We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and service, too big for a single overnight stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Large resort with great staff and service but the size of the resort and grounds is really designed for a longer stay than what our family was planning.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank doug s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,348)
There are newer reviews for The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,651 - 2,655 of 3,348 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

Fess Parker's in Santa Barbara is located across from the beach, walking distance to the pier, restaurants, and State Street quality shopping. Public transportation also stops in front of the hotel. The hotel is very nice--upscale-- with a spa and a fitness center. Lobby ammenities include a Starbucks coffee shop, a steak house (Rodney's) and a cafe for breakfast or lunch. This Spanish style hotel has only two to three levels, a nice pool and jacuzzi, and beautifully landscaped grounds.
Our room had appealing decor and was roomy. There was a large flat screen TV with movie availability. Although we overlooked the pool (with a partial ocean view), the room was quiet and comfortable. There was even a Wolfgang Puck single portion coffee maker in the room. Initially there were not enough towels, but more promptly arrived when we called service.
The hotel is larger and also has an outdoor rotunda and banquet rooms for weddings and conferences. The accommodations would also be well suited for a wedding party, and guests.
Perhaps because we came during off season, and maintenance was being done on the pool and jacuzzi, the rates were reasonable for this quality hotel. We enjoyed our stay and would come again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor would be quieter with better views of the ocean or gardens.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mamabear99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We have stayed at this hotel a few times with our young children. They are wild about the beach, the fun family bicycles and the wharf. Can't ask for a better location! We have a very good and convenient breakfast there daily and enjoy beautiful ocean views from the rooms. The pool is clean and large ... not a kid wonderland, but definitely gets the job done. We can take a walk or the trolley to the zoo, State Street, the Mission and Stern's Wharf from here too. As for the room decor, it is by no mean luxurious. But it is perfectly adequate. I think you really pay for location and amenities that you wouldn't find at a less expensive hotel here, which is fine with us. And the warm, freshly baked cookies got raves from our travel weary kids.

Room Tip: Ask not to be located on the side of the train tracks. The only real distraction.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I have stayed at Fess Parker twice and have been underwhelmed. It is in a good location, has a pool, allows dogs, and always has available rooms. It is dated, a bit threadbare, and just is not that nice. The room rates are overpriced for what it is and they initially overcharged me both times.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dani11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We recently stayed at the Fess Parker Doubletree Resort in Santa Barbara in late February 2012. It's a beautiful hotel, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. We had a room with a king size bed, couch,table and chairs (sitting area). It was a very spacious room. We even had a nice little patio, with a table and chairs. We did not have a very good view though (bottom floor with a retaining wall), so the patio was wasted.At first, I thoughtthere was no safe in the room, but found out later it was located in a drawer. The bathroom was nice and we really liked the shower head in the shower/tub.We've had some really bad ones, where the water hardly comes out. I liked that they had two sink areas, one in the bathroom, and one just out of it. It made it much easier for two people to get ready in the morning. Without the lights on in the bedroom, it seemed a little dark, though. The hallway areas need to be upgraded, such as the carpet and wallpaper.The lobby area was huge and very beautiful and it had a really nice view of the ocean. This is also true in the bar, restaurant, and computer area. I only ate once in the restaurant, but the waitress seemed a little frazzled. It was a group of ten and after we finished eating, realized they had a buffet, which would have been nice to know BEFORE we all ordered. The food was ok, nothing to get too excited about.They have a lot of ammenities, including a beauty salon, which includes an area to have your nails done too. I walked through the gym area, and it had lots of equipment and looked very clean and kept up. The pool area was spacious and looked clean and well maintained. The only real drawback, was the parking. In order to go in and out, you had to swipe your room card, or take a ticket. We had to push the call button every time to get in and out and wait for them to lift the gate. We saw many other people having the same problem. THAT was very frustrating! Except for that problem,overall, it's a nice resort and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dglvtotrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
2.4 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,067 reviews
0.8 km away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,442 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,314 reviews
0.5 km away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
152 reviews
2.1 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $304 - $765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hilton Hotels Direct, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing