We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Cuesta Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Cuesta Inn
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

La Cuesta Inn is a spot that a few of my collegues have stayed at when in SLO for business.
I dont think I would choose this Inn if I was in town for vacation, but for a quick stay for business its perfect.
Clean rooms, welcoming staff, good coffee!
My only issue is the noise level from the room I had. Located next to the elevator, thats all I could hear. Room switch was not available. Issue was resolved with use of ear plugs!
Good price for what you get.

Room Tip: Above 1st floor, at ends of hallways
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittykattastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    137
    55
    14
    6
See reviews for
134
112
28
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
santa bar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We have stayed at La Cuesta numerous times and really enjoy it. We met friends from northern California and it was perfect for us. The General Manager and staff are super friendly and very helpful. The rooms are nice and always clean and having the continental breakfast is nice. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redroxred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

So, we booked this hotel over other SLO hotels based on the Trip Advisor reviews and rankings, but I am not sure if SLO hotels are just lesser quality or if we just had higher expectations based on the reviews. It was fairly clean and nice, but not a boutique hotel as it was stated in something I read. It was a bit drab and felt tired...but not a bad place for a night for the price. The beds were not that comfortable and the pillows horrible. The bedding actually had a smell .... so it left me a bit uncomfortable thinking that maybe the sheets were not washed prior to our checking in....but I could not say for sure. Usually hotel sheets have a super clean smell...and these did not. The room was on the smaller size and we had an upgraded view of a residential street that was better than a parking lot view. I woud have preferred to be closer to downtown and would not consider it walking dstance, especially at night. It is right off 101 so I was concerned about noise, but it was fine. The hallway also had a peculiar skunky smell......almost like pot - and it was there the entire stay, which was thankfully only one night. I do not think I will return....try something down the road next trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treetop_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffAssistantGM, Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
All of us at La Cuesta Inn strive to offer the best we can to all of our guests. We have a very high standard for our linen washing, and change all bed sheets with each guest departure. We are currently in the process of upgrading our pillows, after receiving feedback from our guests about the preference. Our housekeeping staff is constantly maintaining our hallway common areas, to ensure they are kept clean and tidy. On days of shampooing combined with warm weather, the hallways can get stuffy. We hope all of our guests enjoy their stay with us, and it is unfortunate that it was not a pleasing experience for you. Hopefully we can see you in another time!

Best Regards,
The La Cuesta Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felton, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We have stayed at La Cuesta Inn twice while visiting San Luis Obispo and our CP student. We have stayed at many of the SLO hotels over the past few years...this has become our favorite. It is clean, the staff is friendly, the prices are reasonable (especially compared to the other SLO hotels) and it is close to where we want to be. The breakfast room is a little small, but there is a nice variety of easy to grab foods to take back to your room. Afternoon cookies are a nice touch. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2catravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

- clean rooms
- friendly and accommodating staff
- hearty continental breakfast (waffles, toast, cereal, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fruits, etc.)
- really good price for the kind of service and place they provide, though I did go in November

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor to see more of the hills than the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaygreeneriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.5 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.2 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.1 km away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
4.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.2 km away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cuesta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuesta Inn

Property: La Cuesta Inn
Address: 2074 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2618
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price range (per night): $189 - $354
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Cuesta Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cuesta is a boutique style hotel offering comfortable accommodations, conveniently located close to downtown, Cal Poly and the Performing Arts Center. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and complimentary parking. Complimentary DVD library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Cuesta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cuesta Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel La Cuesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing