We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Everything I'd hoped it would be.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Everything I'd hoped it would be.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Wow. We stayed here one night on our way to San fransico from L.A. I chose it because of the decor of the rooms and the restaurant's reputation for a good steak. What a winner!
We stayed in the Madonna suite and loved every over-the-top minute! gold cherubs, roaring open fire, hot pink floral carpet, amazing rock bathroom with cave like shower! The meal was great too. Topped the night off with some daggy dancing and a dip in the gorgeous new outdoor jacuzzis.
If I could take all my friends here i would. Fantastic.

Room Tip: spend the extra and get a rock waterfall shower or openfire place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank masqmargie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Front Office Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Wow! What a wonderful review, thank you for posting. We are ecstatic that were able to enjoy all that we have to offer here at The Madonna Inn. We take pride in what we do, and were are thrilled that you were able to experience it. We hope to see you and yours again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    469
    197
    79
    60
See reviews for
395
676
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I booked a specific room for my honeymoon and it was the wrong room. The wrong one was PINK and the only "special" one available. So pink it was. Other than that we had a wonderful time at the hotel. The dinning room was beautiful, breakfast was the best! The men's rest room needs to be explored by ALL. Yes women, just make sure there are no men inside using the facilities when you venture in.

Room Tip: Ask not to have a view of the freeway and parkinglot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GingeeBattleBorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Front Office Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Greetings traveler. We appreciate your review as it will better assist our staff with providing the utmost guest satisfaction. We do apologize that the anticipated room was not available; however, we are happy that you were able to experience one of our specialty rooms. The Men’s Bathroom is definitely a sight to be seen and has been featured prominently on The Travel Channel. We do hope that you will visit us again, whether it’s to stay the night or just to stop in and enjoy our restaurants or gift shops.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

The Room:
We booked the Sky Room for one night 2/12-2/13 for $149, which was an Internet special rate. This room is a two story room with a loft, which can easily accommodate a family of four. On the first level there is a kind bed with a TV, and at the upstairs loft there is one double bed and one singled bed. This layout is perfect for a small family, as kids can sleep upstairs. Please note that the rooms in general are smaller that they appear at the photos on the Madonna Inn web-site, I think they use the wide-screen photo camera or some other trick to make the rooms look a bit larger:) But that wasn't the problem with us.
The Sky Room is located on the third floor of the newer building (Madonna Inn is comprised of 3 buildings with rooms). The newer and bigger building #2 is situated in the middle of the property, and all the fancier rooms like Yosemite and Cave and others (you should explore their website) are in this building. BWY, Yosemite and Cave rooms are on the ground floor and have very low ceilings, just a FYI, if you are booking them.
Our Sky Room was also in the tower with a little balcony with a pick-a -boo view of the surrounding landscape. The adjacent room was the Love Nest, but we didn't hear our neighbors at all, I guess they were quiet love birds:)

The pool:
Please note that you will have to get outside and walk to the pool through the parking lot and then along an alley a bit up the hill where the spa and the pool are located. Madonna Inn provides soft long pink robes and pool towels, but still it can be chilly - especially in the winter season. Here it really matters which building you are staying. Be sure to check the property plan, because the closest building to the pool is bldg #1 (you still have to walk uphill, because the spa and the pool are on the hill), then comes bldg #3, and the farthest from the pool is bldg #1.
The off season definitely has its advantages. We went to the pool twice and we had it to ourselves on both occasions. The pool is very nicely heated, and I'm saying this because I hate cold water, and there is no way I would swim in the pool for 40 minutes in winter, if the water wasn't really warm. The pool is very clean and pretty. There are two outdoor jacuzzis, one is just by the pool, another is tucked in the corner by the waterfall (yes, there is a waterfall, and the pool grounds are beautifully manicured.

The Steak House restaurant:
Incredibly kitchy interior design (double portion of kitch due to the Valentine's Day), but that is what you are coming to Madonna Inn after all. I made a resevation in advance just to be safe, but there were not many people at the restaurant anyway. We waited for our food about 40-50 minutes, while munching on appetizers and enjoying our drinks.
Fillet Mignon with a baked potatoe and sour cream is the absolute MUST! It will cost you $30, but I though it was worth it.

There were people dancing tango on the dance floor the entire time we were there, so we enjoyed beautiful music as well. There is a boutique shop upstairs where you can shop for all kinds of goodies. We bought these fancy wine glasses with roses:)

Next morning we hit the pool again prior to checking at 12 p.m. And had the pool to ourselves once again.
All and all, the experience was worth it, and we might come back sometime in the early fall.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sky Room, building 3. The Sky Room is the two level room with a small balcony off t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alysa_in_wonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Front Office Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear valued guest. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that your expectations were exceeded. The Sky Room is one of our most requested rooms and we couldn’t be happier that you were able to experience its uniqueness and whimsy. Our pool is the newest addition to The Madonna Inn and we are thrilled that you were able to experience all that it has to offer. Our Steakhouse is an attraction in itself and is something not to be missed. We do hope to see you again in the fall. Until then, take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

My boyfriend and I came to the Madonna Inn the day after Valentine's Day. We are not familiar with the area and were a bit lost so we called the hotel to ask for a little help. The first time we called the girl rudely told my boyfriend she didn't know what street we were on and hung up on him. The second time he asked for driving directions she stated they didn't have driving directions! Really? No directions to your hotel. When we got there you would have expected a place that gets most of it's revenue from people coming from outside the area, to have welcomed their guests with plenty of information about the inn because most likely guests don't know about hotel. Well the same girl who told us she couldn't help us get to the property, also just gave us our keys didn't welcome us, didn't tell us about any of the spa or restaurant times, nor any other amenities provided by the Madonna Inn. Due to that check in experience my boyfriend and I were going to check out the next day we were not impressed by a place that markets it self as a get away for couples, it seemed to us more like a motel. Then when we got to the room due to the fact the girl at check in did not tell us anything I called to ask about room service, it was her again. When I asked it was like I was bothering her with questions, she shortly answered and hung up. I went to bed very upset my boyfriend had put down such a large Deposit for such a poor experience. The next day really turned around the food is amazing, Sue in the wine market was nice, knowledgable and actually showed the kind of service we paid for. Kelsey and Danielle really did a wonderful job in the spa and the steakhouse server at our dinner was superb. Basically the girl at check in should either consider a new career path or spend a day learning about hospitality because she is a terrible reflection of a wonderful hotel. If I was a front desk manager I would be worried about leaving that girl alone, she almost lost a customer for the Madonna Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenHooton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Front Office Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear guest. We value all our guests’ comments and appreciate your feedback which have been forwarded to the appropriate departments. We do apologize that your stay was less the memorable as the service you experienced is not up to The Madonna Inn standard. However, we are thrilled that you were able to experience our Steakhouse, Spa and Wine Cellar. We do hope that you will join us again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Huge, funky rooms, excellent parking and amenities. Excellent for couples!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mm83si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.3 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
3.4 km away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
3.0 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
3.5 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Property: Madonna Inn
Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price range (per night): $326 - $411
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and Booking.com so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing