We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Surprising location and amazing views

This is a hidden gem and always a surprise for locals as well as visitors with the expansive views... read more

Reviewed 17 September 2018
Anabel-2013
,
Santa Barbara, California
Great use of an old dump!

This park complex is a gem of a multiuser facility. Softball, soccer, frisbee, and that's just the... read more

Reviewed 28 August 2018
skip2go
,
Santa Barbara, California
Read all 28 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Santa Barbara
from USD 94.99
More Info
from USD 149.00
More Info
from USD 145.00
More Info
from USD 123.99
More Info
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
16
9
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sports fields special treat trees wedding ocean mountains
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018

This is a hidden gem and always a surprise for locals as well as visitors with the expansive views of the magnificent mountains. So many think of Santa Barbara for its seascapes , but the real pleasure is the mountain range that is part of Los Padres National Forest and separates the coastal settlements from the interior Santa Ynez valley.

Thank Anabel-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

This park complex is a gem of a multiuser facility. Softball, soccer, frisbee, and that's just the lower park! You should visit yourself to find out what's on top!

Thank skip2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

What a lovely place for a stroll! We drove up the road from Las Positas all the way to the top of the hill, then went walking and exploring from there. The trails wind all around and I had no idea of the variety of views one could get from here - out to the Santa Barbara waterfront from one direction, out to the mountains from another direction, out towards Arroyo Burro from another. The trails are shaded by trees and it is so relaxing to walk here. We saw a place for BBQs, another beautiful area that looks like it would be perfect for weddings or other outdoor events, sports fields down below, and over towards the west we saw people hiking and biking and walking their dogs on trails on the next hill over. It was the perfect time and perfect weather for walking around, and we did see other people enjoying the park, but it was not crowded at all. If you come around sunset time you don't see the sun set into the ocean, but the changing of colors in all the different views that you see from this hill is a beauty that takes your breath away. What a beauty this park is!

Thank HappyTrails12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Isnt it a special treat to be able to go to a beautiful safe place to enjoy nature in the heart of a beautiful city. Well here it is for the taking, Elings Park is waiting for you!

Thank 55Mickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

This is a huge park, with many sport fields and a correspondingly large parking lot. But if you are not headed to a specific game, follow the single-lane road that continues up to the top of the hill. From one direction you can see the ocean and from the other Santa Barbara. It’s a charming park with many trees. The day we visited, there were only a few people, but this is a popular wedding site, so it could be more crowded.

2  Thank sssnancysss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Nice ocean views from the upper park. You can access by care on steepish road or hike from Cliff Drive near Arroyo Burro beach. Some excellent moderate to technical short mountain bike trails run through the park. When the wind is right, one can watch the paragliders and hang-gliders or if you have the skills you can do it yourself.

Thank 747jfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

On Saturday, February 25, 2017, we attended a beautiful wedding for my cousin at Godric Grove in Elings Park, Santa Barbara. The day was great until I went back to our car, parked in the parking lot, to change my coat. When I opened up the back of
our van, I found that our suitcase was gone, alone with a duffel bag. Our kids suitcases were still there. There was not any damage to the van and we are sure we locked the van. It made for an interesting evening, running around Santa Barbara for toiletries for the night. If you visit Godric Grove, I recommend you don't leave anything in your car. We made a police report, but don't expect to hear back. We were later told that same evening, that another family attending the wedding had their luggage stolen also.

1  Thank jfsquared2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Elings Park at the west end of Santa Barbara off Los Positas is one of the most scenic spots in Santa Barbara. I would recommend picking up a trail map at the Ranger Office halfway up the large hill. Hike the trails leading from the Ranger Office toward the sea. Make sure that you have your camera handy. Then drive (or walk) to the upper park for tremendous views of the downtown area, the ocean and the mountains to the north. If you can be in the upper park at sunset, you will be in for a special treat. Enjoy!

Thank DiverDaveMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Elings Park has something for everyone. It is family friendly, dog friendly, bike friendly and horse friendly. Oh yes and parasailing friendly. Gorgeous views.

Thank Steen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

This is a beautiful park. The best part is at the very top where the best views are. It is a little hard to find, you have to go up (take a left) up the small almost hidden paved road right in front or by the ranger (or park) station. It is great to walk around there, take pictures and there is a small amphitheater that I think was donated by Wells Fargo. I think this area and Franceschi Park have the best views in Santa Barbara.

1  Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews