We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (801)
Filter reviews
801 results
Traveller rating
427
259
69
30
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
259
69
30
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews biscuits and gravy best westerns waffles restaurant next door huge bathroom dressing area great place to stay room was clean and comfortable parking lot would stay here again easy access nice breakfast very nice hotel the breakfast area king bed complimentary breakfast central coast
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 801 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

We just stayed here last week on a road trip. Rooms are big and clean, actually very big and clean. Breakfast was good and the pool/ hot tub area is good size and well maintained. Would totally stay here again though the town offers little but is handy for getting to Santa Barbara.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Thegoodegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank You Thegoodegg for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us a review!

We are so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us during your road trip, we LOVE a good road trip! We are glad that you chose to stop and stay with us on your way. Thanks for the kind words regarding our rooms, breakfast, pool and facilities. Hopefully next time you're in the area, you'll choose to stay with us again!

Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Excellent accommodations and courteous staff. Very close to venue (Rancho Bowl for USBC Cal State Senior Singles) I was participating in. Very close to other tourist locations, eg., Pismo Beach and Morro Bay.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank mikemiklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank You mikemiklee for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us this review!
We are so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you wouldn't hesitate to stay with us again in the future and recommend us to others! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

I stay in a best western branded hotel quite often because you know what you are getting . This hotel did not meet my expectations. The check in staff was rude and the room smelled musty. I did not use the pool, but it looked very clean, or eat breakfast there. The bed was fine and the room was the usual size.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank kmac775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Thank You kmac775 for staying at our Hotel and for leaving us this review!
We appreciate when our guests leave us reviews whether they are positive or negative as it does let us know what we are doing right and what we can improve upon. I would like to apologize that unlike most of our guests, you didn't have a fabulous stay with us. After our recent renovation most guests are rave about the larger bathrooms with separate vanities, room themes and our other amenities. I definitely hope you wont allow this stay to deter you from staying with us again as you did miss out on our fabulous heated pool/spa as well as our authentic and freshly cooked breakfast of waffles, bacon, scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, potatoes, fresh fruit, assorted dry cereals, oatmeal and more! Not to mention our lovely new fitness center. Again, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave us this review and we do hope you come back and give us another chance to show you how truly spectacular we are!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

The size of the room and bathroom was awesome. We have 3 children in a room with 2 queen beds and there was still plenty of room to walk around and not be all over each other. We were also in town for a softball tournament with the entire team staying there and our room turned into the hang out spot. Even with all the kids hanging out it did not feel cramped. Room was clean. Parking was close and convenient. If I had a complaint it would be there is only 1 elevator at the front of the hotel so we had to haul our luggage up the stairs but that really is a convenience not a necessity.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lydia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Thank You momsrayofhope for staying with us and for leaving us this review! We are so glad to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and the size of our rooms were conducive. We definitely look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Our recent stay at the Best Western Plus Big America was enjoyable — EXCEPT for the noise! The room was very adequate, and we especially appreciated the oversized bathroom with a vanity and closet. What we didn’t appreciate was the noise created by other guests — young people (maybe a sports team?) that hooted and hollered up and down the hallways throughout the evening. They also took over the pool area for some kind of picnic/party, making it uncomfortable for other guests to use the area. We finally complained at about 9:30 PM and things eventually (not immediately) quieted down. But then it happened a second night — until About 10:30 PM. A deal-breaker for us! We won’t be staying here again anytime soon!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank T5940NUdavidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Santa_Maria, Manager at Best Western Plus Big America, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank You T5940NUdavidh for staying with us and for leaving us this review! We want to start by saying we are glad you enjoyed the part of your stay, that we could control and we definitely hope you come back again. We want to apologize for the noise the kids were making, there was a Softball tournament in town which we have no control over, and when we hear about these complaints we do our very best to not only address them but also to amend the situation. We do not allow any one group or guest to take full control of the pool/spa area, as it is for all guests and when that is brought to our attention we also address that as well. We definitely hope this past weekend won't deter you from staying with us in the future, especially since we don't have tournaments like this one at our Hotel frequently. We thank you again for staying with us and please feel free to contact us at the Hotel directly if there are any additional concerns you would like addressed. (805) 922-5200

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews