We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (947)
Filter reviews
947 results
Traveller rating
378
305
142
64
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
305
142
64
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine cellar old section older part new tower garden room old world charm movie stars martini bar marilyn monroe executive tower barber shop old school rose garden central coast hearst castle stayed one night paso robles
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 947 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came to town to visit our son who's stationed at Vandenberg. This hotel is a gem. I love the antiques, the woodwork that goes for miles and the people who run the hotel. Everyone was so kind and welcoming. We stayed in the historic part, which I wanted. The room was the perfect size and we were at the end of the hall by the pool. The fountain outside our room was so lovely. We had the brunch on Sunday, and O M G the food! How do more people not come for this brunch??

I will say: we talked with other guests and they were offered coupons for discounted meals and discounted Sunday Brunch when they checked in. I will know to ask for these next time we stay since we weren't offered them.

We will be back many times since our son will be there for years, and I will definitely stay at The Historic Santa Maria Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pinecone759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa M, Manager at The Historic Santa Maria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you were able to experience so many facets of the Inn and its' many offerings. I'm not sure about the discount coupons perhaps you encountered guests who were from a Tour Bus, they are given coupons for the various meals that their companies contract on their behalf. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff is friendly and professional. We enjoyed the comfortable room and bed, and the wine cellar! The historic ambiance contributes to a feeling of relaxation and the feeling any needs we have will be taken care of quickly and professionally. This is our third stay here and will always be our place in Santa Maria.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have less noise.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ewood55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa M, Manager at The Historic Santa Maria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review and for returning . We hope you'll visit us again in the future, perhaps during the holidays when the Inn is decorated in its' holiday best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Santa Maria Inn besides being a great place to stay is also like being in a time machine. It feels like your living in an era of California many years ago. The staff will go out of their way to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. There are a couple of classic hotels in my area of Florida that sit idle and will probably will come down soon.I hope they can be saved, Kudos to those folks who saved and continue to make sure the Santa Maria Inn continues.

Room Tip: If you truly want to go back in time ask for a room in the original inn.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Harbourlooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa M, Manager at The Historic Santa Maria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review. We take great pride in the Inn and its' rich history. I'm dismayed to hear you'll be losing part of your towns history so soon. We hope you'll stay with us again when you return to the west coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

We spent a comfortable night here on a 2-day road-trip up the 101 between Los Angeles and San Francisco. We stayed in the newer (tower) wing, which some reviewers say has larger rooms than the adjoining, 2-story original section, but we enjoyed touring the historic lobby, dining room, etc. with their photographs of famous guests over the past century.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fastenyourbelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa M, Manager at The Historic Santa Maria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you for your review. It's true the Tower section rooms are twice the size of those in the Historic section. When you return ask for a tour of the Historic Inn rooms (no two alike).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

We intentionally chose the historic side of the hotel so the room retained the look of pre-1950's with large baseboards and older patio doors. The bathroom was completely updated and nice. Clean and quiet. One small nit - the in-room refrigerator was noisy. Interesting to see where the old Hollywood stars stayed. Staff was helpful, professional and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jan66893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa M, Manager at The Historic Santa Maria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you for your review. The Inn celebrated 101 years in business this year. We hope you'll return very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews