We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect place to Celebrate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simpson House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Simpson House Inn
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place to Celebrate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary at this wonderful retreat. In spite of some inclement weather which prevented us from lounging in the beautiful gardens, our stay was wonderful. The staff was helpful in every possible way. Our room was perfect in its attractiveness and comfort. We appreciated the fact that we were just 1 1/2 blocks from the main street and therefore close to many excellent restaurants. We would certainly stay in this lovely Inn upon our return to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoEllen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    38
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
41
380
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

We booked one night here to start of our Californian Route 1 trip and we are so glad that we did. The place is amazing. Really olde worlde charms with all of the modern conveniences. We ummed and ahhed for ages about where to stay in Santa Barbara and are so glad that we found the Simpson House Inn. What is even nicer than the lovely rooms, the amazing cheese and wine on arrival, the delicious breakfasts and the exceptional gardens the place has, is the wonderful staff. These guys were so welcoming addressing you by name and going out of their way to offer advice about what do to. We were so amazed at how nice the place is that we ended up buying a couple of mugs to take with us to remember our visit. Outstanding. Would definitely love to stay here again if we return to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastlePeter45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eggplantgirl
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in August in the Margaret Simpson room. The inn is lovely, a well-kept, clean inn with lovely antiques, period details, etc., and the staff were friendly and helpful. The afternoon hors d'oeuvres and wine are yummy and plentiful -- you almost won't feel up for dinner afterwards!

I only have a few critiques. First, breakfast is SLLOOOOOOOWWWWW. I mean, really slow. The two times we had breakfast in the dining room, it took a full hour before we were out of there. That's fine if you have nothing to do all day and just plan on lounging around, but we were eager to explore the sites and would have skipped breakfast if we knew it would take so long. The first morning, it took 15 minutes after we sat down before a server came over to us, and there were only 3 tables (including us) occupied in the entire dining area! On the last morning I skipped breakfast and my husband went down just for oatmeal and eggs, and it took 30 minutes to deliver the oatmeal and another 15 before the eggs arrived. The inn does ofter the alternative of having breakfast delivered to your room, and if you have a full day of sightseeing ahead of you, I recommend using that option instead. Again, a leisurely (snail-paced) breakfast may be fine with you, but we were frustrated by it. It just wasn't the most tightly run ship for breakfast.

Second, I wish they would install screens on the windows so you could open them without worrying about insects flying in.

Third, on our first day we asked for recommendations for hiking in the area, and the staff was not knowledgable about hiking. They told us the person who was knowledgeable was off that day. For the price they charge, they should have all their staff equally trained to offer recommendations.

Fourth, there is no printer if you need to print anything. Because they couldn't recommend any hiking trails, we looked up a website on our iPad that had local hiking trails and wanted to print some pages out. They offered to print the pages in their office but wouldn't let us come inside to show them which pages. I get the whole security thing and all, but frankly, it felt rude and a bit of a snub. We had to go to Kinko's to print instead, which was not how I would have preferred to spend my morning in Santa Barbara. I wish they had a printer for guest use.

So, all in all, a good inn, with a few imperfections.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eggplantgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed for one night on our the way down the Pacific Coast. My only regret is that we didn't stay longer.

From the moment we arrived - literally from the car - we were treated exceptionally well. Our every need was catered for with aplomb, professionalism and genuine warmth.

Our room was the Robert & Julia Simpson room, in the main house. The room is extremely well presented with classic Victorian antique furniture and fittings. As if the room itself were not enough, there is an enormous private deck with recliners, a sofa and a table and chairs. It makes for the perfect retreat.

It felt like we were staying at the luxury home of a very wealthy friend and that we and the other guests were there for some kind of event. The house and grounds are very spacious and never once felt crowded - there is plenty of space for everyone.

Snacks and drinks are available at all times and in the evenings, delicious hors d'oeuvres and wine are served.

Breakfast was a culinary masterpiece, served in our room - unfortunately the weather was inclement so we elected not to eat on the deck.

To call the Simpson House a mere B&B is to do it a great injustice. This was the very best lodging experience I have had in the USA and probably only bettered by one or two hotels worldwide.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FourFishFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

We only stayed here for 1 night in the Greenwich Cottage which was lovely. The gardens were very beautiful and the main house itself gorgeous. There was wine and afternoon supper which was so good we didnt need to go out for dinner. The breakfast the next morning was rather disappointing. We have stayed in many B&B's over the years and this was by far the most expensive, but def not the best. I think that it was way too much money for what you got. It was lovely, dont get me wrong, but not lovely enough for nearly $600 a night..

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.1 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
1.1 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
1.2 km away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
2.5 km away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#14 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson House Inn

Property: Simpson House Inn
Address: 121 E Arrellaga St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price range (per night): $401 - $689
Hotel Class:5 star — Simpson House Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Simpson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson House Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing