We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient stay while in SLO”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Stayed at this fun Hilton hotel where we received good value and service during the Christmas break. Free breakfast, free wi-fi, comfortable rooms and conveniently located near downtown SLO. A quick drive away from Pismo Beach and very close to the hiking trails of Montana de Oro.

Check it out!

Room Tip: Good view of SLO County
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Dear guest, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo, Ca. We are so glad that you had a great time while visiting our area and took advantage in seeing our great hiking trails.
We look forward in seeing you again the next time you are in our area.
Sincerely,
Rick Ogg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 247 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2016

We travel to San Luis Obispo (SLO) several times a year, and are elite members with Hilton. We usually stay at the Embassy Suites just up the road, but have grown tired of the extremely dated rooms and decor (which I believe are currently being renovated). For this trip we decided to give the Hampton Inn a try, and boy are we glad we did.

Location - the hotel is located at the very south end of town, but SLO is small, and the major downtown exits are all just a mile or two up the road.

Facilities - the hotel is fairly new, and everything still seemed as if the hotel had recently opened. Night and day compared to the Embassy Suites. Rooms were very spacious, bathrooms were extremely clean, and the public facilities such as the breakfast area were nicely appointed.

Staff - the house keepnig staff was extremely friendly, and always made sure to acknowledge guests in the hallway. The front desk staff was also very helpful, but I will say that there were quite a few times that we walked by and nobody was present.

Breakfast - Free at all Hampton Inns, with one or two hot selections, waffle makers, fruit, and a normal selection of bread. The hotel seemed to be very full during our stay, and at the peak breakfast hours you could tell they were struggling to keep up. However, the hot dishes were always hot (think scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, breakfast pizza, etc.), and it was apparent there was always someone trying to replenish the food.

Next time we're in SLO we would definitely stay at this property again. My one suggestion to any hotel personnel reading this review - we were advised you only have one luggage cart, and when we needed it we were told they hadn't seen it in several hours. Having more than one would seem to make sense.

Room Tip: Higher # rooms (highest is x30) are closer to the freeway. Even # rooms are more exposed to the free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tweeterhold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Dear new Hampton Inn & Suites guest, thank you so much for all your great comments about your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suits San Luis Obispo, Ca. We are so happy that you chose our hotel during your trip back to San Luis Obispo.
We look forward in your next stay with us the next time you are in our area.
Sincerely,
Rick Ogg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Hotel and motel prices in San Luis Obispo are high. The Hampton Inn delivers good value, including breakfast, free wifi and access to the pool and fitness center. Our room was very quiet. All the noisy people I found in the breakfast area must have been staying on a different floor than we were!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Merry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Dear guest, thank you for your great comments about your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo, Ca. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward in seeing you again the next time you are in our area.
Sincerely,
Rick Ogg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016

This is my first experience with Hampton. It's a great one. Frankly, due to the price, I was expecting the overall experience to be more inline with Comfort Inn/Best Western. But I couldn't find anything to complain about in the end.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank jjpcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Dear guest, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo, Ca. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward in seeing you the next time you are in the San Luis Obispo area.
Sincerely,
Rick Ogg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015

* We arrived at 4 pm, our room was not ready. Had to wait for 20 minutes.
* 2nd Day our room was not made or cleaned. When we asked why, the front desk staff told us that our "Do Not Disturb" Sign was on the knob. Yes, the sign was on the door but we took it OFF when we left at 10 am. When we returned at 6 pm, the sign was hanging inside our door where we had left it that morning. There is no excuse for not cleaning the room. After a short "discussion" with the only staff at the hotel that night, she offered to comp us one night. That was the right thing to do but I would have preferred a clean room over a comp.
* The free breakfast was sad. Many of the things ran out or could not be refilled because it was still cooking like the eggs, milk, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, etc. Since there was one staff, no one could clean the tables let alone manage the food.

If you want a clean room, go here. If you want any service or even a smile, you should go some place else. I have been to many Hampton Inns/Hiltons across the USA and the service to this one does not make the grade.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2016

Dear guest, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo. Thank you for your comments and concerns about your recent stay with us. I apologize that you experienced these issues. I have spoken with our breakfast supervisor and our housekeeping supervisor so we can immediately address these concerns.
We hope that you give us another chance and look forward in seeing you again the next time you are in the San Luis Obispo area.
Sincerely,
Rick Ogg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.8 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,294 reviews
5.5 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
750 reviews
0.2 km away
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
931 reviews
5.8 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
652 reviews
6 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo

Address: 1530 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: AU$180 - AU$328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo hotel, located off scenic Hwy. 101 and Los Osos Valley Road. Situated in the heart of central California, this Hampton Inn hotel is close to cultural and recreational attractions. Enjoy fishing, hiking, surfing or kayaking at Avila Beach. Take the children to the San Luis Obispo Children's Museum or the SLO Museum of Art. Find hunting, jogging and horseback riding only minutes away from our hotel. Traveling on business? This California Hampton Inn is only a few minutes away from AT&T, California Polytechnic State University and French Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Hilton Hotels Direct, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing