We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak”

Rok Steakhouse & Grill
Ranked #37 of 2,367 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

I tend to rate places strictly on the food. I am on the road for business so I care more about great food at reasonable prices rather than atmosphere.
I liked the idea of cooking your own steak. I have done this in Asia and India and you have nobody to complain to about the cook!
I had the wild boar which was tender and moist. Partner had a steak that was delicious.

Thank Bogeybob49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve w, Manager at Rok Steakhouse & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Bob, thanks for giving our ‘On the Rok’ entrees five stars! Should you find yourself back in San Jose for business, please join us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2017

Due to my husband having to work late, we got to Rok later than we wanted on a Tuesday night for our anniversary dinner. We got there around 8:30 and they close at 9:00.

However Rok had lots of people there. The place was lively. Basketball was playing on their big screen TV

and service was superb. My husband had arrived a few minutes before I did and our cocktails were already ordered and waiting.

We ordered steaks on the Rock - superb. I had sirloin; my husband New York.
Our steak was superb. Our sides wonderful. We enjoyed cooking.

Sauces were superb.

We shared cheesecake for dessert.

So, I walked in concern and we walked out together happy and in a celebration mood.

Thanks to the staff for such a wonderful time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve w, Manager at Rok Steakhouse & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Mini, thanks for choosing Rok for your anniversary celebration! It’s great to hear you and your husband had an enjoyable evening cooking on our hot lava rocks, and your regards will certainly be shared with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

I love steak and this was just ok it was good to cook it at the table on your own hot rock. The plate they give you to put your cooked food on is a small sided rectangular plate, with my mash and asparagus on the side of the hot plate already cooked I had to take a small piece of mash and asparagus at a time and put it on my small plate to try combine flavours. I also ordered the extra surf choice I went with prawns (5 prawns) there wasn't much taste as they were on the hot rock for you to cook no season or butter and tasted bland the cost was $40 + tax

Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve w, Manager at Rok Steakhouse & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Sharon, thanks for taking the time to share your honest feedback. Next time you’re in the area if you visit Rok please be sure to let a server know if any portion of your meal is not to your satisfaction or if you could use an additional plate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

So I stopped at the ROK across from my hotel
Premise is to coot your meat on a hot lava rock
took seven minutes for the hostess to bother coming up to the hostess station should've been a hint of the poor service
She also served 3 ladies that came in after me and jumped ahead even though I said well I've been waiting first

she offered a barstool or bar table but I opted for a normal table got a pretty good seat in front of the big screen
My waitress was from Lala land young girl ...maybe Hispanic pleasant and pretty but useless...didn't show back up at my table for 22 minutes
The waiters at the tables next to me they both seem to provide a good service
But Donna? According to check was useless
I asked the young guy next to me to bring the manager over wanted to explain why I was only tipping 10% for atrocious service
The manager could never be bothered to visit me
I checked with the server kid and said ? did you notify the manager and he said yes sir I told her like 10 or 15 minutes ago you wanted to talk to her...I'm sorry
He offered to get her right away but she still couldn't be bothered to come out
So whoever was the manager on February 25 2017 evening
if you don't set the right example how are your staff ever going to be concerned about customerservice
Waitress told me that the vegetables were out she told me that the potatoes were out nothing was available she finally got me a baked potato potato I asked for but are only it was covered with chives and sour cream it took her 15 minutes you'll give me another big potato
And they delivered the meal less than 60 seconds after the soup
Unfortunately the meal was was already over by the time I got the potato
You would think if I asked for the potato with no onions since I don't like them the waitress should have mentioned the orzo was FULL of onions

It's sad because the concept of cooking on the rock is a really good idea and the girl who delivered my food to the table and explained it well...not the standard waitress

I recommended the steak to a couple of my coworkers explaining if they got one of the good servers they would probably have an enjoyable experience
two of them went that night one of them took his wife
one set at the bar
they both had great service and fantastic steaks

So the owner had a nice explanation of this concept in the menu
unfortunately the lady? manager and staff ? Donna are not helping his business too much

Shame .... I work nearby and stay at the hotel across the street

Thank DarinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve w, Manager at Rok Steakhouse & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Darin, we are very concerned with the poor experience you had at Rok on 2/25 and we would truly appreciate the opportunity to make it up to you. Please contact Diego at your earliest convenience, 669-900-1828. Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

I visit regularly this restaurant every time I am in San Jose as it is just next to Hyatt I am usually staying at. Absolutely love concept of meat on rock as well as sweetpotatoes fries. The combination of 2 sides and meat allows you to have fruit as a desert if you do not want to get too many calories;-)

Thank Martina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rok Steakhouse & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing