We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint independent hotel with great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castillo Inn at the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Quaint independent hotel with great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We based our stay on TripAdvisor and had such a nice experience! The room was really lovely and in a very good location in Santa Barbara and came with free parking including throughout the day after we had checked out. Both staff members were very helpful at our check-in and check-out. The room felt much more personal than a normal room and was a nice size. The only negative was the selection on the continental breakfast- I'd just as soon not have one or just have fruit and juice. But with so many great places to eat breakfast, you don't really need one. The value for this hotel made it that much more appealing. I'd recommend it to anyone.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank rtoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    272
    46
    8
    10
See reviews for
179
471
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA. 95060
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife and I just spent 5 days and 4 nights there. I picked this Inn from Trip Advisor for location, price AND the reviews of others. We still found more than we expected. It is a smaller Inn but the location is 1 1/2 blocks from the harbor. The beach and the wharf are close and a short walking distance. The waking and biking paths are great and take you a long way.

We walked for 1 1/2 hours for excercise and just scratched the surface of the beautiful walks available. Also, restaurants, stores and the downtown area where close.

The Inn itself has a newer remodel and is done quite nicely. The staff are very helpful. The continental breakfast is small, coffee, muffins, scones, fruit, but all good. Free daily newspapers. No pool, no microwaves.

All-in-all, we will stay there again. We had family at other lodging in the area and they cost more and were not nearly as nice. A clean, comfortable, quiet and nicely appointed Inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1teamtracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

If there's better value anywhere in Santa Barbara in the economy sector near the harbor, you would probably waste a lot of time trying to find it. Locally owned, remodeled, and managed, no detail is overlooked.
A lucky find last night--just before the 'no Vacancy' sign lit up!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CriticalAye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We had spent two weeks in various hotels on trips and the Castillo Inn at the Beach was by far the best we stayed at. And the main reason I say that was the price and bathroom. It was cheaper then the other hotels in the area I looked at, and the bathroom was really nice. The nicest bathroom I had seen for the two weeks we traveled. It had nice marble counter tops, and the bath was deep. You can never find a deep bath tub anywhere in a hotel.

The location of the hotel was nice. It wasn't on State Street (the downtown area), but it is a short stroll to it. Plus, there is a shuttle that has a pick up spot near the hotel and runs to State Street. Only problem is that on week days, the shuttle stops running at 6 pm, but like I said, it is a short stroll to State street, so it isn't a problem.

I have to say the staff was great. The person who checked us in gave us helpful information on restaurants and about the shuttle. The same person checked us out, and remembered our room number and the information they gave us. It was a great personal touch.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishprincessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
From CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Came in the wedding. Booked here mainly because of the TripAdvisor reviews and the great price. Pretty easy to find once off the highway and very convenient to all the places we needed to go. A tiny walk to the beach and pier, and there is a public park across the sstreet. We walked to most places but drove to State Street. Small parking lot and rooms are built around it with exterior corridors.

No problem at check in with I assume was the owner...was on the phone discussing his policies with parent of UCSB student who wanted to book room for son/daughter. Though he was firm about his policy, I was in agreement given what I know college students can do to a hotel room and the disruption to other guests. He was very good about giving directions and gave us a great recommendation for a seafood restaurant on State St. Computer available in the lobby. Small continental provided in teh Am but we chose to go out.

Rooms are very nicely appointed and comfortable; good sized and modern. Bathroom was really large and well renovated. Big plantation shutters instead of curtains on main windows but provided enough privacy and blocked the light in the morning. Pleasing colors. No closet in our room but a wardrobe which was more than ample. Bed was comfortable, flat screen TV was nice, and fridge in room was nice to have. Only complaint would be that being next to parking lot, you can here other guests comiing and going. It only happened once, but I think the older clientele seemed to be respectful of other guests and kept voices and noise down.

Except for the one little noise thing, we enjoyed our stay and would probably come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Maybe get one not so much in the center of corridors so you are a little away from parking lot noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeltaCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.5 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#25 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
3.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Property: Castillo Inn at the Beach
Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price range (per night): $206 - $341
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castillo Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Castillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing