We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint independent hotel with great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We based our stay on TripAdvisor and had such a nice experience! The room was really lovely and in a very good location in Santa Barbara and came with free parking including throughout the day after we had checked out. Both staff members were very helpful at our check-in and check-out. The room felt much more personal than a normal room and was a nice size. The only negative was the selection on the continental breakfast- I'd just as soon not have one or just have fruit and juice. But with so many great places to eat breakfast, you don't really need one. The value for this hotel made it that much more appealing. I'd recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank rtoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

648 - 652 of 869 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife and I just spent 5 days and 4 nights there. I picked this Inn from Trip Advisor for location, price AND the reviews of others. We still found more than we expected. It is a smaller Inn but the location is 1 1/2 blocks from the harbor. The beach and the wharf are close and a short walking distance. The waking and biking paths are great and take you a long way.

We walked for 1 1/2 hours for excercise and just scratched the surface of the beautiful walks available. Also, restaurants, stores and the downtown area where close.

The Inn itself has a newer remodel and is done quite nicely. The staff are very helpful. The continental breakfast is small, coffee, muffins, scones, fruit, but all good. Free daily newspapers. No pool, no microwaves.

All-in-all, we will stay there again. We had family at other lodging in the area and they cost more and were not nearly as nice. A clean, comfortable, quiet and nicely appointed Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1teamtracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

If there's better value anywhere in Santa Barbara in the economy sector near the harbor, you would probably waste a lot of time trying to find it. Locally owned, remodeled, and managed, no detail is overlooked.
A lucky find last night--just before the 'no Vacancy' sign lit up!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CriticalAye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We had spent two weeks in various hotels on trips and the Castillo Inn at the Beach was by far the best we stayed at. And the main reason I say that was the price and bathroom. It was cheaper then the other hotels in the area I looked at, and the bathroom was really nice. The nicest bathroom I had seen for the two weeks we traveled. It had nice marble counter tops, and the bath was deep. You can never find a deep bath tub anywhere in a hotel.

The location of the hotel was nice. It wasn't on State Street (the downtown area), but it is a short stroll to it. Plus, there is a shuttle that has a pick up spot near the hotel and runs to State Street. Only problem is that on week days, the shuttle stops running at 6 pm, but like I said, it is a short stroll to State street, so it isn't a problem.

I have to say the staff was great. The person who checked us in gave us helpful information on restaurants and about the shuttle. The same person checked us out, and remembered our room number and the information they gave us. It was a great personal touch.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irishprincessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Came in the wedding. Booked here mainly because of the TripAdvisor reviews and the great price. Pretty easy to find once off the highway and very convenient to all the places we needed to go. A tiny walk to the beach and pier, and there is a public park across the sstreet. We walked to most places but drove to State Street. Small parking lot and rooms are built around it with exterior corridors.

No problem at check in with I assume was the owner...was on the phone discussing his policies with parent of UCSB student who wanted to book room for son/daughter. Though he was firm about his policy, I was in agreement given what I know college students can do to a hotel room and the disruption to other guests. He was very good about giving directions and gave us a great recommendation for a seafood restaurant on State St. Computer available in the lobby. Small continental provided in teh Am but we chose to go out.

Rooms are very nicely appointed and comfortable; good sized and modern. Bathroom was really large and well renovated. Big plantation shutters instead of curtains on main windows but provided enough privacy and blocked the light in the morning. Pleasing colors. No closet in our room but a wardrobe which was more than ample. Bed was comfortable, flat screen TV was nice, and fridge in room was nice to have. Only complaint would be that being next to parking lot, you can here other guests comiing and going. It only happened once, but I think the older clientele seemed to be respectful of other guests and kept voices and noise down.

Except for the one little noise thing, we enjoyed our stay and would probably come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Maybe get one not so much in the center of corridors so you are a little away from parking lot noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeltaCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
524 reviews
0.1 km away
Franciscan Inn & Suites
Franciscan Inn & Suites
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
817 reviews
0.1 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
0.7 km away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
379 reviews
0.1 km away
Marina Beach Motel
Marina Beach Motel
#9 of 52 in Santa Barbara
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $157 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castillo Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Castillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing