We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 381
USD 370
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 386
USD 311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
Free cancellation until 27/07
USD 428
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Georgian Hotel(Santa Monica)
USD 547
USD 482
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 554
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 595
USD 475
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 532/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 524
USD 508
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
USD 519
USD 485
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Viceroy Santa Monica(Santa Monica)
USD 739
USD 554
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,836)
Filter reviews
2,836 results
Traveller rating
1,043
1,216
372
136
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,043
1,216
372
136
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treewarm cookieshigh schoolstreet promenadevalet parkingsofa bedseparate bedroomwithin walking distanceshort walkliving areaper dayking suitethird floorshopping areafew blocksvalet servicevenice beach
Filter
Updating list...
1,040 - 1,045 of 2,836 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2015

A Pleasant stay with friendly staff, excellent location with everything within walking distance, Beach and Restaurants and shops and pubs. Clean room. Better to pay for the in room Internet. The spa water was to hot to use, but the pool was beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Colin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015

So... The positives are that this is clean hotel, well located, with a great pool. Good gym, nice staff and reasonably priced restaurant.

They charge a crazy 32 bucks for parking. BUT, across the road is a public parking place that charges 5 bucks a day. Park there. Screw them and their idiotic valet parking prices.

They don't promise free wifi, in this day and age, it they gave it to us, so just kick up a fuss until they give it you.

We enjoyed staying here but it's not cheap and they could make it all a bit better by just offering a few more things for free rather than endlessly trying to get more money off their customers.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wigman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015

we enjoyed our short 2 day stay in santa monica but will stay elsewhere next visit... this is due to cost. 450$ a night is just way too much for the room we got
positives--
-arrived very early due to flight and staff went out of way to get us a room (it did still take 4 hrs of waiting still but that was reasonable as our flight landed from hawaii in early morning)
-all staff friendly...even saw staff giving ice pops out to guests at small outdoor pool
-fruit ice water quite refreshing in lobby
--10-15min walk to pier , beaches. 25-30 min walk or so to venice beach (can rent bikes at 8/hr from santa monica beach as most were doing) but very pleasant walk
-cookies good
--be aware location is fine but not optimal. we like walking so it was no issue.
-pleasant lobby when no convention present
-didnt use but had paid laundry on 3rd floor
-gym small but looked fine

negatives--
-room was fine if the cost was 250 0r even 300$ but it is an old dated room and while nice to have a small separate area it was an uncomfortable fold out sofa and awkward space in general. cost way out of proportion to value..not enough outlets, dated furniture etc..
-car 32$ to park car is insane. I asked if there was self parking when i arrived and was told no. There is a lot literally across the street for a max of 5$/day. To their credit when i moved the car to the 5$ lot that same night they only charged me 16$ but management response to this in previous posts is off. There are many lots that don't charge anything like 32$ that are much closer to the action of Santa Monica as well. In any case, please drop off your luggage only and park across the street immediately..it is a quick way to save bucks
-wifi extra also is ridiculous. we are hilton honors so was included...not great coverage however
---coffee in shop at lobby was terrible as well(also with conventions in lobby had to wait 15minutes!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DREMGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2015

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. With our incredible location, two room suites and friendly and helpful staff we help make family vacations both restful and relaxing. Great idea on the parking for those that don’t want the safety and convenience of valet with it’s in and out privileges located right at our doorstep. I have shared your coffee experience with my team and all have taking this to heart.
Thank you for sharing this with us and we hope to see you back again soon.
Brian Murphy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

Our flight was delayed from NYC meaning we arrived at 2:30am, and unfortunately our prepaid room had been given away. Doubletree was able to find us a hotel nearby, and in the morning the manager arranged for us to be picked up and brought back to the Santa Monica hotel. Once we were back they were so lovely, especially Jenny! We received a fruit platter to apologise and an additional night's stay. The hotel was clean and the suites were really big. I would definitely stay here again! I could not praise the staff more, they were all so warm and welcoming!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Nat_Hitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

We booked a suite for a couple of nights based on location and price. First impressions were ok, but during the stay we became less happy with the choice.

It's a big old hotel in need of some serious TLC. The room itself is fairly well-appointed with a good-sized bedroom and living area. However, the fold-out couch we had made up as a bed was completely unusable. There were cobwebs in most corners around the curtains. The team at the front desk were friendly but seemed to be unclear about standard procedures between the front desk and support team.

Wouldn't return, but it's not unbearable, just very tired.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank thepolarbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews