We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (739)
Filter reviews
739 results
Traveller rating
273
254
105
58
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
254
105
58
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cliff big sur gift shop gas station cliffside room hiking trail mini mart gas fireplace private beach fantastic location hearst castle the pacific coast highway ocean view room was large only stayed one night san francisco long drive
Filter
Updating list...
532 - 537 of 739 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Had stopped off on a previous trip for a snack and decided we should stay if we ever did a return trip. We stayed in a ground floor cliff view room. It was clean and tidy and obviously well maintained but decor was 60's style and looked very dated. Wifi was impossible to connect to and there was no phone in the room to call Reception to check. The following morning Reception advised that as it is unreliable they leave it to a third party contractor and not something you just ignore. In this day and age it is an important consideration for travelers.
Food in the restaurant was fine and service was reasonable.
Unfortunately there was a sea fog during our stay so had to recall the magnificent views from our previous stop over

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scs8918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

The location is unforgettable, the landscaping beautiful, the room is acceptable, the meals/service only so-so. If you are at all fit and wearing decent shoes, hike the trail down to the beach as this is the best part of the experience. The trail is steep in places, often covered with loose gravel, and there's a short scramble at the bottom.

Date of stay: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conr2286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Ok maybe not all that... but the drive from San Francisco was starting to become VERY long. Leaving at 7:00 am and stopping many times for many different sights, the sun was down and we were tired. We had stopped at another hotel/Inn, the rooms started at $500 and we were not prepared to pay that much. We actually passed the hotel and pulled over,
I said let's just give it a shot. We were pleasently pleased at $189 and the room with the "hot tub". Which was actually a whirlpool tub, the most beautiful view, a fireplace with sitting area. It was a little bit of heaven. These folks that live/work on Hwy. 1 are a little different sort of characters, I don't think they really care whether you stay there or not... The views and the gardens are not to be beat.
I have to agree with another review... the food, mmmm not so good. Again, we welcomed the meal and the wine. After a good nights sleep we had a good breakfast and headed out.
If you decide to stay here you may want to call ahead, I think we were very lucky to get a room.
There really aren't that many places to stay once you get into the Big Sur area. Doubtful I will be back there, but I'm sure glad I did once!

Room tip: Call ahead before it gets dark.
Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RubyJean2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed here on our trip around Cal. The critics who stayed here and were disappointed must not have been on vacation. The room we had, #6, has a large window overlooking the grounds. the view is very appealing. We ate at the restaraunt, the food is excellent and the service was slow, but when your on vacation who cares! RELAX! We enjoyed our stay very, very much. There was a wedding the same day as our stay but we heard nothing after 10 PM.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dgsmith52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We attended a wedding at Ragged Point Inn and it was picturesque! The wedding was on out on the point. It was a very windy ceremony, but the views were amazing! The reception was indoors but the views were great without all the wind! The rooms are all cozy, clean, and romantic. The restaurant had good food, but the service was just okay. The service at the hotel was perfect! Everyone was friendly and very helpful for our entire stay. I would recommend this to anyone traveling in the area!

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karlalee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews