We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in an expensive city”
Review of Agave Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Agave Inn
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Staying in Santa Barbara is really pricey and Agave Inn met our expectations. We needed to check-in later (after 9pm) and the hotel receptionist provided a message with instructions of how to get to the room and check-in only in the next day, in case the reception would be closed at our arrival. The room was modern furnished, really clean, the bathroom was spacious. Pay attention with the parking lot because there's no space for everybody (additional parking is available next to the hotel). The hotel amenities is limited (no restaurant, no swimming pool) and the complimentary breakfast is really simple, we've decided to have breakfast in another place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank demayumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 300 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

Agave Inn was a comfortable and affordable stay for one night in Santa Barbara. Stayed in a room with 2 beds upstairs. Room was spacious and clean with comfortable beds, a fridge and microwave, and a mini dining table. Could hear some outside noise but not enough to disturb our stay. Close to grocery stores and cafes. Short drive to main shopping area on State St. Adequate parking. Friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blimp L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed at the Agave for one night as we were traveling from San Francisco to San Diego with two adults and a toddler.. It was great. The room is just spotless and feels so cozy (I find it hard to really relax in rooms that feel a little dirty). Great location near a shopping center with a grocery store and some great restaurants. Bonus is that a playground is within walking distance. I would highly recommend this.

The only down side is that the room we stayed in was a little small, but it fit two adults and a child for one night fine.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed here for one night and found the property and staff very good. It is located at the top end of State Street. You will still need a car to get to the beaches and the shopping district, but it is a ten minute drive only.

Within one block is a supermarket and many restaurants, including a Coffee Bean.

The accommodation was a good size and very clean. There was a microwave and a small fridge. The TV had a good choice of channels. There was a shower but no bath. The heating kept me very warm at night so that was impressive to me as usually the heating is very poor in hotels.

My only reservation was that outside my door (room 24) was a lounge area for all guests. There were people sitting there until late at night drinking which kept me up.

I would still recommend the hotel just get a different room. One night in Santa Barbara is sufficient.

Room Tip: bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panixxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I have stayed at the Agave Inn on two occasions, once during their grand opening weekend and again a year later. Both times I really enjoyed my stay. Now I rated this as a 4 not because it is a 4-star hotel but because it was very good and in line with my expectations. While it is on State and a little noisy the rooms are clean, the rooms are nicely styled (exactly like the pictures online) and the beds are comfortable. I like that it is a family run business and it is clear they take pride in their hotel. I recommend this to anyone who wants to enjoy SB without dropping a ton of cash on a resort. Oh by the way it is close enough to town that a taxi will just run you a few bucks.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
2.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara Downtown
6.4 km away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#33 of 52 in Santa Barbara
899 reviews
1.4 km away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 km away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
799 reviews
5 km away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#29 of 52 in Santa Barbara
405 reviews
4.7 km away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#27 of 52 in Santa Barbara
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agave Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agave Inn

Address: 3222 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-3329
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $124 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Agave Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agave Inn-a Shelter Social Club property is a small 13 room Inn. Free WiFi, free parking, coffee maker in all room and Ipod players in all rooms. Conveniently located close to Earl Warren Showgrounds, Sansum Clinic, Santa Babara Municipal Golf Course and downtown. We look forward to seeing you soon! While visiting please be sure to check out our restaurant- Sama Sama Kitchen -located in beautiful downtown Santa Barbara! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Agave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agave Hotel Santa Barbara
Agave Motel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing