We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Holiday Inn Express, decent room, location, and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Standard Holiday Inn Express, decent room, location, and great staff”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of a road trip in March 2012. The hotel is exactly what I would expect from an HEI, they are generally very similar. The staff were exceptionally nice at this location though. The hotel itself is a bit older, could use some touch-ups. The furniture was also a little dated and the bed was a little stiff but I still slept quite comfortably. The bathrooms were a little older but were fine.

The front elevator seemed to have some smell of fumigation or something but there was not notice about it. They should communicate something like that to guests, at least in the form of a note. Anyway, we took the elevator in the back which was fine.

The hotel provided a check-in gift for Priority Club members which was really nice (snacks/drinks). The location isnt bad. There's some restaurants across the street but there's more a short drive away. The breakfast was good, standard at every HEI. The breakfast area was large and more comfortable than many HEI's that I have been to. There was also a pool/spa outside which looked nice although I didnt get to use it. The wifi worked good.

Overall I would recommend this hotel for short stays, business travelers, visiting family/friends, and road trippers. It's not a resort, but it's not resort pricing either. It's simple and inexpensive and includes everything you need, including comfortable rest.

Cheers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aevegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    151
    78
    32
    9
See reviews for
160
105
23
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Visiting Cal Poly we needed an overnight stay. Holiday Inn Express has a lovely new foyer and dining area. Updated and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast is typical Holiday Inn Express fare - which means it is just fine, but I wish they'd offer more fruit and some whole wheat products instead of only white white white everything. But, the rooms are dated: low light, old linens and carpet, and although the bathroom was clean, the tile was dingy the cabinets were old and painted. For the price of the room, it would be nice to see a more updated and modern space. Nothing wrong per se, just kind of blah. Won't stay there again unless they do a remodel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GardeninginColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear GardeninginColorado,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel and had a pleasant experience with our friendly staff. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry our room furnishings fell below your expectations. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Margarita
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I travel alot for work and am very particular as to the places I stay. This past weekend we brought 21 students and 10 chaperones to this hotel for the Central coast jazz festival. We had booked this several months ago, and everything about the visit was perfect. The rooms were clean, the furniture up to date, hot breakfast buffet was perfect, but was pleased us the most was the 5 star service we received. Sandy Wyrick, sales manager was magnificent! Our rooms were on the same floor, and they were so accomodating. One morning we had to leave early, and they opened the buffet early for us. The front desk staff, and kitchen staff were amazing as well! We plan to stay here again! This is great for anyone!

Room Tip: They are sooo happy to please, a great price for 5 star service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank socalmom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The hotel is a rehab of an older property and is very convenient to downtown SLO. I have stayed at 4 or 5 other Holiday Express properties, all of which had a very pulled together look. The staff is very friendly and amazingly engaged. Too bad the rooms do not compare favorably with sister properties or Hampton. Certainly nothing was bad, dirty or flea-baggy. The bathroom vanity was very low. The curtains and lamps brought back memories of 1970s Holiday Inns and the mattress sagged. The bottom line is that the hotel is satisfactory for an overnight stay, but nothing to be enthused about. Too bad because the staff and location were great.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom2592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Good , clean , efficent service , lacks any pretence of luxury , get up in the morning and get coffee and a bite to eat in the breakfast area , not a bad way to go when you are tired after a long drive .

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.3 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
718 reviews
0.3 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
392 reviews
0.2 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,207 reviews
0.2 km away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,400 reviews
3.8 km away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo
Address: 1800 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price range (per night): $188 - $427
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel at San Luis Obispo is the area's closest hotel to California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly). Enjoy the best of small town charm surrounded by the unrivaled natural beauty of the Central Coast - from the historic Mission in downtown San Luis Obispo, to the colorful shops, restaurants, wineries, hiking, and beaches. The rustic neighboring communities of Cambria, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach and Paso Robles are just a short drive away. Our hotel offers a relaxing getaway with newly renovated, spacious rooms and suites featuring refrigerators, bath robes, and amenities to make you feel at home! Enjoy our complimentary deluxe full American breakfast. AAA approved, 3-Diamond rating. Come hop the trolley this Thursday to our weekly, regionally-famed, Farmer's Market. You will find an extensive selection of fresh produce, BBQ & live music! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Holiday Inn San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing