We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
11
17
22
27
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
17
22
27
93
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Booked a king room so we had a kitchen, which is specified on booking.com. However, there is no pots, pans, utensils, cups etc. When we approached the desk they were unhelpful and a refund was not allowed despite only checking in 10 minutes prior. When we said we would write a bad review they said “go for it”, which was an extremely rude response. The fridge had meat juice in the bottom of it and cleaning was below average. Do not stay here!!!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Katrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Hi Katrina, We are very sorry to see that you were so disappointed with your stay here. We do provide a kitchen in some of our rooms, but we don't provide utensils, and it is a shame that this proved to be inconvenient for you. Our cancelation policy does not permit such late cancelations, as it does not leave us with an opportunity to sell the room, we trust that you understand this. We are sorry that you didn't thoroughly enjoy your stay with us. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Do NOT stay at this hotel unless absolutely desperate! Our room was dirty. The door handle on the inside was sticky, the sofa bed had dirty sheets, there was a half eaten banana under one of the beds, cracked floor tile in the bathroom, paper sack garbage in mini frig. The sofa bed was terribly uncomfortable unless you like the feeling of metal springs in your back. The neon lights from their motel sign shined in our room all night making it very difficult to sleep.The parking lot looked like a car lot with nowhere to park. There were double parked cars since their lot was super congested. The breakfast was very minimal. We tried to get a different hotel at 11 pm after settling in and realizing what a dump this place was. The manager wouldn't refund our money so we were forced to stay there after paying $200 for one night for a "suite" room (what a joke). The health department needs to come out to do an inspection on this place!

Room tip: A good room would not be at this motel!
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rachstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

We are very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with your stay at our hotel. It certainly does not sound as if you had the experience that we strive to provide for each and every guest, and we apologize for the short-comings that you encountered with us. We take our guest feedback very seriously, and we will endeavor to make some improvements to ensure that future guests have a better experience. Thank you for your review. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Got this hotel last minute via Hotwire, and after reading negative reviews here I was pretty worried I had made a big mistake. However, my stay reminded me that hotel reviews are not representative of all guests as most folks review to begin with beacuse they were displeased. This is a perfectly fine, even nice for 2 stars, hotel. My room was huge, actually two rooms with a king and queen, and clean. It was quiet and I slept like a baby. Only objection was that the blinds are inadequate and due to lights outside our room was lit up like morning all night. Fortunately my sleep mask took care of that. Also great location 10 minute walk to beach/boardwalk, which is critical because the traffic to beach super backs up on weekends.

Net net don't let the reviews scare you off.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Hi Chris, Thank you for your very kind feedback, we are pleased that you were so happy with our hotel, despite the reviews that you had read. We are pleased that the spacious, clean room that we provide you with satisfied you so well. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel when you next visit Santa Cruz.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Bad breakfast, no parking after 7pm, (people fighting for parking, blocking other cars, stains on rugs, maid did room halfway, terrible value for your $$
Don’t stay here! I travel a lot and this is one if the worst hotels I’ve ever stayed! Period!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Hi John, We are sorry that the wonderful value that we offer did not appeal to you, this is not the general feedback that we get. We are sorry to hear that our hotel was not entirely suitable for your needs and expectations. It is a shame our property was not what you were looking for, but we appreciate you choosing to stay with us on this occasion. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

Checked in for one night, was great room and clean and had a pull out sofa bed too. Staff were cool and quick at check in. Nothing fancy but we were 5 skateboarders on a USA road trip and it was exactly what we needed

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trawler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Surf City Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

We are pleased that our hotel suited your needs for your short stay in this area, and we hope that we will be your hotel of choice here for any future stays you may have here. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews