We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb bistro”
Review of La Vecchia Cucina

La Vecchia Cucina
Reserve with OpenTable
La Vecchia Cucina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 681 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 31 - USD 40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: Ocean Park
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Superb bistro”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We were taken to lunch there by organisers of a FM radio station to listen to a group. The place "rocks". The food was an all-you-can-eat buffet. Everything was delicious, and the band made us feel very 'at home'. (Our friends hired them for a gig at the Cal Yacht Club). The Italian food was as I expect real Italian food to be. It is on the beach road, has valet parking, and we'll be back.

I can't tick the "$" box because our hosts covered the bill/tab/invoice.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank velkytatry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    120
    15
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A place I can always count on for a great experience”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Do not allow that bread on your table! I can never stop eatiing it...it is made fresh and served with olive oil and a LOT of garlic. I love the beef carpaccio, soups and the lasagna della nonna

Another thing I love about this neighborhood place is the staff. They are all so fun to talk to. They really try to make sure that everyone has a positive experience when they come in. I always wonder how one restaurant can get so many quality people in one place and other restaurants have so few. If you plan to visit Main St while in Santa Monica this place is good one to check out for lunch or dinner. Dinner can get pretty crowded! Parking on Main Street or behind the restaurant in the parking lot off Hill.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NLM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa monica, ca
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Great Italian Food- excellent service. I love the pizzas. Great happy hour menu. A real gem.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank totallytodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich
Level Contributor
117 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best food on our coast-to-coast road trip”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We started our trip in LA and went to La Vecchia one of the night's we stayed here before driving to Key West. This was the best restaurant we came across during our 3,000 mile trip. Excellent food. Will visit again next time in LA.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roadtripper64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Service was excellent! The staff was very attentive (but not overly), they made a 50th b-day special! The bar service was a little slow - but they were busy! Revervation recommended! Food was excellent!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MootTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Vecchia Cucina also viewed

 

Been to La Vecchia Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing