We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh. Okay, but the "club" means Doubletree light.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Santa Ana
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Meh. Okay, but the "club" means Doubletree light.”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I never knew the DoubleTree Club brand existed until this stay. In fact, I put "Double Tree" into the GPS upon picking up my rental car and it took me to the real DoubleTree, which is a couple blocks away. They were very friendly and directed me to the right place.

The location is great. Right next to the airport with easy access to the highways. I walked to an area nearby for a quick dinner and felt super safe and was satisfied with my options. It is built on an urban corporate park/apartment complex that has a nice lake in front of it. I ran there in the morning and it is about a .3 miles around and a nice feature.

First impressions are important, and the valet here needs some major help. I hate valet, and only use it if absolutely necessary. As I pulled up, I saw a ton of spaces. However, valet had set up cones that forced me to pull around to their staging area. The guy told me they were very busy and suggested valet. I asked him what my other options were, and he said "none- you have to valet". So I did, even though I think it was unnecessary. The hotel was going to charge me for parking anyway, but I'd rather do it myself.

I had a drink with a colleague in the bar the first night. The service was great. However, her food was unimpressive and overpriced. I had already eaten. Breakfast the next morning was far better.

The room itself was fine. It had obviously gone through a major remodel and they did an OK job- however you could tell some things were just not quite right.
Fitness center was very small, but not crowded when I was in there.

Overall, there is nothing majorly wrong with the property. However, when you see the "Doubletree" name you expect a bit more. This was certainly Doubletree light- and not worthy of the price I paid or my expectations.

Room Tip: Not quite sure- I know there are suites, but I was not offerred an upgrade with Hilton Honors Diamon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TDbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    261
    156
    68
    40
See reviews for
213
129
67
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Everyone was smiling and happy, the valet, front desk, restaurant and maid. The room was quiet, the bed was comfy and I received a complementary chocolate chip cookie.

I booked through hotwire and received a great price but wi fi was extra.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acj1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I travel a lot and had one of the best stays at this hotel. RYes, their "signature" warm cookies were good , but this DoubleTree has a lot more to offer. My room was very quiet, very clean, and just perfect. Their breakfast was very nice and setting was beautiful too (you could eat inside or outside, with a lake view.) Everyone was nice, especially Alturo at front desk with his willingness to go the distance to help guests made this stay even more wonderful. I didn't have a need for valet parking, but the valet staff were also very pleasant. Totally recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittykat44197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We took our daughter down to southern California to tour UC Irvine and we stayed at the double tree club. This hotel is the best deal we've ever seen, considering its great location and comfortable room. Definitely staying here every time we visit our daughter in college.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy_h33020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena Park, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

For the 3rd year in a row, we've brought back our soccer team to this same hotel. Our tournaments isusually just 30-40 minutes from where most of the players live but we choose to come back every year to Doubletree because of how well operate. Everything a person can ask for.. clean room and facilities, comfortable beds, breakfast is awesome, the pool is refreshing, the bar is a good stress relief and the staff very accomodating. Well done. Kudos to management and staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickInOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ana hotels
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Santa Ana-Orange County Airport
1.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Santa Ana/Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Courtyard Santa Ana Orange County
1.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport
1.9 km away
Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport

Property: DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport
Address: 7 Hutton Centre Dr, Santa Ana, CA 92707-5794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price range (per night): $168 - $300
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Orange County Airport is a beautiful lakeside property located on the border of Santa Ana, Irvine, and Costa Mesa. This Santa Ana hotel is conveniently located near Orange County's corporate business centers, including First American, IBM and Sears. Enjoy proximity to nearby CA attractions including Newport Beach, Angel Stadium, South Coast Plaza and Disneyland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Club By Hilton Orange County Airport Hotel Santa Ana
Doubletree Santa Ana
Doubletree Orange County Airport
DoubleTree Club By Hilton Orange County Airport Santa Ana, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing