We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (736)
Filter reviews
736 results
Traveller rating
271
254
104
58
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
254
104
58
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cliff big sur gift shop gas station cliffside room hiking trail mini mart gas fireplace private beach hearst castle overlooking the ocean the pacific coast highway san francisco second floor on site restaurant hummingbirds sunset
Filter
Updating list...
479 - 484 of 736 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

If you are driving down the Pacific Coast Highway, make this a stopping point! Beautiful property on the cliffside with a comfortable room and great views as well as a hiking trail down to the beach. The Ragged Point Inn can create indelible memories for a couple or a family!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 88CitySlicker88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed here for a quick one-night stay just to get away for the night. We have stopped here many times on our way to Big Sur to hike or grab snacks and wanted to check out the rooms. At check-in, I wasn't very impressed with the service. The clerk wasn't friendly and didn't smile once. Not that big of a deal. So we went to our room- a ground floor cliff-side king- which had really amazing views with a fireplace and small patio area just outside the sliding glass door. The room was very clean and I really liked the wood work on the ceiling and around the room- it added some character.
What the room was missing: artwork on the mostly-bare walls, and more importantly, a microwave and refrigerator in the room. For the price we paid, I would expect those things to come standard.
Also, the restaurant had pretty bad dinner but breakfast was much better.
Overall, you stay there for the view and this place delivers. I would recommend Ragged Point to people traveling up the coast based solely on its excellent location and views.
P.S. The trail from the property down to the small beach is really awesome and I recommend it. Be careful- as it is very steep and can be dangerous.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki_Diaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

on this stretch of the california coast, I feel like you can't go wrong. this hotel was pretty rustic, nothing luxurious by any means, but a good sized room, very nice walkout patio to the dramatic views of the cliffs and ocean. the lady checking us inn wasn't the most friendly and didn't provide the most information, but we dealt with her for 10 mins and then were on our own, so can't knock the place too much for that. the onsite restaurant is nice, as this place is pretty secluded.

Room Tip: if you're up for it, plan to camp in big sur - looking back on our trip, i wish we would have planned to do that, as there are so many options and the experience would be unbelievable. if you prefer a hotel, this one is very good for the $ as it isn't as pricey as some of the others in expensive big sur.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmichael30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This place is a surprise. The room on the second floor was a treat, spacious, well appointed. The bathtub has the jacuzzi knobs :-).
A nice balcony and window to the ocean and the cliff-side view. The best part is the lack of human activity around here, it's just you and the ocean and cliffs and strong winds, the best of Big Sur.

Room Tip: Pick a corner room on the second floor or the cottage/house.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vishnu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We just stumbled across this little place and so glad we did, it was so beautiful the view's were just magical it's a privately owned property so we sat down along the coast line and watch the sun set with a beer in the hand, our room was amazing we sat on our balcony in the afternoon had a few beer's played some cards with the sun on us was just the best. restaurant was good had a nice dinner and a great breaky the waiter we had this morning was so good really nice.

But would recommended staying here we stayed in room L7 not right on the ocean views but still can see the ocean and have our own balcony with beautiful sunshine in the afternoon was just unforgettable.

Room Tip: L7 was great for the price
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LIVINGlifewithGI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews