We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveller rating
105
135
87
52
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
135
87
52
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub large pool budget hotel great pool would stay here again bit dated flat screen stayed one night cookies roses waterfall slo target clerk microwave maids coast
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 428 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

Location isn't the best but it's not super far from town, the pool is awesome and the service is nice, hotel is old and that may be why it's noisy, the fact that is next to the freeway makes it really hard to get a good resting sleep.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 91pablom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMartinezRGI, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear Pablo M,
Thank you so much for taking the time to offer this feedback. I am glad you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the pool- it is one of the most popular features of the hotel! It is our top priority that guests feel comfortable throughout their stay, so thank you for your comments and suggestions. In the future, if you alert the front desk prior to check in, we can do our best to place you in one of our quieter rooms. Please visit us again.
Sincerely,
Lourdes Martinez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

The environment (right next to the Freeway) can leave a bit to be desired... but can easily be forgotten for a1 night stay. Our room was a bit small, a bit dark, but was very clean and proved adequate.
The staff are really super nice and extremely helpful - The pool and especially the spa (with its rock-wall fountain spilling fresh-water just behind) is very enjoyable, pretty and well organised (loungers, pool towels, small lawn with table and chairs).
Overall a good quality/price ratio for a 1 night stopover.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philr0we
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMartinezRGI, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Philr0we,
Thank you for taking the time to share this review. I am thrilled to hear that you had the chance to interact with our wonderful staff. We pride ourselves on providing friendly service, so your comments meant a lot to the staff. I agree that the pool and spa area offer a great way to relax after a long day of travel! I have made note of all your comments and appreciate the feedback, as it allows us to improve, and we are planning further improvements in the future. Please stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Lourdes Martinez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Stayed one night on the way from LA to San Francisco. Hotel was a bit dated and room was dingy - stains on the ceiling. Pool area was disappointing and it was cold. The photos on the website of the pool area were taken very creatively. Receptionist was very helpfully at check-in. The best point was Marjie's Dinner next door. Great meal in the evening- massive portions and good food. Ate there as not much else about. However it was packed at breakfast so just hit the road. Probably would not stay again but would look elsewhere as several other properties nearby.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMartinezRGI, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear JBBT,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad you had pleasant interactions with the staff and enjoyed the convenient location when traveling between LA and San Francisco. I am sorry some of the other features did not live up to expectations and have made notes of all of your suggestions. We greatly value guest feedback as it allows us to further improve the experience for guests. Please stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Lourdes Martinez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Everyone was very nice. I enjoyed visiting with all the hotel clerks and the maids we're very nice. Daniel, Heidi, Leo were very nice. We had a great time at avala all wk. The weather was great. My friend got stung by a bee.Good Times.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMartinezRGI, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Nancy B,
Thank you for taking the time to share this review. It is always nice to hear from guests who enjoyed their time here. I passed along your compliments to Daniel, Heidi, and Leo and they were thrilled that you had a pleasant stay. San Luis Obispo is a great spot to visit and there is so much to explore nearby. Please stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Lourdes Martinez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night on route elsewhere and what a lovely place! A bit tired but perfectly clean, comfortable and everything you'd need.

Late at night, the people in the next room had clearly gone out and left their TV on very loud. We contacted the night receptionist who moved us to another room so we could get a sleep for a few hours so issue resolved.

The pool area was a great surprise but sadly we didn't have time to use it.

Marjie's diner next door was great and if you're hungry, this is the place for you! Massive portions but lovely food.

I'd recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Edinburgh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMartinezRGI, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Edinburgh56,
Thank you so much for this nice review. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and exploring the San Luis area. It is our top priority that guests are comfortable throughout their stay, so we will always work with guests to further improve their experience. I agree that Margie's is a great spot! It is a staff and guest favorite. Please stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Lourdes Martinez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews