We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Need WiFi, this is not the place to come to!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Luis Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
San Luis Inn & Suites
Alameda, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Need WiFi, this is not the place to come to!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Paid an exorbitant price for a one night stay at a mediocre establishment. WiFi did not work and no discount offered. Apparently my laptop was at fault. I have traveled with this laptop on many trips with no such problem. Phone also did not work, but after walking to the office twice, the phone was replaced.
My son's description of this place is "janky"!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SharonDAlameda_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    25
    41
    17
    27
See reviews for
38
40
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This place was so hideous I wouldn't even let my dog go in. I'm very lucky we only live three hours away otherwise I would've had to sleep in my car. I have no idea how they rate 2.5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BoatYardKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Monrovia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

On a one night stay in San Luis Obispo, I found a cheap deal online for under $60; and we weren't expecting much. Frankly all we wanted was a clean room to spend the night, and from the outside the hotel looks rundown. But we were pleasantly surprised, to find a recently remodeled bathroom, and a simple but clean room on the inside. I've paid a lot more for really bad hotels in the area, and I must say this was decent; for the right price of course.

Room Tip: I would take a room on the second floor, not sure how the noise on the lower level is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank javfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Central location, friendly stuff, very clean, beautiful room, excellent insulation and all for $50.
Muffins and coffee were there as promised, but by 9 AM I've saved enough money to purchase them elsewhere.
From now on I will stay here when passing by SLO.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sacramentan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Stayed on a business trip. WiFi didnt work! But worse was the heater didnt work and i froze! cI called the ofiice and they did nothing left a note for the owner and he never called me! I call them to discuss the matter and they treated me rudely,denying the heater didnt work.The bedspread smelled and the room was dirty.Very noisy area. Avoid this place!!!!

Room Tip: dont go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.0 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.3 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.3 km away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
3.3 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
1.2 km away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#14 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luis Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Inn & Suites

Property: San Luis Inn & Suites
Address: 404 Santa Rosa St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-2440
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price range (per night): $73 - $227
Hotel Class:2 star — San Luis Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your San Luis Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing