We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveller rating
319
262
64
30
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
262
64
30
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk indoor pool great hotel whole foods oatmeal bathroom door pismo beach free breakfast cal poly breakfast area hot breakfast business trip paso robles top floor fitness center morro bay clean rooms
Filter
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 694 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We travel to San Luis Obispo (SLO) several times a year, and are elite members with Hilton. We usually stay at the Embassy Suites just up the road, but have grown tired of the extremely dated rooms and decor (which I believe are currently being renovated). For this trip we decided to give the Hampton Inn a try, and boy are we glad we did.

Location - the hotel is located at the very south end of town, but SLO is small, and the major downtown exits are all just a mile or two up the road.

Facilities - the hotel is fairly new, and everything still seemed as if the hotel had recently opened. Night and day compared to the Embassy Suites. Rooms were very spacious, bathrooms were extremely clean, and the public facilities such as the breakfast area were nicely appointed.

Staff - the house keepnig staff was extremely friendly, and always made sure to acknowledge guests in the hallway. The front desk staff was also very helpful, but I will say that there were quite a few times that we walked by and nobody was present.

Breakfast - Free at all Hampton Inns, with one or two hot selections, waffle makers, fruit, and a normal selection of bread. The hotel seemed to be very full during our stay, and at the peak breakfast hours you could tell they were struggling to keep up. However, the hot dishes were always hot (think scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, breakfast pizza, etc.), and it was apparent there was always someone trying to replenish the food.

Next time we're in SLO we would definitely stay at this property again. My one suggestion to any hotel personnel reading this review - we were advised you only have one luggage cart, and when we needed it we were told they hadn't seen it in several hours. Having more than one would seem to make sense.

Room Tip: Higher # rooms (highest is x30) are closer to the freeway. Even # rooms are more exposed to the freeway.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tweeterhold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Dear new Hampton Inn & Suites guest, thank you so much for all your great comments about your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suits San Luis Obispo, Ca. We are so happy that you chose our hotel during your trip back to San Luis Obispo.
We look forward in your next stay with us the next time you are in our area.
Sincerely,
Rick Ogg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Hotel and motel prices in San Luis Obispo are high. The Hampton Inn delivers good value, including breakfast, free wifi and access to the pool and fitness center. Our room was very quiet. All the noisy people I found in the breakfast area must have been staying on a different floor than we were!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Merry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Dear guest, thank you for your great comments about your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo, Ca. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward in seeing you again the next time you are in our area.
Sincerely,
Rick Ogg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016

This is my first experience with Hampton. It's a great one. Frankly, due to the price, I was expecting the overall experience to be more inline with Comfort Inn/Best Western. But I couldn't find anything to complain about in the end.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank jjpcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Dear guest, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo, Ca. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward in seeing you the next time you are in the San Luis Obispo area.
Sincerely,
Rick Ogg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015

* We arrived at 4 pm, our room was not ready. Had to wait for 20 minutes.
* 2nd Day our room was not made or cleaned. When we asked why, the front desk staff told us that our "Do Not Disturb" Sign was on the knob. Yes, the sign was on the door but we took it OFF when we left at 10 am. When we returned at 6 pm, the sign was hanging inside our door where we had left it that morning. There is no excuse for not cleaning the room. After a short "discussion" with the only staff at the hotel that night, she offered to comp us one night. That was the right thing to do but I would have preferred a clean room over a comp.
* The free breakfast was sad. Many of the things ran out or could not be refilled because it was still cooking like the eggs, milk, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, etc. Since there was one staff, no one could clean the tables let alone manage the food.

If you want a clean room, go here. If you want any service or even a smile, you should go some place else. I have been to many Hampton Inns/Hiltons across the USA and the service to this one does not make the grade.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2016

Dear guest, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo. Thank you for your comments and concerns about your recent stay with us. I apologize that you experienced these issues. I have spoken with our breakfast supervisor and our housekeeping supervisor so we can immediately address these concerns.
We hope that you give us another chance and look forward in seeing you again the next time you are in the San Luis Obispo area.
Sincerely,
Rick Ogg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2015

This is our third stay at this hotel since it opened. It is always a very pleasant, clean, well-maintained, place to stay with family members. They have a very nice buffet breakfast. Only suggestion, open a meeting room to accomodate additional seating for guests to enjoy themselves during breakfast, instead of scrambling to find seating for family members or having people hover over you, while you are trying to enjoy your breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2016

Dear guest, thank you for your kind comments and concerns about your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo, Ca. I apologize that we did not open the meeting room during the busy times. We do normally open up the rooms when we are busy.
We look forward in seeing you soon the next time you are in the San Luis Obispo area.
Sincerely,
Rick Ogg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews