We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice but a bit of mixed personality”
Review of Simpson House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Simpson House Inn
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
ontario
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very nice but a bit of mixed personality”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed in the smallest room in the main inn at a reasonable price and enjoyed all the same amenities as those who paid more --- a lot more in some cases. Actually all the rooms in the main inn are about the same with respect to being smallish. But that goes with being in a B&B in an actual old home. Other than that the B&B experience here is first class --- more like a five star small inn: great beds and pillows, turndown service, chocolats on the pillow, personalized messages, and a complimentary happy hour with wine and hot prepared snacks. The outside rooms and suites are all very nice, and probably worth it if you can squeeze your family in to one room. But for a couple ( except possibly newlyweds) it's more than you need and certainly more than you should spend. These rooms seem somehow out of sinc with the personality of the main inn -- they're like New England beach cottages.Stick with the rooms in the main inn, get a first class B&B experience, and keep a few bucks in your pocket for a nice dinner in a nearby ( walking distance) restaurant.

Room Tip: The smallest room has a private bath just outside your door but they provide robes and it's real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nairene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    42
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
46
410
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Ranchos, NM
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I think the Simpson House is still perfect, after all these years. I usually stay in the most modest room in the Inn, with the bathroom across the hall (belonging to the visitor in that room only). Since I read the reviews I can think of two improvements needed; one is better lighting for reading in the bed or the room. The other is that one item of the hors d'oevres was less than tasty. I've never had the pleasure of saying any one place was absolutely perfect (well, maybe one), but the Simpson House comes the closest for gracious, lovely, comfortable, guest-oriented hospitality with delicious food and accommodations I have ever enjoyed. It is refined, quiet, tasteful, and the veranda and grounds are beautiful and peaceful. I will return again and again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L.A.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

There was a time when the Simpson House was perfect. The rooms where charming, the cocktail hour & breakfast were amazing and although quite pricy, well worth it. We went back time and again for a very special weekend away.
When my husbands big birthday was coming around our daughter flew in from N.Y. and we all met at the S.H. They put us in small rooms, hiked up the prices and cocktail hour was just okay. Going vegetarian did not improve the food but had it lacking in taste. We asked if we could be upgraded & they said no. Okay, but we noticed the place was pretty empty. Now we know way.
It was so elegant, now it's just an overpriced place to stay.

Room Tip: The better rooms will cost you more than they used to but the cabin style are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ZOE236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonhouseinn121, Manager at Simpson House Inn, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
These guests should have been OFFERED an upgrade. If circumstances do not permit a full complimentary upgrade then we are happy to offer one at a nominal charge subject to availability.
After staying in the more spacious Carriage House at a special rate we understand that the accommodations in the Victorian Estate Home would seem small and pricey.
We have been an vegetarian Inn since we opened in 1985.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We've stayed at many B&Bs but this was far and away the best. Service, food, surroundings and the staff were above and beyond. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the cottages. Surprisingly very spacious. Hard to believe you're not out in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Weather Vane room at the Simpson House March 23-25, 2012 and it changed our minds about our future travel plans: we will look for B&Bs instead of hotels in the future. We got so much for our travel dollar: free WiFi, gourmet breakfast, daily wine & treats, nightly desserts, a welcome bottle of local wine, beautiful grounds and great location. Our room had a wood burning fireplace, skylights, large screen TV with DVR & NetFlix. We've stayed at 5 star hotels (not cheap) and still were nickel & dimed for WiFi, breakfast, to use the on-site fitness center! Unbelievable!! Not for us anymore. Thanks Simpson House for a great weekend!!

Room Tip: Weather Vane Room is upstairs in the old Carriage House and has been completely redone: insulated, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalGirlSouthBay_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.1 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
1.1 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
1.2 km away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
2.5 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
6.2 km away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson House Inn

Property: Simpson House Inn
Address: 121 E Arrellaga St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price range (per night): $494 - $883
Hotel Class:5 star — Simpson House Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Simpson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson House Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing