and didn't hear any from our room. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was a typical continental breakfast...perfect for my husband and I who don't eat much. The pool was the biggest surprise...literally! It was huge for a motel! It was also very well maintained. When we have business again in Santa Rosa, I won't think twice about staying at the Sandman again! Wonderful experience!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollymhoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    194
    60
    26
    13
See reviews for
110
137
41
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. arge room, very clean and comfortable. TV even has HBO. Great location for traveling around the wine country. You can't beat the price and breakfast is included.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beautiful Northern California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Room looked great- smelled clean, looked clean, BUT there were bugs! Spied 2 and thought it was maybe a random bug and his/her buddy nevertheless I was up all night freaked about the possibility of more so I kept checking, in the morning saw a few more crawling up the wall and also on the bedskirt. I told the front desk and she just said "sorry". Other than the bugs the motel is great, but I had to give just the 1 star cuz bugs are sooooooo gross!!! Won't ever go back.

Room Tip: don't go unless you have bugspray...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaliforniaBeachhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

I reserved a room through one of the online websites that does a price match. Needless to say, they screwed up and when I showed up at the hotel they did not have my confirmation booked. The lady at the front desk booked me in at a price even lower than what was quoted online (by $3) as she could see the frustration I was dealing with when trying to call the websites help line. The room was nice and I was close to the pool which looked really clean (I did not use it but I would have if I was staying longer). The Hotel actually surrounds a local eatery and is also close to several other food/gas and other amenities you could ask for. Overall, I was very pleased with the room and would definitely stay the next time I go back to Santa Rosa.

Room Tip: Show up and ask for a there special price, it is a little more expensive if reserved on phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbsvaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed at the Sandman two seperate occasions while house searching in the area. Only about $80 a night with a nice breakfast in the morning, but get there early! I have been to 5 star hotels and had issues so I was pleasantly surprised by this quick and last minute inexpensive stay with very clean beds.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TLCsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.5 km away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
6.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
4.3 km away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
0.4 km away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
2.3 km away
North Bay Inn
North Bay Inn
#12 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman

Property: Sandman
Address: 3421 Cleveland Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-2146
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price range (per night): $151 - $418
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman is a mythical creature who brings good dreams by sprinkling magical sand on the weary eyes of those sleeping. In the city of Santa Rosa, the Sandman is a new incarnation of a roadside inn that brings a warm and offbeat experience to weary travelers. Situated at the northernmost edge (nearly within shouting distance of Sonoma's wineries) the Sandman's muted colors, warm woods, and relaxed design will welcome you in. Sink into the casual comfort of the lobby, lounge by the pool, or enjoy a local brew at Sandman's new poolside bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Santa Rosa
Sandman Motel Santa Rosa
Sandman Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing