We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vibe, great food”
Review of Riva Fish House

Riva Fish House
Ranked #26 of 406 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: What started as a fish market has ended up an amazing dish restaurant and bar. At Riva Fish House, we offer a view with flavor. Dine at our seaside haven on the Municipal Wharf in Santa Cruz today! When we gave up the fish market for the restaurant, our objective was to turn out the best possible meal at a cost working people with a family could afford. That didn't mean something they could handle but under stress. It meant, and still means, a really good meal and beverages at a really comfortable price. Our loyal and friendly staff now serves some of the best, award-winning seafood around. Voted Santa Cruz's Best Seafood Restaurant, we offer something for everyone. Try our chowder, fish tacos, zucchini fries, or a killer crab sandwich. Big hunks of juicy tasty crab, seasoned to perfection, served on sourdough bread hand-made and baked to Riva's exacting specifications, with cheese of your choice, grilled and hot for your body. It's probably good for your mind, too. Wash that down with a craft beer or handmade cocktail. Finish off your experience by trying some of our 12 flavors of delicious, creamy gelato that is sure to please. Stop by and dine with us soon. You'll walk in with a smile. You'll walk out with a grin.
Reviewed 1 November 2018

We come here whenever we visit Santa Cruz. The food is consistent and the staff friendly and accommodating. This visit we had the mussels with pesto special which was excellent. Lots of mussels and good basil flavor. We also had the snapper, which was cooked perfectly and served with a nice array of fresh veggies.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank legsbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Owner at Riva Fish House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It's always a treat to welcome you back for a meal, and I'm so glad you always make a point to visit us while in town. Thanks for sharing our mussels with basil and our snapper both impressed you. I can't wait to welcome you back.

Best,
Peter Drobac, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2018

My husband and I have been coming here for years and love the zucchini sticks and other appetizers with a glass of wine/beer during Happy Hour or anytime. We used to come here all the time for dinners and still have something now and then but usually we like to get back over Highway 17 before it gets late and the traffic gets worse.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Owner at Riva Fish House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Janet, thanks so much for being a fan of our happy hour! It's great to hear you and your husband enjoy a dinner or happy hour every now and then. It makes me happy knowing you enjoy your time here. Looking forward to the next time you make it our way!

All the best,
Peter Drobac, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

We went there for a family birthday, the 11 y/o loves their clams. In our group were two elderly with walkers. There unisex bathrooms are little more than a closet. These people could not get them and their walkers into the closet at the same time.

Also, parking is very limited, you are on the pier.

There is probably other places in Santa Cruz just as good with more parking and ADA friendly.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Owner at Riva Fish House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Ray, thank you so much for celebrating with us! It's great to hear your group enjoyed the food. We always want all of our guests to be able to move around comfortably, so your feedback is very important to me. I hope we get the chance to serve you again soon!

Best,
Peter Drobac, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Every time we visit Santa Cruz to see family, we head to Riva for lunch. Their crab sandwiches are fantastic. The wharf always provides a great view and the service is always nice and friendly. A long time favorite!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Owner at Riva Fish House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Mary, this is so great! Thank you so much for your support and for all the kind words. Hoping to have you back in our seats very soon!

All the best,
Peter Drobac, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

After many years we returned to Riva's after hearing positive things from friends. We waited for a window side table (worth waiting for the view). We found our dinners only okay and unmemorable. Neither seafood dinners had the flavor we associate with fresh seafood. Riva's recipe for cioppino was unique and included sliced onions, green peppers and potatoes. Despite a busy night (filled mostly with out of town visitors), the table service was very good. Riva's is a casual restaurant with a small bar, a gelato counter, an ATM machine, and a small seating area outside for waits.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shewoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Owner at Riva Fish House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

It's unfortunate to hear you weren't completely impressed with your recent visit. We work hard to make sure every visit is memorable, so I'm sorry if you felt that wasn't the case. While I'm glad the service and views were worthwhile, I wish your meals would have been just as impressive. Hoping you'll be back to give us another shot in the future.

Sincerely,
Peter Drobac, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riva Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Riva Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing