We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Santa Barbara Inn(Santa Barbara)
USD 340
USD 289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 364/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Milo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
USD 316
USD 293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Kimpton Canary Hotel(Santa Barbara)
USD 537
USD 462
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Harbor View Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
USD 357
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
USD 294
USD 278
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
USD 339
USD 301
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ramada by Wyndham Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
USD 261
USD 194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wayfarer(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
USD 278
USD 202
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belmond El Encanto(Santa Barbara)
USD 727
USD 616
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,253)
Filter reviews
2,253 results
Traveller rating
1,674
323
143
63
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,674
323
143
63
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoral casinobeach clubbella vistaacross the streettydes restaurantprivate clubty loungeolympic size poolsteam showerbutterfly beachty warnerbeautiful propertyhotel poolputting greenoverlooking the oceanthe cottagestennis courts
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 2,253 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2017

You cannot beat the location and beautiful surroundings. And the hotel exudes old world charm and a sense of history and stability.
But our room, while quite comfortable and well appointed, the bathroom toilet and shower were quite dated and in need of being modernized.
The food was good but highly overpriced.
And the front desk staff ranged from being warm, professional and inviting to novice and indifferent. There was no high level of consistency

Room Tip: We were a distance from the main hotel lobby and I sense the better rooms are closer.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronI1927, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Bob S,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. While I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Resort's proximity to Butterfly Beach and the grounds of the property, I am extremely disappointed to hear that we fell short in providing you with the high level of service we strive to provide to all guests. I appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share it with our team.

I do hope that this experience has not permanently tarnished your impression of Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara as we greatly appreciate your patronage and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you to the Resort and provide you with the experience you deserve and should have received.

Warm regards,
Aaron Ide
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

My husband and I stayed at this property 9 years ago and had an amazing experience with the room, service etc. We planned a short weekend getaway, hired a sitter for our two kids, hoping to re-live the great experience. NOT SO MUCH. When we arrived after booking a night at $900 dollars, the front desk informed us we are in a double bed room. I explained it must be a mistake and asked kindly if we can change to a king bed room. No effort was made and we were simply told there are no other rooms. REALLY?! So, we spent the weekend squeezed onto a double bed and slept uncomfortably. The overall service was mediocre and I would definitely spend my money at a different property the next time I'm in Santa Barbara

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
3  Thank nancycE6507MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronI1927, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear NancycE6507MP,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We understand the importance of a restful nights sleep and I am extremely disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations and you did not feel a sense of value during your stay.

If you would be so kind to provide us with a direct contact number or email via (sm.sab@fourseasons.com), we would like to speak with you further about resolving this situation.

I do hope that this experience has not permanently tarnished your impression of Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara as we greatly appreciate your patronage and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you to the Resort and provide you with the experience you deserve and should have received.

Warm regards,
Aaron Ide
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Driving south towards LA on our California road trip we decided to stop for lunch at the Biltmore Four Seasons. I had heard much about this hotel and was keen to have a look. We made a reservation for lunch at the hotel's Bella Vista restaurant.
We arrived and valet parking took care of our car. Staff at the front desk were very friendly and welcoming. We had a lovely table outside with a sea view. Our server Walter was great. We had a mixture of salads, sandwiches and pasta - all delicious.
This is a very attractive resort and would certainly consider staying here next time we are in the area.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

I love this hotel and have stayed here several times over two decades. It’s one of my 3 favorite North American hotels, and one of my very favorites anywhere.

It’s set on Butterfly Beach in Montecito, with views across the water and out to the Channel Islands to the south, and of the coastal mountains to the north. Architecture is pure Santa Barbara, with lush and perfectly-maintained grounds.

Recently, I stayed for a week with my wife and our two teenagers. We squeezed into one room to save money, which worked for us because we didn’t spend much time inside.

Housekeeping was impeccable, and included nightly turndown service.

Some of the hotel amenities are worth mentioning. We were able to access the spa, without having a spa appointment. We visited daily, using the steam rooms, saunas, grooming products, and quiet room.

Across the street is an extravagant beach club called the Coral Casino. Our stay included use of the club, which we also visited daily for its oceanside setting, lounge chairs, food and bar service, and olympic size pool.

The Biltmore bar and restaurant both have extensive outdoor areas that look directly over the water. Food, cocktails, and wine are all excellent.

A minor complaint is the lack of free loaner bicycles, although they can be rented at the hotel. There’s a public bike path that starts in front of the hotel and goes to Santa Barbara.

Another is the lack of beach services—chair and towel service, and beachside rinse-off areas. We were able to rent paddle boards on Butterly Beach and charge to our room.

This visit worked so well for us because we were hoping for a beach vacation, and the weather cooperated perfectly. Highs were in the 80s and the skies were mostly sunny the whole time we were there. The weather is not usually that warm, and if it had been cool or cloudy our experience might have been different.

As it was, we had a delightful visit, and for us it was the highlight of a summer spent mostly traveling.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pointfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

A beautiful hotel that is located on the beach, and near downtown. The rooms are extremely comfortable, but very expensive!!! Great staff and amenities. The grounds are lush, and dinning overlooking the ocean!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
Thank Lynne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews