We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (769)
Filter reviews
769 results
Traveller rating
351
290
79
28
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
290
79
28
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location front desk the santa monica pier private balcony valet parking restaurants and bars awesome hotel street promenade few minutes walk boutique hotel room was clean and comfortable early check cleaning staff great shopping would definitely stay here again mini bar per night
Filter
Updating list...
413 - 418 of 769 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2015

Clean, awesome location. Modern. Quiet.
There is no pool. But there is the ocean!!! Walking distance from the hotel. The hotel provides towels to take to the ocean which is helpful, providing you return them
Restaurants are next door with many, many choices. Shopping is around the corner. Bloomingdales and Ocean front! What more does one need!!!!

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth N, Front Office Supervisor at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2015

Dear Kelly H,

Sounds like you had an amazing time at our hotel! So happy to hear you were able to enjoy some of our Ocean View Hotel beach towels while you were staying with us. As you mentioned there is so many great restaurants in the area and shopping is just around the corner. I will share your lovely review with our staff. We all look forward to hosting you once again in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Navarro
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Ocean View Hotel was a very convenient location. It was located close to the locations where I was visiting for business, as well as a short walk to the promenade for restaurants. Similarly, you can easily walk to the Santa Monica Pier, the beach, and more. And maybe that's why the price is as high as it is. The room was very clean and comfortable but also very small. Some noise comes through from other rooms and the exterior. And for the price, you're given slow internet with the option to pay more for faster internet. Really? At this price, high speed internet should be standard and free. The signal drops now and then, too. Another pain. Parking is another $33 per day for valet service. But there's a sign for $10 parking to the public, self park style. Staff is friendly. Again, at this price point, there needs to be more amenities, parking included, and high speed wifi.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SanNic44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth N, Front Office Supervisor at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2015

Dear SanNic44,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. As we are open year round our prices fluctuate depending on the season. If you would like to take advantage of our best rates in the upcoming few months, please feel free to visit us online for all price listings or call the hotel directly. Basic internet access comes complimentary will all our rooms, but upgrades are available as an option for faster speed. If your future travels ever bring you back to Santa Monica please feel free to contact me directly as I would love to assist with making your next reservation.

Best Wishes,

Elizabeth Navarro
Front Office Supervisor
elizabethnavarro@oceanviewsantamonica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015

The hotel is right at the ocean, just cross the road and you are at the famous Santa Monica peer (Run, Forest, Run!).
Room was quite big, bed was comfortable, bathroom was huge and new.
The only thing we didn't like was the aircon which was located right in front of the bed and was quite noisy. So if hot and you turn it on, cold air blows right into your face. We tried to open windows to get fresh night air in but in vain.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth N, Front Office Supervisor at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2015

Dear Elena_Jeffries,

It's so great to hear you enjoyed your visit to the historic Santa Monica Pier! It sounds like you had a lovely time at our hotel. Thank you for commenting on our comfortable and spacious rooms. I do apologize if you had any issues with the air conditioning unit in your room. I have passed down your feedback for our maintenance team to review. We hope to be your hotel of choice when visiting Southern California as we would love to welcome your return!

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Navarro
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015 via mobile

We have just returned to Australia after spending 3 and a half weeks in the US, our last night we spent at the Ocean View Hotel, when we arrived around 3pm, after we had travelled across from Miami, we found that there was no hot water in the shower, we were informed that this would fixed within half an hour, the problem was due to high winds that day.
The next day we then found there was still no hot water. We had a lovely front room overlooking the pier and the beach, which we had paid a bit extra for. After complaining about the fact that we had no hot water, the staff and management were very apologetic and went out of there way to help us with this issue.
Our flight back to Australia was not leaving until late that night and we were originally going to leave our luggage at the hotel for the day as we were spending the day at Universal Studios, they then helped us out by allowing us to come back later in the day and gave us a room for a couple of hours, so we could have a lovely hot shower( the hot water was fixed by then).
We were impressed by the way that the hotel dealt with this issue, we were happy with everything else with our room, the bed was comfortable and there was no noise from the traffic outside.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth N, Front Office Supervisor at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2015

Dear Jeanette M,

Thank you kindly for considering our facility to be "very welcoming." Unfortunately the day of your arrival there were extremely high winds in the night time causing one of our boilers to blow off. I'd like to thank you for your patience and for allowing us to makeup for the delay with getting this resolved with a late checkout! I've showed your review to the front desk staff to know how well they did in handling this event. We all look forward to welcoming your return in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Navarro
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2015

We spent 4 nights at this hotel in August 2015 and it was not worth it. We asked for a room of 3 people and unfortunately it was so small that we and our luggage could barely fit in. In addition, the room was located at the back of the hotel near the noisy air conditioner machinery so even when the door was locked, we could hear it. Although location is very good just in front of Santa Monica Pier and next to all good restaurants, price is not according to quality offered.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enmdjdj g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth N, Front Office Supervisor at Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2015

Dear Enmdjdj g,

On behalf of the entire staff I would like to apologize for the experience you had at our hotel. August was our peak season due to the summer heat a lot of the air conditioning units in the hotel were frequently being used. If your future travels ever bring you back to the area please let me know so I can ensure our reservations team acknowledges you as a return guest!

Kind Regards,

Elizabeth Navarro
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews