We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and well maintained”
Review of Villa Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Motel
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Ventura, CA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean and well maintained”
Reviewed 3 May 2010

This is an older property. It's a plain vanilla motel. But they get the basics right. The property is kept up. The room was very clean and the bed (room 10) was comfortable. No complaints.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PelicanDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    41
    26
    4
    7
See reviews for
23
48
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san jose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2010

What a lovely motel in SLO! You just don't find places like this anymore.

The room was good sized, clean, bright and inviting. Carpets were clean & unstained. It was fell furnished & had lovely decorations. Beds were really comfy. The staff here was really nice & friendly. We had absolutely amazing service at front desk who took our call and checked us into our rooms when we got there.

We used the pool once and I must say that it was very well maintained and clean unlike other motels which don't maintain their swimming pools. The parking lot was well lit. Ample space for parking, and well-maintained.

We'll definitely be back here if we're in this area again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vp30883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2010

May look small from outside but inside it's spacious , very clean bright room with wood beam ceilings; Bed was new & comfortable. Had refrigerator, microwave & in room coffee...... Homely environment & convenient location......Close to freeway and 15 min walk to downtown, restaurants & CalPoly.

I definitely recommend to stay at this place when in S.L.O.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ik2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, California
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

We arrived in San Luis Obispo at 1am on a Friday night and didn't have a place to stay. The places right off the freeway were booked, closed or too expensive for us.

Then we drove by Villa Motel and saw a gal knocking on the lobby door. It looked closed, but since she was knocking, it didn't seem to hurt to wait with her.

I gentlemen popped his head out a window and informed the gal that they had a room for $89. She didn't want it and walked away, but my boyfriend and I grabbed it.

Oh, was this a treat! The bed was huge, there were no weird smells. The TV was large and easy to see from the bed.

I loved the bathtub. It was new and the water was warm. There was also a high window in the bathroom so you had your privacy, but could also get ventilation in there.

The wood-beamed ceilings also made the place feel homey.

I'd give the place 5 stars if it wasn't for one thing: the walls are paper thin. At about 2 am people piled into the room next to us and the party started. We could hear every laugh, giggle, and beer sip. I can quote their conversations, it was so crystal clear. I waited until around 3 am and realized they weren't going to bed anytime soon, so I went next door and politely told them that it wasn't there fault, but the walls are so thin I could hear everything they were talking about. They were very nice about it.

I wish we stayed at Villa Motel a second night. We went to the Rose Garden Inn thinking it would be nicer, but were completely disappointed.

If you're on a budget and bring some earplugs, the place is great. My boyfriend thought the sheets were scratchy, but I didn't have a problem with them. They weren't covered in smelly, fabric softener so I was happy.

  • Liked — It was clean, but not smelly. The price is great!
  • Disliked — They need to soundproof the walls.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_Love_the_Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2007

This clean, comfortable motel is an excellent value. The room was very well kept: it smelled fresh (no smoke residue), the bathroom was spotless, the bedding was crisp and clean, the refrigerator and microwave were clean and in working order.

The beds and pillows at the Villa are very comfortable - my friend said that she slept the best she has ever slept at a hotel. The hotel manager is a very gracious gentleman - excellent customer service.

Unfortunately, the continental breakfast was very limited (pastries, coffee, orange juice). But downtown SLO is close by and offers many great breakfast options.

I would recommend this motel to anyone. It is an excellent value and a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CAHappyCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
710 reviews
0.3 km away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
350 reviews
0.3 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
384 reviews
0.3 km away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
266 reviews
2.0 km away
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obi...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Motel

Property: Villa Motel
Address: 1670 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2930
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price range (per night): $107 - $341
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 units 2 stories exterior corridors. Bath: combo or shower only. Free high speed wireless internet. Free parking on site. All rooms with refrigerator, coffee maker & hairdryer. Some rooms with microwaves. Outside pool. Complimentary breakfast. Close to downtown & Calpoly. Walking distance to restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Hotel San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing