We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hot tubs but rooms a bit tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great hot tubs but rooms a bit tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Called in pretty much on spec as we had read about the sulphur springs in a guide book and realised we would pass on our travels. OH spoke to reception who gave us a guided tour of all the facilities and the available rooms. After a bit of bartering we opted for a room up the hill with its own tub.
Grounds were lovely though don't know why you would wish to pay for a communal hot tub when one on the balcony. Fantastic chilling in the tub with a glass or two of vino.
Room was spacious and clean but a little tired - staff very helpful delivering ice (don't have machines as noisy) and helping set up internet (wired not wifi).
Didn't eat in restaurant as got 'delayed' at the outlet mall but menu looked good.
One gripe that when we settled up in the morning a resort fee had been added on when it hadn't been mentioned to my OH when negotiating rates but to be fair they removed it straight away.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKflashpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    670
    350
    199
    108
See reviews for
359
1,498
78
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We so enjoyed our visit to the mineral spring tubs! Honestly it didn't start out ideally but it was fantastic. The price on the website said the cost was $12 an hour but when we arrived we were told it was $17.50 an hour, much higher than I expected. The welcome center was nice and fancy as you would expect, but they send you to a little outhouse style bathroom (only 1) to change. I was definitely less than impressed. But once we got to our little private hot tub none of the other stuff mattered. You get quite a bit of privacy with a nice setting in the trees--very natural. We even saw a wild turkey walking by. It was romantic, tranquil, and so very relaxing. We really loved it and we're so glad we found this little gem of an experience. Afterwards we walked around in the labyrinth and to the Bob Jones Trail to round off the great afternoon.

Room Tip: Get a mineral tub high up on the hill for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zooee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

this place is super cool if you're looking for something other than a place to crash in the san luis obispo area - the hot tub on the patio is a nice bonus, but the one in our room wasn't very luxurious - i expected something different i guess - but nice to relax just outside your room. our room had a living room off the bedroom, so the extra space was nice, but not really necessary as we didn't spend much time there. the hot tubs in the hills were super cool and a fun experience.

Room Tip: reserve your hot tub in the hills and trees early (around $10 per person) as the times fill up - the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmichael30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I spent my 50th birthday celebration here with about 20 girlfriends who came from all over the state. Many of them are in the hospitality business. It was a treat for them and me! We rented the big house for a few girls to stay with me and to have a great central meeting place for everyone. Most of the girls shared rooms in the standard room section and they were thrilled with it. We had a brunch at the hotel banquet room and they were so great and easy to work with! The resort offers so much for everyone. We were able to get spa treatments, take a walk down to the beach, catch up visiting by the fireplace in the spacious big house. Marina and Trena were wonderful to work with and Charles Crelin leads a great team!

Room Tip: Rent the large house if you have a group of people joining you. It has a full and spacious kitchen a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CACoastGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanford, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Loved having a hot tub on the patio, and the mineral tubs in the hills were great. Had a great massage, very relaxing! We had a room in the meadows area across the road, and it was nice and secluded; although you could hear cars from the road at all hours if you were outside or the window was open. The room was nice, with a nice floorplan and huge bedroom, but could have used a little TLC (cabinets crooked on hinges, cracks in tile, drawers won't slide on track). Beds were huge and comfortable, luxurious pillows and linens. Game tables in the living room is a nice touch, I got my behind kicked in chess! The restaurant was underwhelming for the price, tried two meals and decided to eat offsite from then on.

Overall it was a nice relaxing weekend, away from the hustle and bustle of Avila Beach but close enough to enjoy it at our leisure. Will probably visit again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgold21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
9.7 km away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
12.8 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
13.0 km away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
0.8 km away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
12.5 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 1215 Avila Beach Dr, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-8048
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price range (per night): $288 - $638
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing