We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Avatar Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 152
USD 145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plaza Suites Silicon Valley(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
USD 334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Santa Clara(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 219/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt Regency Santa Clara(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 226/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
USD 242
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Santa Clara Marriott(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
USD 318
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 246
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Santa Clara University Inn(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HYATT House Santa Clara(Santa Clara)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
USD 301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
72
21
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
21
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriendly hostssterile chainhome away from homecomfortable bedsilicon valleylarge roomfresh fruitralphconcertunitacsleeping
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017

This was my second time at Madison Street Inn. The first was for a cocktail party out by the pool a few years ago. The area was decorated beautifully and the hosts did a wonderful job of creating a lovely atmosphere. My second time was for a stay-cation. Me, my mother-in-law (MIL) and sister-in-law (all local) stayed the night in the suite to celebrate my MIL's birthday and escape reality. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool and a scrumptious breakfast in the morning. Our room was nice and cool on a hot day. The hosts were very pleasant and accommodating. It was exactly the mini escape we were seeking.

Room Tip: The suite was on the basement level - nice and cool on a hot July day.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SLCLMLAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

We have been coming to the Madison St Inn for 4 years. It all started when our son chose a college nearby, and lucky us, we found this wonderful place! This June was graduation time visit, and it felt so right to be back here again: the lovely patio where breakfast is served, or where you relax by the pool while waiting to pick up/drop off or just be. We loved the first room on the right as you enter, cozy and romantic, and on other visits, we also enjoyed the extra space of the suite downstairs when loaded with bags. The cookies and sherry to welcome you, the friendly hosts Tess and Ralph, you'll be very well treated. You can chat with them into the night if you choose, as we have done, or quietly look up the flowers and trees and contemplate. The Madison St Inn is a home away from home

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pvblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

It makes a fantastic change not to stay at a sterile chain hotel.
The owners/staff were very welcoming, like a home form home. Food was lovely, a good choice for breakfast and I was even given dinner on my first night.

Will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PCoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tesswsantaclara, Owner at Madison Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Please come back soon.
Tess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Am surprised at the high reviews. Waited to write this review until June ( we stayed in January) for reason will note below.
We found this place barely average, verging on poor. Rooms were in disarray when we arrived...owner said she'd been busy getting her haircut and getting ready for her sister's party. We were given a large room on bottom floor. Miserable sleeping because window over bed had huge draft because air conditioner does not fit properly. AC was not on because was winter but outside wind coming in made things very uncomfortable. ( Another TA review mentions same room with AC unit not working and owner's response was it needed a clean out. Maybe a new, properly fitting unit is in order? ) This huge draft blew down right on top of bed near our heads. I actually slept on bottom of bed to get away from it and could still feel the draft. Mentioned nicely next day to owner as feedback and was told "been meaning to take that AC unit out of window." No real apology or compensation offered. Breakfast was borderline..cheap English muffin with egg...looked like a rushed throw together. Was so surprised at poor quality. Talking with owner at breakfast she mentioned she was putting the place up for sale in June as she was "tired" and husband retiring. That explained it all. Felt like she'd already checked out. Plus was obviously distracted with her party plans...

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank angelajoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tesswsantaclara, Owner at Madison Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Really surprised to read this 6 months later..

Trying to remember any issues back then.... Hard. Obviously, I spend some time talking to this person. The only thing that springs to mind is that I do get my hair done at noon on a Saturday, so am presuming they came to check in early. Our check in is 3 to 6 pm and the room would always be totally acceptable by check in time. After many years of very successful Innkeeping, I have that figured out! We did entertain the idea of selling the Inn this summer after my husband retired, and it's possible that this guest read more into this- and maybe it wasn't wise to share this..
The aircon in this room has been moved out since, apparently what they told me did register. Sounds like it should have been done earlier! Our error for sure, and am disturbed to hear it affected the quality of sleep, that should not have happened.
One of the highlights of our Inn has been the breakfast, which has been praised in over the 3 decades we have been here. I am sorry, it and here, didn't met their expectations. Happily, this is a very rare occurrence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Stayed at the B & B with my family. Very friendly and welcoming. Awesome house. Definitely worth the stay. It was very nice being invited to the private party. We enjoyed meeting the people. Excellent dinner and breakfast.

Room Tip: stayed in the suite. awesome
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tesswsantaclara, Owner at Madison Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Nice to have you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews