We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
39
65
46
21
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
65
46
21
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews santa monica pier walking distance great location stay there again clean rooms goliath mold retro ocean california
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Just what I imagined for a small beachy hotel, great access to the pier, beach and wonderful restaurants. The parking is not the best, room was comfortable and just enough since we only planned on sleeping there.
It's a small, cheaper hotel surrounded by more expensive ones and we were able to snag the last room available at the last minute.
The only negative was there wasn't an iron in the room and the number to reach someone after hours didn't work.
Other than that we enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MistiW2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Booked two rooms for two nights each, received the confirmation email and receipt. Two days later, our plans changed, so I called to cancel. Mind you, we were still three weeks out from our stay. The person who claimed to be the manager claimed it was a non-refundable room, and that we would be charged $250 per room. NO WHERE on the receipt or confirmation stated that this was a non-refundable reservation! In fact, other home webpage, it clearly states "free cancellation." I would understand a charge in cases of less than 24-48 hours; but this was three weeks out! Filed a dispute with our credit card company. Appears that this is not the first time this hotel has shady business practices.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Timothy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanLodgeSM, Director of Sales at Ocean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Guest, We object to your characterization of our business practices and principles nevertheless hope everything worked out and that ultimately you had a great vacation.
To clarify : Ocean Lodge Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a unique California retro boutique hotel in high demand in the most desirable area on the Ocean Avenue strip. We offer both a standard fully refundable Free Cancellation Room Rate as well as a non-refundable Room rate (Clearly Identified globally on the Internet & our Web Site ) with Savings of up to 10% and more. This has become a very popular with guests who have committed reservation plans and create a win-win for everybody, "we know you're committed and Guest's receive quality lodging with savings of up to 50% off comparable local pricing which ever pricing plans they choose. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, with very tight and limited parking. The staff was nice and offered us coffee/tea at checkin, but that and a small water cooler was the only amenities at the hotel.
Our room was clean and nicely decorated, but was a typical hotel room for an expensive price. You are definitely paying for the location which is close to the Santa Monica Pier, park, and downtown.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

This is you classic beach hotel. Vintage rooms, a bit on the pricy side, but with a prime location for all the activities in and around Santa Monica. Old doesn't mean that it isn't clean; The owners have done a good job keeping the place tidy. Expensive, yes. But I guess average pricing when it comes to the location. We were satisfied with our stay. Parking can be an issue, especially if you are driving an SUV. We had very limited parking space with a Nissan Rogue.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCDC666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanLodgeSM, Owner at Ocean Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2018

Thank you for authentic review of Oceab Lodge Santa Monica Beach Hotel, we appreciate your business and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

We had 2 nights here, comfy, close to everything. Short walk down the road and you're on the beach and the pier. Limited parking and rooms could really do with an update, but the location makes up for all that.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules141110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews