We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for longer stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
336 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Good for longer stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Older style Residence Inn with multiple buildings. Has been kept up to date with decor but outer doors are a little tough to be certain they are locked. Some of the buildings face fairly busy roads so better to ask for a more interior room. Location is close to both Rt 92 and Rt 101 so easy to get around. Also several restaurants very close along with Target for anything that you forget. There are a lot of people that stay here for long periods. They do not provide airport transportation but the taxi service works out well.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo H, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our Residence Inn here in San Mateo. I’m very happy our facility and amenities met your needs. We appreciate your business and hope to see you in a near future.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    86
    27
    7
    9
See reviews for
58
32
8
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
WALNUT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel from Dec 21-24, 2011. Booked it on the Marriott.com website and selected a room with feather pillows, rollaway bed and extra towels. When we got there the pillows were not the feather pillows, there was no rollaway bed in the room and there were no extra towels beside just two bath towels. Also there was a thong underwear hanging in the closet. I took a shower and then my daughter took a shower next. There was no hot water when my daughter went to take a shower. According to Arturo Saavedra, Asst. General Manager at Residence Inn - San Mateo, he stated that they had known about this problem for a long time as there were only 30 gallon water heater tanks which is insufficent to heat the entire rooms in that building. I talked to housekeeping and they told me to wait for 15 minutes so that there will be more hot water. My daughter waited for 15-20 minutes but there was still no hot water. My daughter got sick from that cold shower. The maid came to clean up the room at 9:15am on Dec 22 and woke us all up. Then the following day on Dec 23, we left the room at 9am and returned at 4pm. There was no maid service on Dec 23 and I had to call downstairs to find out why the room had not been cleaned. The lady at the front desk apologized and said they had forgot to clean the room. Arturo Saavedra, Asst. General Manager had the nerve to tell me that they were going to clean my room as it was one of the last ones on the list.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANDY1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed here for a night with our family of 4. The two story, 2 bath, with kitchen worked well for us. We were able to have 6 more family members visit for the evening for pizza, ice cream sundays and games. Clean, nicely decorated and large enough to accommodate us. I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artladyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Nothing too great, and nothing too bad about the place. Offers you decent (but boring, same everyday) breakfast and a cozy place to stay, the penthouse suites are especially designed for long term stays.
Stayed there foe 3 weeks, not a bad place to be

Room Tip: The rooms on the 2nd floors are penthouses, much bigger and nicer. Not sure if they cost more - assu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kunalpareek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

I stayed here with my family (wife + 2 kids 14 &17 ) while I was working and the family spent holiday. The place is very good value for money. Nice rooms with well equipped kitchen, Very friendly and helpful staff. Daily cleaning, internet, parking, breakfast + afternoon snack included at an affordable room rate (those things can easily cost several $10s extra daily elsewere). Pool with barbecue grill was a bonus.

Definitely a place I would consider returning to - even when I stay on my own.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scootprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
0.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
1.6 km away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
4.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO
1.0 km away
Courtyard San Mateo Foster City
0.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo

Property: Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
Address: 2000 Winward Way, San Mateo, CA 94404
Region: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Mateo
#5 Family Hotel in San Mateo
Price range (per night): $193 - $546
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thrive on Long StaysBook your 2012 US Open stay at our newly Renovated Residence Inn by Marriott San Francisco Airport/ San Mateo hotel located 8.6 miles from San Francisco International Airport (SFO) and 20 miles from the tournament! Spacious suites with separate living and sleeping areas, fully equipped kitchens, and free high-speed Internet access provide guests the perfect extended stay accommodations. Join us for a complimentary breakfast buffet and light dinner Mon-Thurs evenings in our Gatehouse. Bridgepointe and Hillsdale Shopping Centers conveniently located to our hotel. Hotel is near many excellent golf courses including Mariners Point and Poplar Creek. Fun is found at attractions Malibu Grand Pix Go-Kart & Golf, San Mateo Expo Center, Coyote Point Recreational Area and San Francisco's major league sports events at Candlestick and AT&T Park. After all this excitement relax in the pool, spa and Sport Court at the Residence Inn by Marriott San Francisco Airport San Mateo hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo Hotel San Mateo
Residence Inn San Mateo
San Mateo Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing