We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,928)
Filter reviews
2,928 results
Traveller rating
1,310
850
413
201
154
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,310
850
413
201
154
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit pool deck muscle beach ocean view santa monica beach ferris wheel beautiful hotel great pool valet parking amazing location street promenade los angeles few blocks vine concierge california poolside
Filter
Updating list...
1,232 - 1,237 of 2,928 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2015

Location can't be beat, super spot for our teenagers and it is safe with lots to do. Service staff was excellent and attentive, really happy with it. Corner room was large, great home base for a trip to southern Cal.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Loews Hotels and Resorts
Thank ronanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2015

Dear ShaunW1968,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our hotel and staff. We very much appreciate your patience and understanding during our improvements and hope to welcome you back when these are complete.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2015

A glorified Marriott at the very best. We stayed here many times but hadn't been in several years. It was incredibly dated, and Shutters and/or Casa del Mar next door were better options. After hearing about Lowes "renovation" we decided to give it another shot. First of all, while we were promised the renovations were finished, we were bombarded with jackhammer noises the entire day and/or loud music at the pool to try to mask it ALL DAY LONG. That may be over by the time you book your room, but it won't be worth the wait. The regular rooms have not been renovated - you'll still get the same crappy tub showers with shower curtains, awful bedding and some of the worst pillows you'll ever try to sleep on. Finally, the manager is rude. Such a disappointment. Will never stay here again.

Room Tip: I wish I had stayed in one. A good room would be at another hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Claudia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2015

Dear Claudia E,

Thank you for your comments, and please accept our apologies as we work to improve the look and feel of our hotel.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2015

Loews has been getting harshly criticized recently for all the construction, but it's a double edged sword in that if they do not do any maintenance or improvements they get criticized for looking old and worn out.

Anyway, yes, the construction was annoying, but the room was great, location ideal and the staff very helpful.

If you're considering a stay in the next few weeks, call and ask if they have finished the construction yet.

I definitely still recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maprow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2015

Dear maprow,

We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and your compliments about facilities and staff. We also appreciate your patience and understanding in regards to our efforts to improve the hotel and most definitely look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy these improvements soon.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2015

We always choose the Loews at stay at while viisting Santa Monica... I booked through Expedia for one night (Sat) in Jan... we arrived to be told the pool area was closed and the outside patio area where we normal sit for drinks and fire pits... all the otehr seating area was taken.. the room we were given was in an read that was being renovated so had to use a tradesmen lift which was dreadful and not the type of reception we have used to from the Loews. There was no apology apart from an empty gesture of well experis should have told you! I do think while hotels do work or renovations they should close off that part of the hotel completly and make sure every guest is aware of works that will be carried out during their stay. the cost wasnt discounted. I think we are now done with the Loews and might try the Shore Hotel acorss the road or Casa Del mar next time.. shame as this was atop spot.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chucky36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2015

Dear chucky36,

Thank you for your comments. We sincerely apologize that your impression was not a better reflection of our commitment to excellence. We thank you for your patience while we work to improve our hotel and do hope that you will come back to experience our improvements.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2015

We reserved our room through Loews.com. The option given to us was bed and breakfast package. Meaning if we didn't want to throw 50/day out the window, we had to eat at their restaurant. The service was poor and they were understaffed. Also, what we were NOT told was that the pool was under construction. Watch out for barking dogs in the middle of the night. Be prepared to wait a while when using Valet parking

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Loews Hotels and Resorts
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2015

Dear Lisa M,

Thank you for your comments. We are disappointed to hear of your experience and we are sorry that your impression was not a better reflection of our commitment to excellence. Please accept our apology as we work to improve our hotel, as we do hope to welcome you back to experience the improvements.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews