We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (709)
Filter reviews
709 results
Traveller rating
329
232
90
42
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
232
90
42
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area free shuttle fire pit hot tub shuttle service barn door holiday inn cool hotel walking distance to downtown homeless people common areas nice pool up to date ocean street rooms are small king bed mini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 709 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Great spot for our SFO-LAX bike trip. And it was a welcome sight after day one from SFO on the bike.

Friendly check in. Clean, comfortable rooms. Fair price.

Ate at the bar. Decent food. Nothing special but good enough. It was late so we had few choices in a town where restaurants close around 9.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flycycletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

A 1960's motor inn redone for the hipster crowd. There are five floors, all exterior entrances, with two elevators. Best rooms are facing the pool and of those the bottom floor is better as lounge chairs are available. The pool area is popular seasonally with outdoor bar, and, when we visited, a DJ. Still family friendly unless your kids are very young. Comfortable beds. Rooms are a little tight and bathroom doors are sliding barn doors. House restaurant is very good for breakfast.

Room tip: If you want quiet during pool season ask for a room opposite the pool side.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JSRDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Highly recommend the Hotel Paradox for travel to Santa Cruz. Speaking as a Platinum Premier Elite member, one of best, short vacation stays ever. Starts with the staff. Sierra at the front desk was one of the most pleasant and informative receptionist in my many years of travel with Marriott. It just kept getting better with the entire front desk personnel the entire stay. From directions to small needs, very accommodating the entire 3 days. Restaurant breakfast was very good and again, great staff. Carol was the best ever. She really “busted her tail”. On very busy holiday Monday they were short staff and swamped. They all ghot things done in timely manner with good service. Entire crew stepped in to help. Management should be very proud of the extra effort the staff provided! Team effort. rooms were fine, pool area fine. Only hiccup of stay; would suggest they clean around smaller fire pit area better.
Management/owners: please compliment your staff!!!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank moman37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Wasn't sure what to expect. Motel atmosphere with outside entrances and the rooms were updated but not spectacular. Pool area is neat with hot tub, yoga area, private cabanas and poolside restaurant service. The only balconies are on the first floor and have zero privacy so we were disappointed in not having any upper balcony (which you''d never expect from the Holiday Inn footprint anyhow). Nice lobby and giant eucalyptus tree trunk (I think) counter. Only really bad thing was the towels never dried and seemed damp even when first used. Could be because service carts are outside and could be a function of the humidity. So ask for extra towels because you can't use them more than once. One other bad thing was restaurant service which was very slow and inattentive. Front desk on the other hand very good.

Room tip: No "good" rooms per se. "Balcony" rooms are first floor and heavily trafficked
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Woke up to bed bugs full of blood after biting me. I wouldn't have noticed unless I woke up in the middle of the night. They were all over the pillows, headboard, and sides of the mattress under the sheet. They tried to deny there were bed bugs until an official inspection was done, even though I have video and photo evidence (including bites, and more are showing up each day, getting more swollen and itchy, much worse than mosquito bites). One of the managers said that they were probably just fleas since they started allowing dogs to stay. I have raised dogs my whole life and know what fleas look like. The same manager then proceeded to tell me that there has not been any reports or complaints of bed bugs, which was also a lie since there were two reviews on yelp within the past two weeks stating they had a problem with bed bugs. One of the yelp reviews specifically stated which room they were in, different room than I was in. Which means this is a widespread problem and not an isolated incident. Also in that review, the guest had contacted management to pay for their medical bill due to an allergic reaction, but was not compensated. This means that Hotel Paradox knew there was a problem and continued to let guests stay in those rooms. They have shown clear negligence in the safety of their guests and cleanliness of their property. Most of the staff was very kind and friendly. Thank you Richard for the warm welcome at check in!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
6  Thank jmsmrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisJ4905, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Good afternoon jmsmm,

I would like to personally apologize for your incident and let you know we take this information extremely seriously and address potential bed bug reports immediately and aggressively. I apologize for any short coming we may have had in addressing this issue with the severity it deserves. We are reaching out to you to address your concerns on a personal level.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Christopher Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews