We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 7:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Easy Location, Easy Renting

There are a lot of options to rent bikes in Santa Monica. This place is right under the pier, off... read more

Reviewed 28 July 2018
Stacy C
,
Chicago, Illinois
Best rental in SM

We wanted to hire bikes for a few hours and cycle down the beach. Sea Mist were the cheapest we... read more

Reviewed 17 July 2018
Aidan G
via mobile
Read all 108 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Santa Monica
from USD 79.00
More Info
from USD 99.00
More Info
from USD 69.00
More Info
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
69
13
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
13
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rent bikes refundable deposit rental place bike path venice beach rodgers beach miles round trip marina del rey few hours lock strand pier coast beaches traffic
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2018

There are a lot of options to rent bikes in Santa Monica. This place is right under the pier, off the bike path and easy to get to. They're cheap - just $20 for the day and you can get a basket and a lock with that. The bikes aren't the best quality, but you're not racing here. You're riding really slow on a crowded bike path. You don't need a top quality bike.

I rode down to Marina del Rey and would have went farther down, but there was construction and it just became annoying to try to get around the traffic (this is where I wanted my road bike from home). So then I went all the way back up the path to Will Rodgers Beach.

Thank Stacy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

We wanted to hire bikes for a few hours and cycle down the beach. Sea Mist were the cheapest we found and the most relaxed. Good selection of bikes and free extras like a basket and a lock (refundable $20 deposit) made it all the better. Some places on the beach will charge extra for both of those. Friendly staff and an all round good experience.

Thank Aidan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

We road on a beautiful bike path along the coast with beautiful water seashore views from Santa Monica 7 miles round trip to mount Rodgers beach and then 5 miles the other way from Santa Monica to Venus boardwalk and back. Venus boardwalk had beautiful views, we went back there later for the sunset.
Sea mist bike rentals was excellent, their bikes were very good at a very reasonable rate of $20/day. Excellent location right on the boardwalk. Excellent customer service, gave us free maps, helmets, bike baskets and locks. Open till 7 was a plus. Highly recommend sea mist rentals.

1  Thank HannatheHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Rented bikes here..twice! Small place but staff was friendly and kind. So many bikes to chose from. Right on the beach at end of pier so easy to access bike trail. Had a great time.

1  Thank 3peepsocon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

The lady at the counter was friendly, the guys getting our bikes were friendly, no paperwork, $7/hr. It was easy, it was quick, it was priced great. What else can I say?

The place on the pier was a mess and more than twice as much. I waited in line longer at the rental on the pier than the time it took to walk to this one and rent the bikes altogether.

2  Thank gsgman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

So glad we went to Seamist bike hire.
Friendly staff, easy to hire our well maintained bikes, helmet provided for our younger teenage daughter. Also picked up a lock ($20 refundable deposit) to stop when we got to Venice Beach and get a drink. Really great activity to do as a family. Arrived back before 2 hours and was pleasantly surprised to only be charged $11 each, especially as other hire companies up nearer the shopping area charge a minimum $20 each.

1  Thank GayleJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed hiring 4 bikes from here due to good service and friendly staff. It was very cheap for such great bikes.

Thank Vivien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

I turned up last Sunday morning at 9.05am to hire some bikes with my wife and 4 young children. There was a very rude feral looking guy bringing the bikes out who gave us a filthy look (not a hi guys I will be with you in a minute or good morning). He finally looked our way and I asked him what time they open. 9 o'clock he said (which was 5 minutes ago). One of the kids walked up to a bike to look at and he told him to get away. One of the kids was then bitten by a bee and he just looked and started smiling. I told him we would hire a bike from somewhere else and he said good get lost. I actually think this guy might of been a homeless person the bike hire place hired for cheap labour. We went to Spokes N Things which were the opposite, brilliant and actually smiled !!! Glad we didn't give you any money Sea Mist Rentals !!!

4  Thank luko741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Sea Mist Rentals is very easy to find : just below the Santa Monica Pier. So you could rent some bikes so close to the beach and it's perfect if you want to have a great day enjoying the Marvin Braude Bike Trail along the beaches until Redondo Beach, or if you simply want to have fun and sun from Santa Monica to Venice !
We rent 2 bikes for 1 day (we've been from the rental place to Manhattan Beach through "The Strand") : 40$ (which is very cheap !) --> 20$/bike, we also asked for a lock and a basket for our backpack (the both were for free !) You had to leave an ID and 20$ (for caution) at the beginning and...let's go !!
The bikes are in good condition, you can choose which one you want.
The staff is very friendly and helpful so I thank them again for their kindness.

1  Thank Dreyenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

We spent the morning at Santa Monica Pier and decided to rent bikes and head to Venice Beach for lunch. The people at Sea Mist Rentals were very patient with my nine year old - working to make sure she found the perfect helmet and bike. Cruising along the bike trail is a perfect way to see the two different arenas.

1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews