We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth every penny!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Chico, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed at the Dream Inn for 2 nights with my 9 and 12 year old children. It was well worth the cost. There were fabulous oceanfront views and an easy walk to the boardwalk. Beds were super comfy. Kids loved the heated pool and spa. Great service. I have stayed at another, lower priced, property on the beach in Santa Cruz and was not as impressed. The only drawback to the Dream Inn, in my opinion, is the daily parking fee.

Room Tip: The rooms above the pool can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfSUPGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    401
    149
    29
    31
See reviews for
470
485
46
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
orangevale CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We love Santa Cruz and usually stay at the Beach Street Inn. This time we decided to go back to the Dream Inn. We have stayed at the Dream Inn a couple of time but this was several years ago. Now we are wondering why we decided to stay any where else. The hotel is right on the beach with beautiful ocean views. We had our door open most of the time so we could hear the therapeutic sound of the ocean waves. The pool is heated and once the sun started to set, the heated pool was the place to be. The hotel staff could not have been friendlier. We will be back next Easter vacation!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mackimouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rld9, General Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
We look forward to seeing you again next Easter! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We paid about $250/night in April -- which is the upper limit of our comfort zone -- but the Dream Inn was worth every penny. There's nothing like walking into a motel room and feeling instantly on vacation because your room has a great view. Not just a good view but a truly great, unobstructed view of the beach and pier. And the sound of the waves -- amazing.

I also liked the decor. It's modern, chic, and done in "happy" colors. You'd have to be a serious grump to dislike this place.

Everyone worked like a charm: wifi, ipod docks, rain shower head. We ordered room service once. It was delivered quickly, and the food was nice and hot. The menu is pricey, but the food is good. Our encounters with the hotel staff were also very pleasant. They were friendly and efficient. The pool and jacuzzi were nice but crowded with kids during our stay.

The only downside that almost made me grumpy is the parking situation. It's about $20/day. We chose the self-park option which is located across the street. The extra money for parking can really add up.

As for local eateries -- there are quite a few within easy walking distance but most have a touristy feel. However, we found a GREAT little spot just down the road on Beach St. called The Picnic Basket. We loved it for breakfast -- amazing fresh-baked scones, frittata sandwich, and porridge. All of their ingredients are from local businesses.

We also walked frequently into downtown Santa Cruz -- about a 20 minute walk. The streets in the area are confusing, so a good map is essential.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our four days at the Dream Inn. I'd go back there in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The higher the better for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mf-sandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rld9, Rooms Manager at Dream Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
We are so glad that you found the Dream Inn great value for money and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please ask about our "car stays free" package the next time you visit - this package includes the parking for free! In addition, did you try our onsite restaurant - Aquarius? We won third place this year in the Boardwalk clam chowder cook off. You definately should try it next time - its delicious! Thanks for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012 via mobile

Had the best nights' sleep at the Dream Inn! Mattress and pillows were so cozy. Room was very well appointed with warm colors. Perfect Beach getaway! The sound of the waves was very soothing, but not overwhelmingly loud. The hotel was quiet and I didn't hear a peep from the neighbors. The beach, boardwalk and wharf a right outside the hotel's front door. I ghly recommend for friends, family or solo getaway!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hlowder34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

The Dream Inn is a great choice if you want to have a beautiful ocean view, walk out of your room and walk to the beach, pier, boardwalk, the cliffs and surf museum. it was very easy to get to UCSC. The sound of the waves made the outside world seem far away. The hot tub looked right out on to the ocean and the pool deck had it's own beach access stairs. Room service came very quick and the bonus card I bought for food on the internet was a good value. I will be going back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 km away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
8.3 km away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
0.1 km away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.3 km away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Property: Dream Inn
Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5438 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price range (per night): $315 - $745
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing