We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have, should have been better......”
Review of Mason Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mason Beach Inn
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Morro Bay, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Could have, should have been better......”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Our stay at this Inn was okay. Just okay. The staff was civil, however not very accomodating. Everything seemed to be a chore performed by folks who were unhappy or bored with their jobs. The room was adequately clean. That was it. The pool was a high light. The beds and pillows were absolutely dreadful! Very little sleep for two nights...woke each morning happy the night was over. For an Inn at this location and at the price paid, one would think it would at least surpass a cheap hotel along the freeway, but it did not.
Better beds, bedding and pillows would enhance a stay here considerably.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaShramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    184
    56
    15
    13
See reviews for
100
183
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We arrived for the weekend getaway from valley heat. This is the best place to stay. walking distance to the beach and pier, reasonable price, staffs are very friendly and room are good size for the whole family of 4. Nice ammenities and ample breakfast. They even provide fruit punch and coffee all day long. Free wifi is plus. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed at the Mason Beach Inn on a whim this past weekend. We ended up in Santa Barbara on Saturday night and were stuck for a room. Ruth, from hotspots hooked us up with this motel. Given the beautiful weather and a lot of tourists, the Inn was charging top dollar (239 and we got a deal). The room (204) was clean, but clearly needed some updates. The bed was not comfortable and the individual air conditioner loud. The noise from the AC ended up being a blessing as the hotel was full of noisy patrons and the AC helped to drown out some of the activity.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anngeojes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We ended up staying here by chance after we cancelled another reservation because we didn't care for the location and rooms of that one. We were happy with the location of the Mason Beach Inn. It is located a few block from the ocean and wharf so it isn't as expensive as the ocean front hotels (about $160 a night compared to $300 plus). We were able to walk to the wharf and to restaurants. The rooms were average to small; clean and comfortable. The pool area is also average; the hot tub was not working during our stay of three nights and never did get fixed which was too bad. The continental breakfast had rolls, toast, fruit; it was okay for a quick breakfast. I would describe the hotel as a cute, quaint coastal-type hotel. Our room opened right up to outside compared to most of the rooms which were located in the indoor hallways; I liked the outdoor location which was right next to the elevator and stairs but was still quiet. We would stay again because of the price. Hotels right across from the ocean looked nice, but this one had the right price and was still pretty close to everything.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelfromDuluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los ANGELES
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Have been to Santa Barbara many times and stayed in different places. But this time we decided to try this new place, and we are glad we did. Very well located, just a block from the beach, clean, nice size rooms with a refrigerator and a microwave. A very nice young lady at the front desk named Elsie, was very helpful and friendly. The continental breakfast was plentiful and in a very nice area. There were seating areas by the pool that have a very nice look of the gardens and overall we loved the place. Will come back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venice7_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 km away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
677 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
946 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
748 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
0.5 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mason Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mason Beach Inn

Property: Mason Beach Inn
Address: 324 W Mason St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#21 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price range (per night): $228 - $426
Hotel Class:3 star — Mason Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mason Beach Inn is within walking distance of beautiful West Beach and the oceanfront bike path, the Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the shops and restaurants on beautiful State Street in downtown. Santa Barbara’s world-class golf courses and renowned wineries are just minutes away.45 Well-appointed guest rooms, suites all non-smoking Year round heated swimming pool and SpaDeluxe continental breakfast Winter monthly and weekly rates available Complimentary wireless Internet service Front Desk Available 24 hrsMultilingual staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Mason Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mason Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Mason Beach Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing