We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Elegance but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2017

You cannot beat the location and beautiful surroundings. And the hotel exudes old world charm and a sense of history and stability.
But our room, while quite comfortable and well appointed, the bathroom toilet and shower were quite dated and in need of being modernized.
The food was good but highly overpriced.
And the front desk staff ranged from being warm, professional and inviting to novice and indifferent. There was no high level of consistency

Room Tip: We were a distance from the main hotel lobby and I sense the better rooms are closer.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronI1927, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Bob S,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. While I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Resort's proximity to Butterfly Beach and the grounds of the property, I am extremely disappointed to hear that we fell short in providing you with the high level of service we strive to provide to all guests. I appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share it with our team.

I do hope that this experience has not permanently tarnished your impression of Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara as we greatly appreciate your patronage and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you to the Resort and provide you with the experience you deserve and should have received.

Warm regards,
Aaron Ide
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,119)
There are newer reviews for Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 52 of 2,119 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

My husband and I stayed at this property 9 years ago and had an amazing experience with the room, service etc. We planned a short weekend getaway, hired a sitter for our two kids, hoping to re-live the great experience. NOT SO MUCH. When we arrived after booking a night at $900 dollars, the front desk informed us we are in a double bed room. I explained it must be a mistake and asked kindly if we can change to a king bed room. No effort was made and we were simply told there are no other rooms. REALLY?! So, we spent the weekend squeezed onto a double bed and slept uncomfortably. The overall service was mediocre and I would definitely spend my money at a different property the next time I'm in Santa Barbara

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
3  Thank nancycE6507MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AaronI1927, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear NancycE6507MP,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We understand the importance of a restful nights sleep and I am extremely disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations and you did not feel a sense of value during your stay.

If you would be so kind to provide us with a direct contact number or email via (sm.sab@fourseasons.com), we would like to speak with you further about resolving this situation.

I do hope that this experience has not permanently tarnished your impression of Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara as we greatly appreciate your patronage and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you to the Resort and provide you with the experience you deserve and should have received.

Warm regards,
Aaron Ide
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Driving south towards LA on our California road trip we decided to stop for lunch at the Biltmore Four Seasons. I had heard much about this hotel and was keen to have a look. We made a reservation for lunch at the hotel's Bella Vista restaurant.
We arrived and valet parking took care of our car. Staff at the front desk were very friendly and welcoming. We had a lovely table outside with a sea view. Our server Walter was great. We had a mixture of salads, sandwiches and pasta - all delicious.
This is a very attractive resort and would certainly consider staying here next time we are in the area.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

I love this hotel and have stayed here several times over two decades. It’s one of my 3 favorite North American hotels, and one of my very favorites anywhere.

It’s set on Butterfly Beach in Montecito, with views across the water and out to the Channel Islands to the south, and of the coastal mountains to the north. Architecture is pure Santa Barbara, with lush and perfectly-maintained grounds.

Recently, I stayed for a week with my wife and our two teenagers. We squeezed into one room to save money, which worked for us because we didn’t spend much time inside.

Housekeeping was impeccable, and included nightly turndown service.

Some of the hotel amenities are worth mentioning. We were able to access the spa, without having a spa appointment. We visited daily, using the steam rooms, saunas, grooming products, and quiet room.

Across the street is an extravagant beach club called the Coral Casino. Our stay included use of the club, which we also visited daily for its oceanside setting, lounge chairs, food and bar service, and olympic size pool.

The Biltmore bar and restaurant both have extensive outdoor areas that look directly over the water. Food, cocktails, and wine are all excellent.

A minor complaint is the lack of free loaner bicycles, although they can be rented at the hotel. There’s a public bike path that starts in front of the hotel and goes to Santa Barbara.

Another is the lack of beach services—chair and towel service, and beachside rinse-off areas. We were able to rent paddle boards on Butterly Beach and charge to our room.

This visit worked so well for us because we were hoping for a beach vacation, and the weather cooperated perfectly. Highs were in the 80s and the skies were mostly sunny the whole time we were there. The weather is not usually that warm, and if it had been cool or cloudy our experience might have been different.

As it was, we had a delightful visit, and for us it was the highlight of a summer spent mostly traveling.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pointfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

A beautiful hotel that is located on the beach, and near downtown. The rooms are extremely comfortable, but very expensive!!! Great staff and amenities. The grounds are lush, and dinning overlooking the ocean!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
Thank Lynne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
5.5 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,068 reviews
6.2 km away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,034 reviews
5.2 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
430 reviews
2.7 km away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
153 reviews
6.2 km away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Address: 1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108-2805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $662 - $1,924 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps from one of the most beautiful beaches in California, with private bungalows and terraces that overlook the Pacific Ocean and Channel Islands. Set amongst 22-acres of lush jungle and tranquil gardens, Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara defines luxury living and service on the American Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing