We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Simpson House Inn
Nearby Hotels
Santa Barbara Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
USD 322*
USD 306*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Spanish Garden Inn(Santa Barbara)
USD 395*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
USD 283*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
USD 267*
USD 241*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Santa Barbara Beachfront Resort(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
USD 377*
USD 365*
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
USD 215*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franciscan Inn & Suites(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
USD 171*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
USD 210*
USD 203*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
USD 271*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wayfarer(Santa Barbara)(Great Value!)
USD 258*
USD 203*
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveller rating
528
49
17
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
528
49
17
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main househors d'oeuvres and wineparlor roomcarriage roomtack roomwonderful retreatstate streetthe cottagesbed breakfastafternoon winebreakfast deliveredbeautiful groundscookiesearly eveningturn down serviceeach morningwe've stayed
Filter
Updating list...
446 - 451 of 602 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I think the Simpson House is still perfect, after all these years. I usually stay in the most modest room in the Inn, with the bathroom across the hall (belonging to the visitor in that room only). Since I read the reviews I can think of two improvements needed; one is better lighting for reading in the bed or the room. The other is that one item of the hors d'oevres was less than tasty. I've never had the pleasure of saying any one place was absolutely perfect (well, maybe one), but the Simpson House comes the closest for gracious, lovely, comfortable, guest-oriented hospitality with delicious food and accommodations I have ever enjoyed. It is refined, quiet, tasteful, and the veranda and grounds are beautiful and peaceful. I will return again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

There was a time when the Simpson House was perfect. The rooms where charming, the cocktail hour & breakfast were amazing and although quite pricy, well worth it. We went back time and again for a very special weekend away.
When my husbands big birthday was coming around our daughter flew in from N.Y. and we all met at the S.H. They put us in small rooms, hiked up the prices and cocktail hour was just okay. Going vegetarian did not improve the food but had it lacking in taste. We asked if we could be upgraded & they said no. Okay, but we noticed the place was pretty empty. Now we know way.
It was so elegant, now it's just an overpriced place to stay.

Room Tip: The better rooms will cost you more than they used to but the cabin style are lovely.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ZOE236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonhouseinn121, Manager at Simpson House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

These guests should have been OFFERED an upgrade. If circumstances do not permit a full complimentary upgrade then we are happy to offer one at a nominal charge subject to availability.
After staying in the more spacious Carriage House at a special rate we understand that the accommodations in the Victorian Estate Home would seem small and pricey.
We have been an vegetarian Inn since we opened in 1985.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We've stayed at many B&Bs but this was far and away the best. Service, food, surroundings and the staff were above and beyond. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the cottages. Surprisingly very spacious. Hard to believe you're not out in the country somewhere in the English countryside.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Weather Vane room at the Simpson House March 23-25, 2012 and it changed our minds about our future travel plans: we will look for B&Bs instead of hotels in the future. We got so much for our travel dollar: free WiFi, gourmet breakfast, daily wine & treats, nightly desserts, a welcome bottle of local wine, beautiful grounds and great location. Our room had a wood burning fireplace, skylights, large screen TV with DVR & NetFlix. We've stayed at 5 star hotels (not cheap) and still were nickel & dimed for WiFi, breakfast, to use the on-site fitness center! Unbelievable!! Not for us anymore. Thanks Simpson House for a great weekend!!

Room Tip: Weather Vane Room is upstairs in the old Carriage House and has been completely redone: insulated, new heating, etc. Great room with skylights in bathroom and bedroom & balcony & fireplace in the living room.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalGirlSouthBay_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Recently we stayed at the Simpson House Inn.
The staff is excellent. The gardens are lovely.
The food is average.
We were disappointed overall for the price we paid.
Our room was not very bright during the day.
A bright security light came in through the shutters which made sleeping less comfortable.
The sofa and chair needed to have their cushions re-stuffed.
It was a BIG anniversary for us and so we had high expectations of what a $555 (including tax) room per night would be like. When I booked I mentioned it was our Big Anniversary.
We have stayed at several B & B's over the years and had many wonderful experiences.
We will opt for a nice hotel next time we stay in the Santa Barbara area.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs will have more sunlight. Our room was rather dark.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonhouseinn121, Manager at Simpson House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

We truly appreciate our guests who post reviews. Not so glowing reviews keep us on our toes!! It is our opportunity to assess how we can improve each & every guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews