We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (794)
Filter reviews
794 results
Traveller rating
462
251
59
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
462
251
59
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews happy hour free shuttle steak sandwich free beer and wine cal poly evening bbq made to order breakfast pocket door living area breakfast burrito free dvd rentals free breakfast the hotel offers pull out couch waffles sitting room manager's reception
Filter
Updating list...
273 - 278 of 794 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2015

The hotel is clean and well located just under a mile from the San Luis Mission, downtown. The staff are excellent, from the receptionists, to the staff dispensing free beer and wine in the evenings through to the housekeepers.

The layout is somewhat like a motel, but all the room entrances to the rooms face into the two courtyards of the hotel. We asked for a quiet room and we were rarely disturbed. One of the courtyards contains a small pool and hot tub. (Both kept very clean). For security reasons I don't think this would be an ideal hotel for a woman traveling alone. (Although this hotel is in a good part of town where I would expect crime to be low).

The rooms are a good size the beds and pillows comfortable. The breakfast was above average for this type of hotel, eggs prepared to order and served with sausage and bacon, as well as the usual cereals and fruits. Again the breakfast area was clean and well kept.

The only very small issue is the pool towels are very small, which is hardly worth mentioning. When we visit San Luis Obispo again we will stay at the same hotel. The Management have their act together!

Room tip: Quiet rooms are at the rear, east side, on the upper floors, we were in 307
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Adams52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Suites Downtown San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2015

Thank you for mentioning our excellent staff and cleanliness of the hotel. We make it our priority to provide our guests with the best experience possible. We appreciate you mentioning all your positive experiences while staying with us, and I'm sure our future guests will appreciate it also. As far as safety goes for the hotel, you are correct, we are located in a safe part of town within a very safe community, but we do have nightly security that patrols the property if anything were to happen.

Thanks again,

Winston Newland
Customer Relations Manager
Central Coast Suites a Quality Suites Hotel
(805)541-5001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2015

The weekend price is high here but the weekday stay is a value. There is free wine and beer in the evening and the beer was good! Our room had an entrance suite style living room with sectional couch and flat screen which made it nice for evenings. A pocket door led to the bedroom with another tv and sink and then the shower and toilet in a small room off the bedroom. Large vanity in the bedroom. Only one smallish sink in bedroom. Nice pool area if you have kids and a guy cooking burgers and dogs in the evenings too. Good place for families and close in to walk to town. Also very important: close to the Splash Cafe which has pretty good coffee and a variety of breakfast foods as well as beer and is open for dinner.

Room tip: The hotel is large and sprawling which made the wifi VERY slow. If you need to work maybe a room close to the office or perhaps a different hotel.
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 370karinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Suites Downtown San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2015

Thank you very much for the detailed review. We always enjoy having families stay with us, and we do all we can to help them enjoy their stay. The BBQ and managers reception is a great time for anyone to relax and enjoy themselves.

Thanks again,

Winston Newland
Customer Relations Manager
Central Coast Suites a Quality Suites Hotel
(805) 541-5001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2015

Clean, spacious, comfortable, centrally located, friendly, warm, thought of everything, a resort feel. Welcome drinks a nice touch. Outdoor fires and cosy bar area. Perfect for families. Don't make the mistake of dining next door at Papa Delgardo's though " chew and spew" as we say Downunder

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ScottandLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Suites Downtown San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Nice, friendly, considerate, funny, outgoing, and well traveled is how we would review you as a guest! 5 out of 5! We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.

Winston Newland
Customer Relations Manager
Central Coast Suites a Quality Suites Hotel
(805)541-5001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

Close to downtown and easily accessible from freeway (not close enough to hear) with very clean and newly decorated rooms with great "bedroom" with TV and lots of channels. They provide a more intimate breakfast area with limited custom full breakfasts to choose from and cocktail event in evening. And the outdoor jacuzzi is nice and hot, though not the outdoor pool. Thanks.

Only gripe is that the heater/AC unit is noisy if you leave the thermostat on at night.

Room tip: Doesn't hurt to request a top floor as the property does have families with young children.
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank devnprt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Public Relations Manager at Quality Suites Downtown San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2015

Thank you for the thoughtful review! We appreciate you mentioning the many things your enjoyed about the hotel, and providing tips for our future guests. A hot jacuzzi is always enjoyable during cold weather, like what you experienced during your stay.

Thanks again,

Winston Newland
Customer Relations Manager
Central Coast Suites a Quality Suites Hotel
(805)541-5001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2015

Only 4 blocks from downtown and they offer a free shuttle service. They have a fun complimentary happy hour each evening serving wine and food. Decent hot and cooked to order complimentary breakfast served each morning as well. By far the best quality inn ive ever seen.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 750JustinR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Suites Downtown San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2015

We really appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel. As you mentioned, our complimentary happy hour from 5:30-7:30 is the perfect time for our guests to sit back and relax, and we're glad you got to experience this. We hope to see you again soon.

Winston Newland
Customer Relations Manager
Central Coast Suites a Quality Suites Hotel
(805) 541-5001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews